We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,228: English reviews
Start your review of Generator Hostel London
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

What’s good: This is my first time living in a hostel. I was blown away by the vibrant ambience the hostel lobby conveys. When I entered the hostel, the background music are all any favourite ones. Unfortunately, we came a bit early and the check in time is 2:00 PM. But then we are delighted to find that the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HR_CHG
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Haoran Blair Z, We are extremely disappointed with the experience you have described, please accept our sincere apologies. This has been shared with all our team and discussed to ensure that our usual high standard of service is adhered to. You have been contacted directly on email today also. Best wishes, Generator London

Funchal, Portugal
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location, staff, facilities..very clean and safe and very organized. I would recommend it to all my friends and family and I will definitley come back soon. Thank you for the great service you provide.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O1319PDsaral
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi O1319PDsaral, We really appreciate your kind words and thank you for recommending us. We look forward to sharing your next London adventure with you. Best wishes, Generator London

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here last year when visiting London, and now I'm back! The location is perfect and the price is right. Staff is amazing, 24 hours a day and they have food and drinks til late. I will stay here whenever I can!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Partera60
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Partera60, It is great to hear from you! Our staff love to read feedback from our guests and we will share yours. Looking forward to seeing you again next time you are in London. Best wishes, Generator London.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived at Generator around 9pm, slightly expedited by seeing some people slip down a small alley toward the Generator sign I probably would have missed myself. It was mega busy at check in as a large group had just arrived but staff were friendly & efficient. I went upstairs & found my room. It wasn't far from bathroom which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegG360
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello MegG360, Thank you for your wonderful feedback, very informative for everyone to read. Yes we did have a large group stay with us recently, please accept our apologies for the noise in the evening. We have security who patrol the building but unfortunately they must not have been in your corridor at this time. When the bedroom door is...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ten pounds for a bed in central London? What are they thinking? Plus it's cool, it's clean, the showers are brilliant, the bar is cheap, everyone looks happy, the atmosphere is brilliant. Note that the price is for a bed in a shared dormitory, but young people are just so polite these days I swear you almost don't notice you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi John P, It sounds like you had a great time! We are thrilled that we could be a part of your experience. Yes we get people of all ages staying in our dorms, like you said it is all about the mindset. We hope we can see you again soon. Best wishes, Generator London

Biel, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I am very pleased with this hostel and I really recommend it as is : quite, central, quick access, clean , plenty of space and toilets and showers. You can have breakfast on the spot , and quite a tasty one. For evenings there is a bar there too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adelinul2000
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey adelinul2000, Thank you for sharing your London adventure with us! It is fantastic to hear from you. Yes our bar and cafe areas are popular during the evening times, hopefully you got to be here on one of our DJ or karaoke nights. Best wishes, Generator London.

Valladolid, Castilla y Leon, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took 4 days staying in generator London, the location is great, from kings cross airport-city bus stop you can walk easily to the hostel, very near Russell Square and British museum, 15 miniutes walking to soho chinatown and city centre. The condition for the room (twin bed ,no toilet in room) is horrible, we were arranged in a basement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabouWang
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello BabouWang, We are disappointed that your room did not meet your expectations. We do also have twin rooms with private bathroom which can be pre-booked or our guests can upgrade with reception if available. Best wishes, Generator London

Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is really clean and neat. The staff is really nice and helpful, they have a lot of tours that you can book with a better price than doing it online. The only problem I see with it is that it doesn't have a kitchen so you can't cook and the food in the restaurant/bar is quite expensive honestly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dany R
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Dany R, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, it is really appreciated. Your thoughts regarding the food and breakfast have been shared with our food and beverage. Best wishes, Generator London.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

for london this hostel is pretty cheap for what you get, looks very nice, is clean and the shared showers are just amazing! only downside is that I thought it was pretty cold in the rooms. nice addition is the possibility to check out at 13:00 instead of 10:00 for an additional 5 pounds

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iris b
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi iris b, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, apologies that you were cold in the room. The heaters turn on automatically in the evening, if they are not working we can always come to the room to turn on manually or provide extra blankets. Best wishes, Generator London.

Omaha, Arkansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved the atmosphere of the hostel, and the whole set up was really neat. My only complaint was that the security guys outside were very rude, and intimidating. I was paying money to stay at this hostel, yet each time I entered or left the building, I felt like I was being harassed :(

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayla T
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Kayla T, We certainly do not want our guests to feel intimidated and have given your feedback to our night manager and our wider management team. We hope we can have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Generator London

593 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (458)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (246)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,089 in London
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 828 in London
1,103 reviews
Bloomsbury
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $43 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book far in advance for best rates. Bring your own towels unless you're happy to rent some from the hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles MegG360, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was at 4th floor on a 2 beds room, so might have helped for the good experience there.”
 of 5 bubbles adelinul2000, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great location”
 of 5 bubbles BabouWang, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get the room on the first floor so you don't have to use stairs all the time.”
 of 5 bubbles 230danyr, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great for young travellers”
 of 5 bubbles karenbR1047XX, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5