We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lincoln House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Lincoln House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lincoln House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 329: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 31 March 2007

We (family of 4) stayed at Lincoln House four nights this past week. Location was excellent--in a nice neighborhood near Tube stations and great restaurants/shopping. On a fairly busy street, but our room faced back so no noise issues. Staff was pleasant, but Anthony (at reception desk) and the young man who alternated between serving breakfast and cleaning our room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FritzieontheGo
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 6 March 2007

This was our first trip to London and we stayed here for 7 nights. Though it is located in a good area in close proximity to many attractions and 2 tube stations, I was not impressed by the Lincoln House and would definitely stay elsewhere next time. The biggest complaint was the size of the shower. I understand the bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark R
J-Sheriff, Manager at Lincoln House Hotel, responded to this review

When a guest makes negative comments that are grossly exaggerated or unrealistic, we feel obliged to put our point of view, as readers would otherwise gain an unfair view of our bed & breakfast hotel. In answer to the comments made. The showers are not large but if a shower, toilet and washhand basin would be fitted into less than...

worcester
Reviewed 29 January 2007

Dont be fooled by first impressions. Nice entrance hall and stairways lead to the rooms that have the smallest bathrooms I have ever seen apart from maybe a caravan. They are less than 6ft square and are plastic all round. The smell from the bathroom is awful due to lack of ventilation The sign on the door read ''do not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank travelleruk1972
J-Sheriff, General Manager at Lincoln House Hotel, responded to this review

I feel I must reply to this highly exaggerated critique of our hotel. To take your points in order: The bathroom cubicles are small because this was once a grand Georgian house which has since been converted into a hotel – originally without ensuite bathrooms, which have had to be fitted in afterwards. If there was a smell, it was...

Athens
Reviewed 5 January 2007

Do you know the feeling when you get to the Hotel you’ve booked with, and while everything looks fine and you know you should be satisfied, you have that thing inside of you that makes you feel…well, not so satisfied?. That is simply NOT the case with Lincoln House Hotel. On the contrary, I spent a lot of time trying...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank alexpingu
J-Sheriff, General Manager at Lincoln House Hotel, responded to this review

We are extremely pleased and grateful for all your positive and complimentary comments about our hotel. The main thing is that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad to receive sensible criticism as we can then act accordingly to improve things. Your remark about the towels and sheets in the floor was a shock to us and...

Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 3 January 2007

This hotel was in a great neighborhood, very safe near embassies. The owners were very charming and helpful. The rooms were small but clean and nicely furnished, however our bathroom was ridiculously small and it was a problem for the four of us getting ready in the morning. Ok to stay here with just a couple or two close friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASB2006
Stuttgart
Reviewed 1 January 2007

The main point: Because of the hotel's friendly, helpful staff I intend to stay here the next time I'm in London - normally I just find the cheapest place available. The staff was able to answer my questions or made the phone calls necessary to do so, which made my stay much more enjoyable and easy. By itself, this is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kris S
UK
Reviewed 25 November 2006

Our stay at the Lincoln House Hotel was great value and had all the things we needed. The free internet service was great and easy - worked automatically. The rooms were clean and easy access. Breakfast was excellent and convenient. The location was good and safe. The only small negative was a small shower but not a big deal. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank robinhorses
Chantilly, VA
Reviewed 18 August 2006

I have just returned from my holiday in London where I stayed at Lincoln House Hotel. After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor, I was left wondering what type of experience I could expect. We spent 10 nights at Lincoln House Hotel before jetting to America, and it was a great experience. I am not sure why there...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Leesa601
South
Reviewed 8 August 2006

Portrayed in it's web site as a nice, welcoming place to spend a week in London. Beware! It is not as it is represented. Having made a reservation for a family room for 7 nights, our arrival brought us up 4 flights of narrow stairs, no baggage assistance, in an non-airconditioned, musty building. The room was simply a triple with...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Edgeware
London
Reviewed 29 July 2006

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank PaulaMercer

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#409 of 1,078 in London
82 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#136 of 1,078 in London
454 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#622 of 1,078 in London
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#648 of 1,078 in London
159 reviews
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#797 of 1,078 in London
69 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#21 of 556 in London
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marylebone

Neighbourhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighbourhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lincoln House Hotel is a delightfully hospitable B&B Georgian townhouse hotel, situated in Central London, close to London's diverse scenes and activities, next to Marble Arch metro station and the famous Oxford Street shopping area, one minute walk from Airbus stop to London's airports. We offer a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere: en-suite rooms, full English, Vegetarian & Vegan breakfasts and free wireless internet connection throughout the hotel. CLOSED FOR RENOVATION ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lincoln House Hotel

Address: 33 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range: $152 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lincoln House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles joed453, 11 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Just ask ... My aunt 80 years prefered the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Paula1234567890, 16 Mar 2014 | Read review
“request a quiet, lower floor room if you are not fond of stairs. we had room 14 which was perfect for us!”
 of 5 bubbles kaatherinee, 21 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Ask rooms from not street side. Traffic was loud all a time (negative side to be so close to city). Family room had four beds, but not much space left for luggages.”
 of 5 bubbles MarttiN_13, 19 Feb 2014 | Read review
“I imagine rooms at the rear will be quieter - ask to see what rooms are available or enquire as to position and size of bathroom before booking.”
  • The
 of 5 bubbles CaroleP32, 10 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5