We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. Athans Hotel

PricelineUSD 100*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 119*
USD 100*
Great Deal
USD 119*
USD 119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St. Athans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have spent two nights in St. Athans hotel and it was a pleasant experience. Location of hotel is superb, close to British Museum as well as public transport (train, bus and tube). We have chosen shared bathroom option. Room was small (but bigger than we expected reading some of the reviews!), with comfortable bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petuniasta
Cookeville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I arrived in London at 11:30pm after spending all day on trains and ferries. I had no idea that every single place in London would be completely full on Saturday night. I was pretty desperate for a room. I found St. Athans and it was like a beacon in the night. I was upset after a horrible ride in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaS1991
Manchester, UK
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Great location. Very clean and if you just need a bed for the night, it's perfect. Any longer, maybe not so great - shared bathroom facilities for solo travellers a little off-putting. However, friendly staff and an excellent breakfast at the adjoining cafe - guests of the hotel getting a 10% discount.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fi0naR
Gainesville, FL
Reviewed 13 June 2013

While we were happy with the hotel's location and price, we weren't happy with the noise or the tiny rooms. We stayed in a top floor room for four nights and were kept up by noise on the street. Bathrooms are shared and kept relatively clean, although there was mold in the grout, and the rooms are tidy but dingy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlerazz
Stefangeyer, Owner at St. Athans Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - just to answer some of the points you've raised: yes are rooms are small - that's why they're so cheap for central London. I've been to our local competitors in the area and I can't say they're much bigger, yet still much more expensive - even the local youth hostel! Some of the rooms maybe...

Reviewed 13 May 2013

We booked this hotel for a Friday and Saturday night as we wanted a cheap weekend in London. We went for a double room (room 43) with separate shared bathroom. From the price and description, we we were not expecting a 5 star experience but were very pleasantly surprised with how good it actually was. The location is fantastic and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ballyhone
UK
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here in April with our toddler, lured by the great price and location (perfect for our needs), and the hotel appeared family friendly. Unfortunately, it transpired that the hotel was of the genre that my partner I had parted company with in the early 1990's when backpacking and gently sedated by alcohol.I envy the other guests who were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank E D
Stefangeyer, Owner at St. Athans Hotel, responded to this review

Your review makes terrible reading - we're really sorry you had such a bad stay. Luckily its not too common despite what you may think - though our Grade 2 listed building is over 200 years old which limits what we're allowed to do. We used to get complaints about the street noise so we spent over £40,000 in the...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Great location great value friendly staff well worth a visit - no frills - just what we wanted and only 10 minutes from kings cross Only issue was a 3% charge for credit cards - not mentioned on booking - so paid debit card

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry E
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were warmly welcomed. Great value for money; the room was tidy and clean and the shared washing facilities were very clean. No shortage of hot water! The wifi access was good and the breakfasts at the adjoining cafe excellent. very central in central London, Tube station nearby. A tremendous bonus was being able to store luggage during the day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Spent two nights midweek here with partner. Our double room en-suite was very cosy, made good use of space, clean, quiet, well ventilated and a great base from which to explore London. The area feels very safe with a good mix of shops, restaurants and bars virtually on the doorstep. Only a short walk from Euston and Kings Cross stations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 24 March 2013

A very reasonably priced and cosy hotel. Would like to say thank you for the hospitality. I will be back to this one. The cooked breakfast downstairs in the cafe is a good taste of a typical British cooked breakfast and with a nice cup of tea and free wifi is a comfy way to start the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonathanSeagul

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (127)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family Room with Shared Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Quad Room with Shared Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Single Room with Shared Bathroom (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#24 of 555 in London
213 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#73 of 555 in London
804 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#255 of 555 in London
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#18 of 555 in London
128 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#43 of 555 in London
366 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#83 of 555 in London
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The St. Athans Hotel is a simple, clean, family-run bed & breakfast in the heart of London. A grade II listed Georgian terraced house, it retains many of its original features and is within walking distance of the British Museum, the University of London and the new British Library. It’s only a short bus ride away from the attractions of Madame Tussaud’s and London’s West End, with its many shops, theatres and famous night spots. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Athans Hotel

Address: 20 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $116 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Athans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Athans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. Athans Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from St. Athans Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“tourists on a budget, short business trips”
esther016, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room with easier access.”
KerstinB42, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms looking out over the street can be a bit noisy, especially as there were construction works going on outside when I went.”
542rhiannonh, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Budget Hotel”
DavidRH1956, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Mobility issues? Ask for street level as stairway up is narrow w/sharp turn half-way..”
  • The step up into the shower..
  • Looking down to bathroom doorway (2 bathrooms). Note angle turn on steps.
  • Double room w/toilet, sink basin & shower on right.
  • Twin room
MaureenJ592, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 100* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 119
TravelocityUSD 119
Orbitz.comUSD 119
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates