We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castleton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castleton Hotel
Castleton Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Start your review of Castleton Hotel
 Click to rate
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I am the English friend that took my South African friend to London for a night. It was the first time I had used Booking.com. After reading the reviews and looking at the photos,I thought it would be OK. The location of the hotel was perfect BUT that was about it. The building (outside) itself was lovely and fitting to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willowj123
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

During a first ever visit to London my friend and I made a booking at the Castleton Hotel for a single night's stay. We were so excited about being in.London as we had not seen each other for 10 years. I am from South Africa. On checking in we were shown to our room and immediately noticed the less than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thanja A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have to say that the staff here are very welcoming and nice. it was a promising start. But my God the ROOMS?! I was horrified. For a pretty average london price (prices on night we stayed were £151) our room had a tiny bed pushed up against a slanted wall (so one person was literally TRAPPED in bed) and,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmiejj27
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Please, Please, Please try to avoid this hotel unless you are out of any other choices!! Receptionist: Welcoming people, they welcome you nicely into a hotel that they probably know that you will not like; therefore, a great smile may help in reducing your agony!! The left: noisy, old, and you can find traces of ongoing maintenance, if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _tareef772000
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was in a good location. Near to amenities, paddington station. Easy access to public buses as well. Besides that, the service at the hotel was ok. Reception was ok, however breakfast staff were a bit unfriendly. Doubt they could speak English, which was quite sad. Breakfast options were ok, pretty standard. Room was adequate for our stay. Could do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shahfii
TheCastleton, General Manager at Castleton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Shahfii Greetings and thank you for the kind feedback. Allow us to firstly apologize to you if you have find our breakfast staff were less friendly. We take our guest feedback very seriously and will investigate on this matter. We are also in the midst of conducting more trainings for our team members accordingly. Once again, do shout out...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Where do I start with how awful this hotel is. We were placed in the basement (floor -2, room 115). It was like the size of a box room within an already small house. The bathroom was so tiny, the whole thing seemed more like a very basic cabin on a cruise ship. The whole room needed decorating desperately, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley D
TheCastleton, General Manager at Castleton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hayley D, We thank you for your feedback. We regret that we have not been able to fulfil your needs during your recent stay with us. We are indeed surprise that you were not aware that our bathrooms are pre- fabricated as all images on rooms can be found during reservations. We are not too sure what you are...

brisbane
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not a five star... you get what you pay for... fantastic location pleasant stay.. warm welcome.. nice breakfast.. helpful staff.. expensive parking (£20 per night)... but is London.. I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karlver
TheCastleton, General Manager at Castleton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi karlver Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your kind review. We are indeed glad to know that you have had a great stay with us. We do apologise if you find that our car park fees are a little on the high side. The standard average rate at this area is about £2.60/ hour and...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We got in to our room after checking in and the flush on our toilet didn't work. We informed reception about this. Their response was that maintenance was coming tomorrow and every time we wanted the loo we would have to walk down to reception (4 flights of stairs)!! How can they possibly provide us with a room without a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteWJ
TheCastleton, General Manager at Castleton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi PeteWJ Thank you for your review. We believe that you have been in touch with us via email and also through our contact page. We will be in touch with you shortly. Thanks. Best regards, Kathleen T General Manager

Reviewed 2 March 2017

We stayed as a family of 5, we had a double and a triple room.both rooms were clean, rooms were of a fair size, Shower rooms were small but fully usable. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included,Well cooked, limited choice but adequate, plates were small but no restriction on going back for more, teenage son left breakfast feeling full! Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tina F
TheCastleton, General Manager at Castleton Hotel, responded to this review

HI Tina F Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us recently. We are delighted to know that you and your family have had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. Have a lovely day. Thanks. Best regards, Kathleen T General Manager

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Where do I start!! On arrival we got a "double room" in the basement, room was very small, damp, hadn't been hovered and dirty stained curtain, cobwebs everywhere and as for the bathroom all we could do was laugh, portaloo with a shower comes to mind! Then we found that the heating didn't work and there was no hot water....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kizzyj-21
TCH_MGR, General Manager at Castleton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kizzyj-21 We thank you for your review and regret that we have not been able to meet with your expectations during your recent stay with us. We have investigated your feedback and we are not able to trace that the rooms has any issues with the heating or hot water. All our rooms are cleaned properly before any guest...

387 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple (38)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,088 in London
416 reviews
0.1 km away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#783 of 1,088 in London
611 reviews
0.1 km away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#671 of 1,088 in London
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Westpoint Hotel
Westpoint Hotel
#796 of 1,088 in London
743 reviews
0.1 km away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#597 of 1,088 in London
727 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#480 of 1,088 in London
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $131 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castleton Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castleton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book rooms facing the busy streets, the street is very busy with cars and people talking, you will hear every conversation clearly”
_tareef772000, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away!”
kec425, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not recomened for disabled people at all.”
959karianneb, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper Level Rooms are recommended Graden View”
WehbiCheaib, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose lower floors for diabled and old travelers; athletics and weight conscious at the higher floors. (No lifts)”
MelanieBOND, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5