We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dictionary Hostel

1.6 km from London centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
10-20 Kingsland Road | Shoreditch, London E2 8DA, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

931 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 820: English reviews
Start your review of The Dictionary Hostel
 Click to rate
Pezinok
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was very surprised by the modernity of the hostel and nice stuff. The location is perfect - love the street art in Shoreditch. The hostel is really cheap and you can get everywhere very easily. We also had nice roommates :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 265leav
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hostel was in a fantastic location, really well kept, and very friendly. The only thing I would change was the pillow, but I'm older than your average Hosteller so that just may be me being crotchety!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cornish_Duncan
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is easy to reach from Liverpool Street Station, about 15 minutes walk. There is a bunch of Bars and Restaurant near by, so if you want to party you don't have to worry about getting back to your bed! The staff was friendly and as I found out some of the stuff is just travelers how like to spend...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christianrM8593XZ
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hostel is a very friendly, vibrant place right in the heart of shoreditch. Great facilities. The room we were in was very small and cramped and there was no room to move or get ready with 6 people in it. Our room should of only had 2 bunks in it instead of 3 as it was so cramped. That's...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJBreez
DictionaryHostel, Front Office Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback. There's a bit of variation in the size of some of our rooms, so I'm sorry that you found your room to be a bit cramped this time around, but hopefully if you decide to stay with us again on your next visit you'll get a bit larger room! Safe travels, Toby

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

They are all extremely nice. The location was perfect. Walking distance. It's such a big hostel and you can hardly tell. It never felt crowded and the best part was that it was cheaper than I had plan.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucasMaschwitz
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Got recommended the place from a friend. Found it safe. Location was great. Value for money. Will recommend for short or long stays. Free breakfast every morning was great. The use of the kitchen was a great idea as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tristan_woods
DictionaryHostel, Front Office Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review, Tristan, it's brilliant to hear you enjoyed your stay here - and that you were recommended to us by a friend! We can't wait to see you back again next time! Safe travels, Toby

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately I had to check out early from Dictionary as it was absolutely impossible to sleep. The decor is gorgeous, yes, and the staff are fantastic, but it's one of the loudest places I've ever laid my head. The free earplugs on arrival definitely should have clued me in to the fact that I wouldn't be getting much rest here....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlefang
DictionaryHostel, Front Office Manager at The Dictionary Hostel, responded to this review

Hey littlefang, thanks for your feedback! I'm really glad to hear that your initial impression of the hostel was good, especially as far as the decor and the staff.. However with regards to you struggling to sleep, I can only apologise about the noise. Our location is both a blessing and a curse in that you get to stay in...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely stay last Saturday night. The staff were very helpful and the location was great for restaurants, bars ad clubs around Shoreditch. The only thing I would say is book directly through the hostel, as 'booking.com' can sometimes be more expensive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G7066FHclaireg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly service, and funny :-) Located in a great area, diverse shopping and great cafés. Easy acces to public transport, and also, great bars in walking distance. Great place for friends and or couples wanting a cheap place to stay, with many opportunities

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank morteno626
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an amazing time here, hostel was clean and great location, so many things to do in shoreditch,had the bar right next door and got good discounts if staying their which was cool... reception were all super friendly, specially the aussie guy who helped us find some awesome spots to go, only place i would stay in london again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
16 Bed Dorm (15)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Room (13)
Viewed
Four Bed Dorm (20)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Six Bed Dorm Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm (21)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 820 in London
440 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#35 of 820 in London
480 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#73 of 820 in London
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hip and young, East meets West in Shoreditch, London in this coooool new boutique hostel. Incredibly warm and friendly as well as highly competent staff in the latest edition of trendy hostels worldwide. Fully opened in August 2013 and is already the talk of the town having been featured in The Sunday Times, EasyJet In-flight Magazine and included as a Top 10 Hostel by Visit London and Visit Britain in both. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dictionary Hostel

Address: 10-20 Kingsland Road | Shoreditch, London E2 8DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Price Range: $26 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dictionary Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Dictionary Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dictionary Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Dictionary Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room S - 8 person, all-female dorm, with a normal layout.”
 of 5 bubbles leahlxd, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you sleep at bottom bed, head probably hit top when you sit on bed”
 of 5 bubbles HomeyHostel, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Melhor localização e pessoas, mas péssima infra”
 of 5 bubbles L8985PFgustavos, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Dont Go, stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles GaryOmniverse, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room W, it is very spacey and has good facilities”
 of 5 bubbles FredericSpurkis, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5