Native King's Wardrobe
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Native King's Wardrobe

Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#5 of 69 special inns in London
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
What: Spacious Apart Hotel is nestled within the Grade II listed The Kings Wardrobe, London’s most historic neighbourhood, St. Pauls—a short stomp from the Tate Modern and Borough Market via the Millennium Bridge and Tower Bridge. Best bits: Stay connected to sites and neighbourhoods across the city. Take a short stomp to Bankside’s best bits. Hop on a tube and effortlessly journey to the vibrant lights of Soho or the urban charm of Shoreditch. Special mention: Formerly known as the Royal Wardrobe in the 14th century, this esteemed building once safeguarded the king’s state and ceremonial robes and those of the Royal Family — the Kings’ Wardrobe. Our restored buildings pay homage to pioneering British designers of the past, who transformed British attire and style.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Seating area
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

53-55 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AF England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
10.5 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
25.1 km
See all flights
Blackfriars
3 minUnderground
41Reviews0Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dave M wrote a review Oct 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom52 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Initial impression , apartment was not ready at the 3pm check in time , we were offered a basement apartment but decided to stay with our original booking . Reception failed to mention the lift was out of order on the 4th floor apartment and the 15 minute wait turned into a 40 minute wait past check in time. NOT IDEAL
Manager eventually tried her best to accommodate our needs but the rest of reception staff let the situation down ( more training in customer service required )
WARNING … BELLS ringing every half hour through the night.. we came away unrested
Communal corridor carpets to the apartment heavily stained
Apartment was comfortable but needs a deep clean , shower heads need cleaning , marks on floor and walls , dirty cups
Location good - if you are staying Sunday eve some restaurants near by close 9pm
Lovely little place for breakfast 1 min walk
Overall good value for London we thought
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Sayer, General Manager at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Hi there Dave, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your scores! Both the good and the not so good are incredibly valuable to us so we know where we need to do better. Please know we will be undergoing a beautiful renovation over the coming months so would love to have you back again so you can see all of our hard work. This will of course include the public areas and the lifts are ebing given an overhaul too. Drop me an email when you’re planning your next stay so I may look after your reservation personally and can ensure a much smoother experience. Helen Sayer Regional General Manager – London Helen.sayer@nativeplaces.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason M wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom20 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The highlight for me was the architecture of the tranquil courtyard, which is a rare find in such a central location. The new apartments themselves were large and well-equipped, especially with the inclusion of Bramley products and the big TVs, with chrome casting available! The on-site parking was incredibly useful, though the entrance is quite tight. Overall great Vibe! 5⭐️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Tight Parking St Paul’s Cathedral -Daily Services at 8:00, 8:30, 12:30 and 17:00. Sunday Services...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joshua Molyneux, Owner at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 2 days ago
Hello Jay, Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled that you enjoyed the highlight of our tranquil courtyard, a rare gem in such a central location. It's wonderful that you found our new apartments spacious and well-equipped, with special mentions for the Bramley products and big TVs featuring Chromecast. We're glad the on-site parking was useful, despite the tight entrance. We appreciate your positive vibes and look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanzey K wrote a review May 2024
Devon, United Kingdom138 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite my major error when booking our apartment the reception staff were kind, calm and sorted it out with no fuss and no extra charge. I really recommend this hotel for a stay in London. It is very quiet ( as long as you avoid low level rooms backing onto St Andrews Hill where there’s a pub). We had a two bedroom apartment which was comfortable, clean and comfortable. The beds were comfy, we had a large sofa, arm chair and dining table for relaxation. The best of all was our room opened onto our private roof terrance with an amazing view of St Paul’s dome. Blackfriars and St Paul’s underground station are just 5 minutes away and the river boat quay really close as well ( 10 minutes). The location is great.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joshua Molyneux, Owner at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 2 days ago
Hello Tonzeyk, Thank you for your review! We’re glad our reception staff could resolve your booking issue smoothly. It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed your quiet and comfortable two-bedroom apartment. The private roof terrace with a view of St. Paul’s dome sounds amazing! We're happy you found the location convenient with easy access to transport links. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in London.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manada64 wrote a review July 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom121 contributions99 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not trust these people! Like other reviews I have read I booked an apartment in January with Booking.com. I paid the full amount almost £2000 in advance to secure the apartment for 8 nights in July. I had a busy week planned of concerts, visiting family & a few meetings. I woke up 5 days before I was due to travel to London with an email stating my booking was cancelled. No explanation, no apology. I immediately messaged the property to check this wasn’t an error… no reply. I tried to call no reply. I contacted booking.com who basically said the property had cancelled, most probably overbooked or wanted a higher price! I booked an apartment specifically rather than a hotel for 8 nights to enjoy extra space, kitchen facilities etc. luckily my husband found a replacement apartment through air bnb which was lovely just not the location we had planned. My advice don’t risk it! We ended up spending more money, had a few days of stress and put a dampener on what was otherwise a perfect week!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t book with them!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Sayer, General Manager at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 18 Aug 2023
I am so sorry we were unable to accommodate you this time round and am so sorry for the lack of response you have received since. I would love to get the details of the emails or methods of contact you used so I can investigate why your attempts to contact us weren't successful. Please contact me directly when planning your next trip to London so I may look after your stay personally and find a way to get back in your good books. Helen Helen.sayer@nativeplaces.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J R wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Fully agree with the other reviews below in which BEWARE these people will cancel and refund you money with only days notice (we were actually in transit on the way!!) We had this apartment booked back in December 2022 to stay early July 2023. They cancelled and refunded with NO communication or warning. The booking company said "they heard they had double booked" BUT I had communicated to Kings Wardrobe direct to enquiry about luggage storage a week prior and nothing was said then. BAD service!! Fellow travelers BEWARE!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Sayer, General Manager at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 22 Sept 2023
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your scores! I am so sorry we were unable to accommodate you on this occasion. It is not the case that we were double booked but we are undergoing renovation and discrepancies with the schedule of works to what we initially expected has lead us to having to cancel bookings but you are very right that we should have done more to try and find alternative accommodation. I very much hope that you will give us another chance and an opportunity to show you the beautiful renovation so please do drop me an email when you’re planning your next stay so I may look after your reservation personally and can ensure a much smoother experience! Helen Sayer Regional General Manager – London Helen.sayer@nativeplaces.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Oct 2023
Lincoln, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid £999 for 3 nights (2 adults, 2 kids, midweek) and were put in a ground floor apartment on a noisy street.
All the windows frames were broken so we couldn’t shut out the noise at night. Lots of noise from the street throughout the night.
At 7am each morning workmen would park their vans and sit smoking cigarettes about 1m from our beds meaning we couldn’t open our blinds or windows. The kids room stank of cigarette smoke.
The apartment was very tatty: broken furniture, threadbare carpets, skirting boards hanging off the wall and grubby worktops in the kitchen. No microwave.
Bath plug broken so couldn’t use bath. No hairdryer. No spare sheets. No bedding for sofa bed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Sayer, General Manager at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your scores! Both the good and the not so good are incredibly valuable to us so we know where we need to do better. I am so sorry to read about your far from perfect experience and would love to know what interaction you had with the team to give us the opportunity to find somewhere better? Please know we will be undergoing a beautiful renovation over the coming months so would love to have you back again so you can see all of our hard work. Drop me an email when you’re planning your next stay so I may look after your reservation personally and can ensure a much smoother experience as I would love to find away to win you back! Helen Sayer Regional General Manager – London Helen.sayer@nativeplaces.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle K wrote a review Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at King’s Wardrobe a few weeks ago. It was a last minute booking but it exceeded our expectations. The reception staff did apologise for the renovation going on but it did not impact our stay at all and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality and size of the room. Definitely worth a visit!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joshua Molyneux, Owner at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 2 days ago
Hello 455camillek, Thank you for your kind review! We’re delighted to hear that your last-minute booking exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your understanding regarding the renovations and are glad they didn't impact your stay. It’s wonderful to know you were pleased with the quality and size of the room. We look forward to welcoming you back to King’s Wardrobe!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Passport38373845393 wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Really tired apartments with fraying beds, dirty stained carpets, flat pillows, dirty and worn out couches, TVs barely worked etc. Offered a refund after complaining and being moved to a slightly better room, however refund never got processed and now no response to emails. Whilst they have new owners who are slowly trying to renovate, their failure to respond to emails is unsatisfactory. Expensive. Give this one a miss.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Sayer, General Manager at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 13 Oct 2023
Hi there, I wonder if you would be able to forward your email to me directly as I would love to make sure your queries are followed up on? Helen Helen.sayer@nativeplaces.com Regional General Manager - London
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Herrel B wrote a review Dec 2023
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates1,327 contribution222 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Turning right, past St Paul’s Cathedral, to a quiet lane (Carter Lane) I wondered for a moment where these apartments would be hiding.
Then I turned left into a tree lined, cobbled courtyard with twinkly lights lining my way to the reception.
Immediately, we felt transported back in time, you could feel the heritage of London flooding our senses.
We tapped open the door, and we were greeted by a wonderful woman on reception.
She gave us our key to our room and showed us the apartment.
We were so impressed!
For the price, we couldn’t believe it. We had to very thing we could need. Full size beauty products in the bathroom. With fluffy towels laid out ready for use too.
Tea and coffee facilities, even fresh milk in the fridge!
The design of the apartment was impeccable. Usually these type of apartments are bland and boring.
But Wardrobe Court oozed sophisticated style and a cut above the rest. We were so happy with the room that we invited our friends over and we shared a meal at the table from foods that we bought in London famous Borough Market.
It was really lovely to feel that we had a home for a few nights rather than just living out of the suitcase and feeling that the space is borrowed (even though that is precisely what we are doing when staying in a property that isn’t yours).
This place will be my go to base when I go to London.
It’s centrally located. It is beautifully presented and it is a great price for what you get.
Even the sofa bed was comfortable and the staff offered to make it up for us whilst we went out.
For me, this is the best stay I had in London. I genuinely felt that I could rest there and I had a great sleep!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joshua Molyneux, Owner at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 2 days ago
Hello Herrel, Thank you for your enthusiastic review! We're thrilled you enjoyed discovering Wardrobe Court tucked away near St. Paul’s Cathedral, with its historic charm and twinkling courtyard. Our reception team ensured a warm welcome, and you found the apartment impeccable with thoughtful touches like full-size beauty products and fresh milk. The sophisticated design impressed, making it feel like home during your stay. The central location, comfort of the sofa bed, and attentive staff made it your best stay in London. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wardrobe Court for more memorable visits!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny M wrote a review May 2024
Sydney, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 4 nights in one bedroom. We Sid not know prior that there was no air con due to renovations or like, therefore it was very hot. Extraction fan in bathroom remained on all the time, so noisy. They stated we would have a fresh, locally sourced brekky in a bag. However, this was one juice popper, one add hot water porridge mix and some dried strawberries for ONE person. This is false advertising. Shower is in the bath and had no non slip mat, so dangerous. Apart from those very annoying details, it was close to transport and other sights. Great having use of a washer. Bed was comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joshua Molyneux, Owner at Native King's Wardrobe
Responded 2 days ago
Hello Miles, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the lack of air conditioning and the noisy bathroom fan. We're sorry the breakfast did not meet your expectations and for any safety concerns with the shower. We appreciate your positive notes about the convenient location, comfortable bed, and washer. Your comments will help us improve, and we hope to provide a better experience on your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Kathleen H wrote a tip May 2024
15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check for dignitaries visiting St Paul, running marathons, bicycle marathons, and bank holidays. St Paul’s area can be closed off for events"
Read full review
Jason M wrote a tip Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom20 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tight Parking St Paul’s Cathedral -Daily Services at 8:00, 8:30, 12:30 and 17:00. Sunday Services at 8:00, 10:00, 11:15, 15:00, and 17:30."
Read full review
Lam I wrote a tip Sept 2023
12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look like the apartment has completed a certain parts of renovations (at least Premium Studio rooms completed)"
Read full review
dinnerladyontour wrote a tip Sept 2023
norwich, England164 contributions86 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t get put off by reviews."
Read full review
Manada64 wrote a tip July 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom121 contributions99 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book with them!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$327 - AU$624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kings Wardrobe By Bridgestreet
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonCity of London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Native King's Wardrobe - 2024 Prices & Reviews (London, England) - Photos of Specialty Inn - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Native King's Wardrobe
Which popular attractions are close to Native King's Wardrobe?
Nearby attractions include St. Paul's Cathedral (0.1 km), Liquid History Tours (0.3 km), and F1 Arcade (0.3 km).
Which room amenities are available at Native King's Wardrobe?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What are some restaurants close to Native King's Wardrobe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mosaic, Humble Grape, and Rucoletta.
Is Native King's Wardrobe located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of London.
Are there any historical sites close to Native King's Wardrobe?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (2.2 km), Tower of London (1.8 km), and Churchill War Rooms (2.3 km).
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Native King's Wardrobe
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars