We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St. James's Hotel and Club

Show Prices
#79 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
St. James\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

745 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 636: English reviews
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights on business. Staff were friendly but it does not live up to its 5 star rating - they were busier chatting to one another than opening the door for you. There is an additional 14-15 GBP 'service' fee per night for the room. If you eat/drink at the hotel a 12.5%... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mervyn A
StJamesHotelandClub, General Manager at St. James's Hotel and Club, responded to this review

Dear Mervyn A, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent visit, although I was so sorry to read that your time with us on this occasion was so disappointing. I am speaking directly with yourself by email as I would like to clarify the issues that you experienced, as your suggestions and concerns... More 

Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
710 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

In October, we hosted a dinner at the St. James Club (located in the St. James Hotel & Club), and from the moment that we, and our guests entered, we wanted for nothing. The room is lovely, with an "old world charm," but very functional, and inviting. Though occupying a large table, the service was excellent, as was the food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill_Hunt_AZ
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very quiet, comfortable converted gentleman's club on dead-ended Park Place with clean, updated furnishings and a comfortable "old school" look and feel. I had a fourth floor room that was very quiet, with no guest or outside traffic noise. Large flat screen TV with limited channel choices and a very comfortable bed. Air conditioning/heating was quiet and worked well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jimmbb0
StJamesHotelandClub, General Manager at St. James's Hotel and Club, responded to this review

Dear Jimmbb0, Thank you for leaving your review. It’s simply wonderful to read what you think of our hotel and this really rewards our hard work and commitment. We do look forward to welcoming you back at the St. James’s Hotel and Club very soon Best Regards Anjana Pandya More 

Tywford ,England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Let's start with the positive - great central location but very quiet - staff very friendly and attentive - cocktails in the bar expensive but very good - bed very comfortable - characterful hotel - couple of bottles of free water - good job housekeeping , very clean room But - for a 5* at this price point the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank SimonxEmma
StJamesHotelandClub, General Manager at St. James's Hotel and Club, responded to this review

Dear SimonxEmma, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your most recent visit, although I was so sorry to read that something on this occasion was so disappointing. I am delighted to see that my team were warm, welcoming and caring during your time with us. I am really sorry that you did not like the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has a great location, and I was upgraded to a junior suite, which was really spacious (especially compared to other hotels in London), and well equipped (even TV in the bathroom). However my room was on the 1st floor which is in fact below street level, and some machine made constant noise. Overall the location is quite, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vali L
StJamesHotelandClub, General Manager at St. James's Hotel and Club, responded to this review

Dear Vali L, It was indeed a pleasure to have had you stay with us here at The St James Hotel and Club and hope that you had the most enjoyable of stays As an SLH property we try and offer a more personal and individual service for our guests and in this regard we were pleased to arrange an... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a good overnight stay at the St. James's. Service from reception and Porter was very good and friendly. Twice used bar for drinks. Service in the bar very poor, drinks take long time. Not offered milk with tea, plus the house white wine was disgusting. My fault should have checked first but did not expect a poor riesling! Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Picky-traveller45
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A small structure which tries to be a hotel and a club at once. The road is quiet, with no view but quite a lot of building work around. Small room with a well appointed bathroom, small window with frosted glass so you cannot see out into the inner courtyard. This could make some claustophobic suffers a bit on edge.... More 

Helpful?
Thank moritz23
StJamesHotelandClub, General Manager at St. James's Hotel and Club, responded to this review

Dear moritz23, Thank you for leaving your review I am sorry to hear that you did not like the frosted glass as it provides more privacy for our guest We will amend your profile and ensure on your next stay you be allocated a room on a higher floor. I do look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best combination the price-quality-location The hotel is situated in the center, close to Piccadilly, the Royal Palace, Harrods, Selfridges, Hyde Park. All within walking distance. The hotel is newly repaired. Good Breakfast and service. We arrived early check-in, tired, wishing urgently to go into the shower, the hotel Manager helped us settle into the room early, although the hotel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Borisov V
StJamesHotelandClub, General Manager at St. James's Hotel and Club, responded to this review

Dear Borisov V, Thank you for leaving your review. It is wonderful to hear that you felt welcome in our hotel and that you found everything to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back at the St. James's Hotel and Club very soon. With my warm regards Anjana Pandya More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay was for a week, in two rooms (one for me, another for 2 daughters) - each room was comfortable with lots of character, good closet space, and wonderful bathrooms. The staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. Positioned on a quiet street, it is well located for walking and hopping on the tube. Loved this hotel!

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth V
StJamesHotelandClub, General Manager at St. James's Hotel and Club, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth V, We are absolutely glad you enjoyed your stay with us at St James’s Hotel and Club. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Please do visit us again We look forward to welcoming you and your daughters again. Best Regards Anjana Pandya. More 

cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed over a Saturday night and had booked via Small Luxury Hotels website. We booked an executive room and knew of the excellent location due to the wonderful restaurant here. The room was just as the pictures show - extremely clean, massive comfortable bed and a little balcony too. The staff were really friendly and professional and very attentive... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DavidnSimon
StJamesHotelandClub, General Manager at St. James's Hotel and Club, responded to this review

Dear DavidnSimon , Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding St James’s Hotel and Club. How wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay in our magnificent Hotel . As you mentioned the upgrade is indeed subject to availability, however we do try to honour this as often as possible. In your situation we weren’t able to, however did manage to... More 

636 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:28
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (403)
Viewed
Amenities (27)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (45)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
St. James's Suite (68)
Viewed
Superior Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Westminster Suite (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,078 in London
1,015 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#121 of 1,078 in London
1,302 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#96 of 1,078 in London
3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,078 in London
3,636 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#22 of 1,078 in London
3,077 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#25 of 1,078 in London
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Address: 7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: $394 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. James's Hotel and Club staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from St. James's Hotel and Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“What they call first floor is actually below street level”
 of 5 bubbles 840valil, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Should one consider to book the room, book higher then standard room, standard is bit small.”
 of 5 bubbles jacek553, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I don't know the layout re: "good views". Their strengths are location and quietness. We looked over a courtyard, which we had requested.”
 of 5 bubbles dono249, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a suite is you need large room. Executive room is still quite small but OK for one person.”
 of 5 bubbles TWWS, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you don't find your room to your liking, they will work with you on a possible change.”
 of 5 bubbles Steverino623, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay