We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 359: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
 Click to rate
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Smoke alarm covered.. very dangerous. Noisy and tatty. Nothing seems to work or is broken. Why has a supervisor or manager inspected the room before a guest checks in? Very disappointing for travelodge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is in rather seedy back street. I can't image a lone female feeling safe walking to the hotel, late at night. Corridor leading to the room was very miserable and worn out. The room was rather tired and un-inviting. Shower body/head shampoo appeared to be filled with water. Looked like water, felt like water, smelt like water. It...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 430duncang
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So close to the DLR there is no way I could get a good nights sleep due to the noise from trains running every 2 mins of so. Ended up moving to a different hotel. Staff were extremely helpful though in moving me to Bethnal Green, unlike Travelodge customer services who seem to think it's my fault because their website...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank binast
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for...

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel room was great - clean and fresh and well maintained. I was staying here because of a work event being held close by. Although i never got back to the room until passed midnight the trains seemed to go quiet just after but were back running again a few hours later. I am sure if i had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl001
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Feedback is really important to us and detailed comments like yours will help us in improving our services. We will ensure our hotel team receive a copy of your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and that you received a high level of service from our...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

some nights cheap and others not, very central, stay in front rooms as railway line at back. Air con/heating didn't work but supplied with heater and fan ok in winter. Window opened a little despite lack of handle. Very comfy beds and pillows. Extra towels provided if ask, hairdryer provided if ask. Breakfast reasonable selection and quality.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrell F
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience, in such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. In any case we would like to thank you and apologise for your last stay with us and we hope to be...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good staff Members. Listens to all requests and very user friendly. In my last months experience, I have found every staff is vey energetic and takes goo care of customers. The cleanliness and other aspects are well taken care by the management

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 728chandrakantm
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel team, we will make sure to pass this on to the hotel for you. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and we are delighted to see this has been achieved. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel, we do hope to see you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at my room after walking the corridor carpet of stains and smells on the fourth floor. My door on the room did not close properly. On entry the room smelt damp and there was a distinct lack of vacuuming of the carpet. The bathroom was dirty, the sheets were stained and there was patch filling of the walls. To...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jobisagoodone
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean and tidy small hotel, used this Travelodge twice now, easy to get to with secure parking nearby. Wetherspoons nearby for a cheap breakfast and local pubs. Easy tube access to the city. Only minor issue is that for me being quite short I found the bath to be very high and when I had a shower (which didn't have...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M8619IQashleys
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We're concerned to hear you fell out of the bath in your accommodation. May we kindly request you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfectly fine budget option rather ruined by rooms being a few yards from a busy train line that ensures 5am wake up. Staff were pleasant and friendly, bed and room quite acceptable, shower fine. Just the extreme noise was a problem.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 788aidanf
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are sorry to hear that external noise has affected the comfort of your stay at our London Central Aldgate East Travelodge. We do apologise that on this occasion you did not receive the best experience possible. Thank you again for writing your review, we value your feedback and hope you stay with us in...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Staff was very friendly, I was very happy with the breaky, good stuff to eat, a lot of choices. I haven't had issue with noise and couldn't hear the train at all, good night sleep, not really challenging in fairness as I stayed there on Paddy's day. handy location, we could also leave our luggage before checking in and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knemis
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear we were able to contribute to a good night's sleep. It's also great that you thoroughly enjoyed our bar/cafe breakfast choices. We will ensure the hotel team receives a copy of your kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,088 in London
3,506 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#122 of 1,088 in London
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Whitechapel

Neighbourhood Profile
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden squares, these days you're more likely to catch a cutting edge fashionista scurrying through its age old lanes than criminals of any sort.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Address: 6-13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Price Range: $113 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Central Aldgate East 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Aldgate East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel London
Comfort Hotel Tower London
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge London Central Aldgate East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
  • Train is right next to the window
csteve1, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you still want to go here, try to get a room at the 4th floor. The noise might be a bit less.”
  • View from the first floor.
  • Safe Broken
  • Airco broken
Kokkie71, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book an early check in room. The extra charge is worth it.”
G9529FBbrianf, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid odd numbered rooms on rail side”
G436GJandrewm, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one on side away from railway line”
marionk41, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5