We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rockwell

Hotels.comUSD 137*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 141*
USD 137*
USD 141*
USD 141*
USD 136*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 490: English reviews
Start your review of The Rockwell
 Click to rate
Dublin
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We travel to London regularly and accommodation has always been an issue - overpriced with tiny rooms. Well I'm glad to say our search is over. This place is a gem and I can't see us staying anywhere else in future. The location is fantastic - less then 5 mins walk from Earl's Court Tube station, which, even better, is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DublinKaryn
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at Joya Towers South and I'm very impressed with the place and the staff. Very clean and on our last day I left a couple of items and they have kept the items in the Lobby with the information that they found it in our room. Place feels safe with round the clock security and there is a 24...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Solly H
TheRockwell, Front Office Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Kind regards, Roxana Rotaru

Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this hotel. The staff was helpful, the room was clean, and the garden is lovely. Just a few steps away from Earl's Court station, museums, and parks - - I was very happy. In addition, the hotel offers reliable free wi-fi which is important when traveling these days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
TheRockwell, Front Office Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you loved our hotel. Kind regards, Roxana Rotaru

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 1 night while on business in London. Overall the hotel is good, rooms are inexpensive for the area and the hotel is clean and smart. The room was fairly small and decor basic, but as with the rest of the hotel was clean and good value for money. Breakfast was good, nice choice of food catering for most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thewhitfields4
TheRockwell, Front Office Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review

We are very sorry that the lights were not turned off. If you wish to come back we will of course ensure that the lights are off. Kind regards, Roxana Rotaru

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived for our 1 night stay we were very delighted to have a free upgrade to the garden room. Usually for short stays we have been given small rooms but this nice room was larhe and had a terrace. The bed was massive, room spotless and breakfast included was excellent. The staff were polite, helpful and courteous and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djshep63
TheRockwell, Front Office Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are very pleased to have been able to offer you an upgrade and are glad that you enjoyed the garden room. Kind regards, Roxana Rotaru

England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night with my daughter while she was visiting Imperial College (15 minute walk away). The hotel is on the super busy Cromwell Road but the secondary double glazing dealt effectively with that. Individual air conditioning in bedroom. Very efficient, friendly and helpful staff - particular thanks to Oana for her help. Very clean and nicely decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Twiglet70
TheRockwell, Front Office Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review

Thank you for our review. We are very happy that you liked it. Thank you for pointing out that the mattresses were too soft as well. Good to know. Kind regards, Alexandra Stefan

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I regularly stay around the High Street Ken area but usually stay at the Holiday Inn; I changed it up for a recent trip and was not disappointed. The Rockwell is newly refurbished, well located and simply the best pound for pound hotel I have stayed at in London. If you're looking to spend around £100, don't look anywhere else....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
TheRockwell, Front Office Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for noting that we are well priced. The area of Kensington is indeed an attractive one and your recommendations of the Abingdon is spot on. Kind regards, Alexandra Stefan

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So, we were staying in London for 3 days of tourist activities and searched for central, affordable quality accommodation and this seemed to fit the bill. Arrived late on Tuesday night to very welcoming reception team, straight up to room with plenary floor space, air conditioning, windows that could open, comfy seats, fridge bar and snacks to tempt you; dressing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACKC_10
TheRockwell, Front Office Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are always happy when someone compliments our staff and likes our hotel so much. Kind regards, Alexandra Stefan

Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the worst rooms I have had the displeasure of staying in. I needed earplugs to get to sleep, the room I stayed in was right beside the lift and it got constant use. There was a low frequency noise up until exactly 11pm which I can only assume was a kitchen extract fan. The room was cold with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SingingSparkie
TheRockwell, Front Office Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and had a bad nights sleep. If you would consider staying with us again we would of course allocate you a different room. Kind regards, Alexandra Stefan

Shere
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were travelling up to London to see a show at the Royal Albert Hall and decided to book a room at The Rockwell to stay to make a weekend of it. The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and the room was very generously sized, comfortable and great value. Breakfast was excellent, with a great variety and yet more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OllyIB
TheRockwell, Front Office Manager at The Rockwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Kind regards, Alexandra Stefan

471 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (328)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (37)
Viewed
Garden Room (43)
Viewed
Mezzanine Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (36)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Single Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#282 of 1,090 in London
503 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,090 in London
175 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#251 of 1,090 in London
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,090 in London
3,579 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#445 of 1,090 in London
142 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rockwell is an independent hotel with an emphasis on understated contemporary style, impeccable levels of personal service and attention to detail. Each of the forty rooms has been crafted to create a relaxed atmosphere, whilst retaining an individual character which combines English tradition with contemporary styling. In addition to our well appointed bedrooms, we offer guests the use of generous spaces for eating, drinking and relaxing, including a large south facing landscaped garden. Whether you are visiting Kensington for business or pleasure, many of London's best attractions are on our doorstep including Earls Court, Harrods, the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum as well as the shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rockwell

Address: 181 Cromwell Road, London SW5 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Price Range: $178 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rockwell 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rockwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell Hotel London
Rockwell London
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rockwell staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Rockwell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rm 205 is a spacious deluxe room facing the Cromwell Road. Quiet inside hotel all night and double glazing kept out the traffic noise.”
Twiglet70, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I highly recommend a room overlooking their little courtyard / garden - lovely!”
allisont280, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask about the wifi connection in the rooms, because we did not have any connection at all.”
448hayatb, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Single room very tiny. Opt for deluxe single if getting a single.”
slee19592016, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lovely garden area to sit with a glass of wine”
KarenA132, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 137* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 141
TripAdvisorUSD 136
Hotwire.comUSD 137
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates