We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Lion

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Black Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of The Black Lion
 Click to rate
Province of Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sorry I said a naughty word on my first review of this place, but I would never stay here again if it was given to me. The staff weren't very friendly the room was cold and you had to go past all the smokers to get in the back door ,to add to that you had to pass guys having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billy19592016
cornwall
Reviewed 16 February 2017

This guest house is above a rather wonderful Regency/Victorian pub, the accomodation is somewhat basic but comfortable. This review comes with the caveat that it is not accessible to people with mobility issues (and neither is the local underground station, we discovered) as there are two sets of stairs and a further steeper set to the top floor. I cannot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldandbold
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel. Please do visit us in the future. Kind Regards, Management

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Well a great weekend away with friends accommodation was good for what we wanted 30 of us stayed we were 4 to a room room tidy and clean bathroom and shower en suite very good .breakfast continental and basic staff very friendly and helpful pub great and food good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive W
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Regards, Hotel Management

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

The Blacklion was great! Will definitely go back next time I'm in London. Room is a good size with everything you need. Staff were fantastic - Mary in particular was sooooo helpful and friendly. Having the bar downstairs was great with the discount on food/drinks for staying at the Blacklion. Couldn't have been happier with our stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
bm202, Owner at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your nice review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and services. Please visit us again in future. Regards, Hotel Manager

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Im stunned and speechless, I had a late flight so I left my luggage at reception until the evening, went for a pint and some idiot spilled it over me, so I came back to the hotel and even though I didnt have a room, I was offered one for free, to take a shower and change. It was prompt,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We hope to have you again as our guest in the future. Blacklion

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Me and a friend stayed here on 26/27 Nov. I read up on some of the reviews and was a bit worried,I had no need to be. We were greeted politely and had no trouble checking in.We went up to our room and while it is outdated for the £30pn price which included breakfast then i thought we got a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scunnyman
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We hope to have you again as our guest in the future. Blacklion

County Kerry, Ireland
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Black lion is a nice little b&b Very dated but clean.The attitude we received from manager Amaletta at reception when we arrived was absolutely a disgrace,i booked through agoda.com and paid 2 days prior to arriving.Amaletta informed payment had not been made she got very rude & arrogant.Eventually, which should have been done straight away in a polite manner she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eileen190
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise that you didn't have a good experience whilst staying at our hotel but due to system error we occurred this problem. We ensure you that in future if you like to come back we will provide our best services to you. Regards, Hotel Management

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for the weekend. We booked an Executive Double room however was given a room with 3 single beds in it with no explanation. The pub itself is lovely however the same cannot be said for the staff! Breakfast dreadful...rubber cheese and plastic salami, hardly anything else except bread and yoghurt. No teaspoons and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tattybogul
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise that you didn't have a good experience whilst staying at our hotel but due to system error we occurred this problem. We ensure you that in future if you like to come back we will provide our best services to you. Regards, Hotel Management

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I would love to go into detail about the actual conversations with staff,but I dont have the time right now. Simply put - a discount was offered on meals when staying at the hotel. This was not given directly at time of paying for food. There was also a service charge added to the bill at the till (before eating)...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank waynep406
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise that you didn't have a good experience whilst staying at our hotel but due to system error we occurred this problem. We ensure you that in future if you like to come back we will provide our best services to you. Regards, Hotel Management

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We booked through a 3rd party website for a double room a month in advance. It was for a date night for myself and my other half (very rare as we have a young a daughter) and our stay was really disappointing. I'd like to stress on the booking it clearly confirmed we requested a DOUBLE ROOM. I called the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank honest_v
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologise that you didn't have a good experience whilst staying at our hotel but due to system error we occurred this problem. We ensure you that in future if you like to come back we will provide our best services to you. Regards, Hotel Management

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.4 km away
Windmill Hotel
Windmill Hotel
#193 of 567 in London
216 reviews
0.9 km away
Dawson House Hotel
Dawson House Hotel
#241 of 567 in London
122 reviews
2.1 km away
The William IV
The William IV
#308 of 567 in London
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
The Castle Bar
The Castle Bar
#123 of 567 in London
130 reviews
3.6 km away
Croft Court Hotel
Croft Court Hotel
#75 of 567 in London
107 reviews
3.0 km away
Anchor House Hotel
Anchor House Hotel
#74 of 567 in London
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Lion Guesthouse is a beautiful period building based in Kilburn, North West London. We combine a bar and restaurant downstairs with stunning features and Grade II listed interior with 14 guesthouse rooms above. We are proud to offer affordable quality accommodation. The bar is friendly and popular and directly opposite London’s famous Tricycle Theatre. The bar also serves a range of premium dishes.Perfectly placed for your visit to London, we are very close to both Kilburn Tube Station and Brondesbury Stations. We are also well served by local buses that run from our door step to Marble Arch, Paddington & Victoria. The night bus from Central London also passes our guesthouse door, making travelling around London when staying with us very easy and your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Lion

Address: 274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $103 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Guesthouse Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Lion staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Black Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter at the back overlooking a park”
 of 5 bubbles oldandbold, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the Park is good away from the traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles haddletonmrrogerh, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor facing the park.room 10”
 of 5 bubbles MikeE334, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Needs decorating ”
 of 5 bubbles kirstym419, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The room was fine and very quiet, considering where we were. Lighting wasn't great. However it was clean. Bed was comfortable and shower was to our satisfaction.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahbV1324XO, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5