We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sanctuary House Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 280*
View Deal
#196 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
08/06/2017 09/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 280*
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sanctuary House Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Sanctuary House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 955: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 October 2014

the hotel doesnt impress when you first walk in and up the stairs. it appears B&B like, up a stairs over a bar. However, the rooms were very nice. Clean and well decorated. Hotel was in a great location and overall I was very happy with it. Service was good! no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank edwarddublin2014
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edward, Thank you for your pleasant review regarding your stay with us. I understand entirely that we are of a slightly less conventional layout compared to other hotels, however, I believe this adds to the character of the building and sets us apart from our competitors. I am glad that, despite your first impressions of the hotel, you still...

Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Just got back from this lovely small, perfectly placed hotel 2 weeks ago. Loved everything about it. Perfectly placed, 5 minute walk to Big Ben, House of Parliment, 10 minutes to Buckingham Palace! Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. I think their motto is "ask and you shall receive". They have a wonderful Pub below the hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Luvtheoceandjtx2
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hotel guest, Thank you for your splendid review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that your time spent with us was so well received. Our staff members are always willing to help with anything that you may need to ensure that you feel well at home for the duration of your stay, and I shall...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 23 October 2014

I ve stayed at this hotel . Main reason for choosing was location - center and close to underground station. As a nice surprise - very good and clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff and good breakfast . Only disappointment - tried to find free seat at their pub , but place was overbooked . Anyway girl at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderBz
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alexander, Thank you very much for your kind review. One of the many draws for potential guests is, of course, the fantastically convenient location and I am glad that you found it just as accommodating as many others. I am highly appreciative that you took the time to notice the effort that we all put into providing great service...

West Midlands
Reviewed 14 October 2014

This was the 5th. or 6th time that we have stayed at this hotel and we have had another outstandingly good experience. The staff are excellent. Young, enthusiastic and eager to please with a willingness to make sure that everything is just right. The occasional language difficulty is overcome with charm and courtesy. A good sized room, well prepared for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dave123WestMidlands
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am truly overjoyed that we have been your hotel of choice on so many different occasions and that we have never failed to disappoint. I am a firm believer that it is the staff who are the heart of any well received establishment and I am so appreciative that...

Muttenz, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We booked for seven persons 4 double rooms for 4 nights. In every room there was something wrong: Room no. 205: The heating in the bathroom was extremely hot and there was no possibility to turn in down. Room no. 306: There was a very disagreeable smell in the bathroom. Room no. 405: In one night the air-conditioning started suddenly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TTA2013
SanctuaryHouseHotel, Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hotel guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am terribly sorry to hear about the inconveniences you had experience during your stay with us. I would like to say that all of our bathrooms have an electric heated towel wrack that can be switched on or off from their respective plug sockets. We also...

Tennessee
Reviewed 5 October 2014

My sister and I booked this hotel for six nights in part due to reviews and part to location. Please keep looking as this hotel is not a bargain due to poor service . It is not the place to stay if you want to experience a comfortable, stress free hoilday. Too many hotels that do care about their customer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathryn7777
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathryn, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Our aim is that all our customers have a pleasant and enjoyable stay therefore I am sad to hear about the poor service you received during your stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience caused. I will be looking into this matter further with...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Thank you sanctuary london, this hotel was perfect not many rooms but in a very central location. The staff were really helpful and it was a bonus that it is attached to a pub. Would recommend staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mazzaz
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hotel guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review. It is wonderful to hear how the little gestures help make a memorable stay and I will be sure to commemorate reception on their continued great work. We hope to see you again in in the near future for another comfortable stay and some more of...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We arrived in London at Heathrow as many people do. We bought Oyster cards for the subway. They cost 5 pounds each and we put a 7 day travelcard on them for Zones 1&2 which cover central London. We also added 5 pounds to them as pay-as-you-go to cover the cost from Heathrow to central London. The Piccadilly Line runs...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank DiverBob_7
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hotel guest, Thank you for your detailed review on your time spent with us. I am sure other potential guests reading this will find it extremely helpful and informative. Being a smaller hotel in a central location, we do our best to ensure that we pay as much attention to detail as we possibly can to guarantee that all...

Decatur , Alabama , USA
Reviewed 20 September 2014

Excellent facility , Great location , and superb Staff !!!! We started by asking Staff questions before we arrived and they were responsive & helpful in every way !!! Pub food & service was also outstanding . You are to be commended for the Staff at the Sanctuary House ....have never had a better experience !!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rebelrpr
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hotel guest, Thank you very much for your delightful review. It is wonderful to hear the appraisal that you have given our staff for their hard work and dedication and I will most definitely will be passing on the message. I hope that our great service and central location will mean that we will be seeing you soon. Kind...

St. Louis, MO
Reviewed 19 September 2014

MY husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Sanctuary House and enjoyed it very much. We had room 304. Our room was ready when we arrived--we got there in the early afternoon. The room had good space and the bathroom was nicely laid out. The location could not be beat for sight-seeing. The St. James's Park Tube station was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ofallongirl
SanctuaryHouseHotel, General Manager at The Sanctuary House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hotel guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of our most unbeatable assets is, of course, the location that we are in and I am glad that you also found the area convenient for travel and a fantastic place to go site seeing. Thank you kindly for noticing the effort that is put into...

577 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (414)
Viewed
Room/Suite (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (136)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
08/06/2017 09/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,063 in London
2,857 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
722 reviews
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#227 of 1,063 in London
556 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the heart of Westminster lies the Sanctuary House - a warm and inviting hotel that offers fine food, great hospitality and top class accommodation. Our 34 beautifully appointed bedrooms feature all the comforts of home. All our stylish bedrooms are extremely well appointed, with en suite bathrooms, flatscreen TVs and little luxuries to help you enjoy a special stay in Westminster. As a Fuller’s Ale & Pie House, we are famous for our fantastic homemade pies - an authentic taste of London. There's chef's specials too, and an ever-changing bar menu. One of the best hotels near Big Ben, the Sanctuary House is just a couple of minutes walk away. The most famous sight in Britain, virtually on our doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sanctuary House Hotel

Address: 33 Tothill Street, London SW1H 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: $256 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sanctuary House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sanctuary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Hotel London
The Sanctuary Hotel
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in London
#256 Family Hotel in London
#276 Business Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sanctuary House Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Sanctuary House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No matter which room, the noise outside the rooms was unbearable.”
P3594XBwendyv, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“The standard double room is pretty basic. I might consider a deluxe or superior room if I were traveling for pleasure.”
jrando, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“quieter the higher you go, the pub below could be noisey but it is not open late”
John052, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a room on the top floor which was spacious”
896tracyr, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Very quiet in room 208.”
296teresar, 3 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 280* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Travelocity
TripAdvisorUSD 280
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates