We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal National Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Royal National Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7,505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal National Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,334: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I found that this hotel was in need of some renovations, everything was very outdated. The rooms were quite dirty with dust covering everything, bedspread were stained, found a random hair brush behind the bed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank critic201
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. All our rooms are serviced daily, in line with our strict procedures and our housekeeping office is open throughout the day to address any concerns you may have. We also...

Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I/we stayed here in December. It's our go to hotel for out twice yearly shopping trip to London. The hotel is basic, but central to everywhere we need to go. Also from this hotel most things are within walking distance. I booked our room though the imperial hotels website and paid for the English Breakfast. The other times we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mel08Ireland
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for sharing your kind comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Royal National Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast, served in our Meeting Place and you appreciated our central location, within walking distance to many tourist attractions. We are also delighted that you visited our London Pub,...

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The quality of the Royal National is pretty poor. My toilet seat was broken. The beds were small and uncomfortable. The shower was stained. The location is great with bars and restaurants in the courtyard below and the best of London scenery close by. The price is pretty decent considering the location as well. It's old and dingy and SO...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emwilz
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you appreciated our value for money, in such a central location, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station. Equally, our staff are on hand twenty-four hours a day to address any concerns you may have with...

Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel through British Airways, there was a combo offer for flight and hotel. Pros of the hotel are definitely the location and the bus stations just outside the main entrance of the hotel. For all the rest , i would have expected more from a hotel suggested by BA. Continental breakfast (included in our price) comprised of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris A
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found your room adequate and you appreciated our central location, in the heart of Bloomsbury. Equally, all bookings made directly with the hotel include English breakfast, please check the terms and conditions with your...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My first impressions were that the entire hotel was in desperate need of an aesthetic update, especially in the breakfast and carvery room – it just felt like it had absolutely no atmosphere. This was not really helped by the staff who appeared disorganised and lacked knowledge about the service the hotel actually provided, I don’t blame the staff themselves,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katie W
Coimbra, Portugal
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been in this hotel on february 2017 with my students. We were a group of 31 (28 students and 3 teachers) and i have never never been so badly treated in my entire life: the staff are rude (mainly on the reception desk and on the meals room), the rooms are not cleaned properly, breakfast is really poor,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank anaferro2014
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All our staff are trained in our hotel procedures and we were disappointed to learn of your feedback on this occasion. We have reiterated the importance of ensuring they remain courteous...

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for only 1 night to see us through a storm as all the the trains heading north were cancelled. First impressions of the hotel were great. We booked last minute, relatively cheap for London and it was confirmed pretty quick. Check in was efficient and staff were friendly enough. The rooms however were below par. If you're looking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty T
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you found your room adequate, our staff were efficient and courteous and you appreciated our central location, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station. Equally, all our TVs are in good working order, the television switch...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Horrible hotel, paid the price by going cheap and the quality answered it all. No air con, the windows hardly opened Small room dated furniture. Looked like a conference hall in reception, parking is dear but not owned by the car park. Spend a bit more on quality! But it is near Russell square and Euston and kings cross! You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sks_1992
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel in September 2016. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay and you appreciated our value for money, in such a central location, only a five minute walk to Russell Square Station and a ten minute walk to Euston Station. Equally, we...

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

I went to this hotel with my dance group in a trip to London where we were doing dance workshops etc. As soon as we got there the staff were rude to us all! They provide no chairs in the reception area so therefore when they want 23 young adults to fill out a form the only result was to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jemma T
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We apologise that you did not find your bed comfortable, our housekeeping office is open from 8am to 10pm and would have been able to replace the mattress, had you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here. There first being nearly seven years ago. It hasn't changed a bit in that time apart from some rather badly done bathroom renovations. The beds are firm, everything is clean. Worse thing is the shower head, with the amount of minerals in London water these need to be cleaned from build...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kym M
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our continental breakfast, found your bed comfortable and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. Our hotel is often praised for its value for money in such a central location, only a five minute...

1,431 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1304)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (262)
Viewed
Room/Suite (331)
Viewed
Bathroom (158)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (455)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,089 in London
1,710 reviews
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $129 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal National Hotel staff and other travellers.
167 questions
Ask a question
Zagreb, Europe
over a year ago
4 months ago

See all questions (167)

Questions? Get answers from Royal National Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles mat20152015, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For couples: ask for a double bad, otherwise you might get a twin bed.”
 of 5 bubbles ShlomoEshet, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a room in a quiet area while we were checking out and also one near a hotel. The girl checking us in was very obliging.”
 of 5 bubbles mel08Ireland, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms located at the back of the hotel were directed towards heavy traffic & as a result made it very difficult to sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 262kirstyt, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the floor we were on was quiet it seemed to be the same in the bar the restaurant was loud at Breakfast time”
 of 5 bubbles 19Daveg, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5