We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

LSE Bankside House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for LSE Bankside House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 336: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2013

stayed here for a second time = location is superb I loved walking over the thames at the beginning and end of the day its student accommodation so don't expect the ritz the two slight problems was the bar closed on two nights at 23.30 and not the advertised time of midnight, and wifi although available was not available for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WHEATEAR2013
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear WHEATEAR2013, We're very pleased to hear not only that you enjoyed your stay at Bankside House, but that you're a happy return customer! At Bankside House we all love our close proximity to the Millennium Bridge too, and the beautiful views it provides of St. Paul's Cathedral and the Tate Modern. We're sorry to hear that the bar was...

Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wish it was available to stay all year round - we'd certainly stay up in London more often! Absolutely the best place we've stayed for transport, convenience, lovely ambience of South Bank & river, especially in evenings, plenty of places to eat/drink nearby, supermarket. We had a bathroom between 2 rooms, shower strong & hot. Room was huge, especially by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaEB1
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear VictoriaEB1, We were delighted to hear that you had such an overwhelmingly positive experience at Bankside House. I'm happy to inform you that we do offer some TopFloor rooms year round, so please do get in touch if you have any specific dates in mind later in the year and we'll get back to you with availability! We agree...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed this weekend as a paying hotel guest, but quickly found out it is a hotel for anyone to stay permantely, the staff in the canteen were rude and when i went to get some toast they put some shutters down on me. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone was in need of a good decoration, you were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GROOM60
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear GROOM60, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Bankside House. I'm extremely surprised to hear your comments, particularly the accusation that a member of our restaurant team closed the shutters on you while trying to get your toast. I have investigated this accusation thoroughly and have been unable to find any evidence of...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2013

What do people expect? This is basic student accommodation and value for money it's excellent. Our room was simple and clean; linen, toiletries and tea making facilities are provided. Beds were comfortable, the bathroom was small but adequate. Breakfast was ample with reasonable choice and we found the staff polite and helpful; being able to leave our luggage before and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellerF
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear TravellerF, I was extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bankside House. I was particularly happy to hear that you found us to be excellent value for money and our location ideal. It's also pleasing to hear that you found both our housekeeping and breakfast to exceed your expectations. What I found most pleasing were your...

Paris, France
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is perfectly located. The nearest station is London Bridge @10 minutes on foot. That means you can go from St Pancras to the hotel very fast using only the Northern Line. There is also a lot of convenience stores for those who don't want to go back too late in the evening (the neighborhood is safe-ish, shady characters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank e W
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear e W, We were pleased to hear that you found the location of Bankside House perfect during your recent stay with us. Bankside House is located in a safe area of central London with a large tourist population. We're delighted to hear that you found our rooms nice overall. We will certainly take your comments regarding the fittings of...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Great value for money for a central London hotel, however these are student dorms so don't expect luxury! The rooms are clean but the carpet and chair in mine were stained. The canteen breakfast was OK, plenty of food, full English, cereal, yoghurt, etc. Reception staff were less than courteous but I suppose they're used to dealing with unruly students...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catpunx
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear Catpunx, We're delighted to hear that you found Bankside House to be great value for money in central London. However, i'm disappointed to hear the fittings in your room weren't up to standard - it would be great if you could contact me directly so I can investigate this issues and ensure anything that isn't up to standard can...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Staying in this place is very pleasant, not least because the price is fantastic for central London and I highly recommend this place for all types of travellers. It is basic but clean no frills budget accom on the South Bank...I will def use this place again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear Jeff A, We were delighted to hear that you found Bankside House to be great value budget accommodation and that you were pleased by our location. It's always nice to hear positive comments regarding the areas we aim to excel in. We hope to see you at Bankside House again soon! Regards, Henry Hayes, Bankside House

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Good: Very convenient & excellent location for a budget hotel. The room is clean & they even provide free toiletries. Nearest attractions are like the Tate Modern Museum, Borough Market at the London Bridge by few minutes walk. And you can also walk to the famous city spots like Buckingham Palace & Trafalgar Square. However, if you chose not to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Asianeva84
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear Asianeva84, We were delighted to hear that you had a positive experience during your stay at Bankside House. We're very pleased that you found our location close to attractions such as Tate Modern and Borough Market convenient for experiencing London. We're also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. It's always very pleasant to hear that a guest has found...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was not looking for much when I booked this room, i needed a cheap place for one night that was clean and would allow me to sleep. Unfortunately, this hostel failed to provide either sleep or cleanliness. I was upgraded to a single with privat bathroom instead of a single with shared bathroom, which was nice but the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachealF_12
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear Racheal_F12, Please accept our most sincere apologies for the experience you had while staying with us at Bankside House. I agree that the mould pictured in your review is absolutely unacceptable - this is not at all a reflection of the standards we aim to provide at Bankside House and is a wholly exceptional case. We have placed the...

Bromborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here for an over night stay in August. Was allocated a disabled room (presumably other rooms fully booked) Room was a of a decent size with folding camp style beds, tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of storage. Being student accommodation there is no tv, radio, clock etc and, surprisingly, no internet connection. The bathroom was a large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WalSue
Henry H, Manager at LSE Bankside House, responded to this review

Dear WalSue, We are glad that you found your room at Bankside House to be reasonable and good value during your stay with us. We are also pleased to hear that you found the choice at breakfast to be good. We will be taking your other comments into consideration and looking to make improvements in the highlighted areas. We do...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Accessible Twin Ensuite (35)
Viewed
Quad Ensuite (37)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Shared Kitchen (14)
Viewed
Single With Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Triple Ensuite (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#628 of 1,077 in London
163 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
London Bridge
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#211 of 1,077 in London
699 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#281 of 1,077 in London
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighbourhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighbourhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Price Range: $127 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from LSE Bankside House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from LSE Bankside House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the road if you're a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles brisvis, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for high rooms as there can be chatter outside.”
  • St Pauls, a must visit
 of 5 bubbles Rodger_Waters, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“higher floors offer nice views but can be a bit noisy if at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles Mare170, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking the street on ground floor - noisy students will keep you up at night!”
 of 5 bubbles CoolDude2012, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Going for the ensuite option with your own bathroom is worth the few extra pounds.”
 of 5 bubbles dzhang, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay