We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Trafalgar Hotel

Show Prices
#325 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Trafalgar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,261: English reviews
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night as we were heading to the theatre! Our room wasn't ready when we arrived as we were early but they happily stored our luggage and took it to our room when it was ready! Location is amazing, top attractions, restaurants and theatre all within a 10 minute walk in every direction. Breakfast was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Management response:

Dear Emma B, Thank you very much for your review! We were delighted to have you staying with us. I am very sorry that the breakfast station wasn't available on that particular Sunday, this was a one of situation due to equipment failure. The station was again operating from the Monday. We are tendering for a new WiFi provider which...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Once you arrive you discover that you need to pay extra for everything: from a decent room in the front to an egg at breakfast. I have stayed several times at this hotel, manly due to its location, but this time the managed to infuriate me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerasimos G
Management response:

Dear Garasimos, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you felt the way you did as it wasn't our intention. My colleague Suzaan has been in touch with you separately. Yours sincerely, Lynda

Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have stayed here before so was confident that it would be a good choice for my husband's birthday which it was. In addition when the check in clerk discovered it was a birthday trip, he upgraded our room and a couple of complimentary drinks. Most welcome

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
Management response:

Dear JennyT, Thank you very much for your great post! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your husband's special day and that you had another enjoyable experience. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes! Lynda

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Would stay here again and recommend to other. Excellent staff were helpful with every request (and they were all perfect - from hotels to spas!). Comfortable room, quiet, all things you want included. Good housekeeping staff as well when you need to restock. Easy access to transportation, museums, theatre, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbarabF6953CS
Management response:

Dear BarbaraF6953CS, Thank you very much for your great review. We were delighted to have you stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our team and our hotel in general. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes! Lynda

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas 2016. On Xmas eve at breakfast I was eating my eggs and bit down a pea sized price of hard dried egg white and spit it out to see it had shell attached. It tasted of raw egg. By 14:00 I was vomiting and having diarrhea. It spoiled my families Xmas eve and Xmas day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
Management response:

Dear Drew H, Thank you for your post. I am extremely sorry that you were unwell during the festive period and that it took a long time for us to contact you after you fell ill as this isn't reflective of our usual level of administration. We since have been in direct contact with you whilst investigations took place and...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Most Excellent Location – Close to Everything Stayed at Trafalgar for 8 nights, having previously been at this hotel in August of 2016 – and as Hilton Honors Member (Diamond), am going to offer insight into the hotel for those considering staying here. Hotel is undergoing renovations to improve overall quality and services of the hotel and did not impact...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FoxTravelers
Management response:

Dear FoxTravelers, Thank you ever so much for such a fantastic review. Your enthusiasm is remarkable, I am delighted to read your post. I have the same attitude towards my choice of hotels as you "people and service first" and we offer just that. As you stated full renovations are undergoing and we are thrilled about this, I am happy...

JAKARTA, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Advertised as a Hilton this hotel is only managed by them, service is good but everything else is average for the price. Room is dull, bathroom is boring and clinical and hotel in general lacks atmosphere or identity, kind of like a half baked W hotel with ikea furniture and little chef catering. Our room looked strait out onto office...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander d
Management response:

Dear Alexander d, Thank you for your post. I am very sorry for the shortfalls you felt during your stay with us. I confirm that each of your points have been taken on board by our senior team members and remedial actions will be taken. Yours sincerely, Lynda

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is great. The hotel is clean and the rooms are definitely one of the better ones I've stayed at in the UK for the price point. Be aware of the location of your room. You do not want to be facing the back where the bins are. They are emptied every morning around 6am and it is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryanz657
Management response:

Dear Ryanz657, Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay with us. I am extremely sorry for the noise you experienced as this wasn't our intention. We are in contact with our neighbours as our collection is set with Westminster Council for after 08:00am. I sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great experience at the Trafalgar despite reading poor comments before we stayed. The rooms where large, warm with plenty of hot water. The only downside is the bar when you return at night it is a little austere, however it is used for breakfast . But all in all we had an excellent stay and would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Management response:

Dear Mike S, Thank you for taking the time to post a great review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you had an excellent stay with us and that you appreciated our large bedrooms, as we enjoyed having you here . The Trafalgar is undergoing a full refurbishment, the Ground Floor Bar and Restaurant area will...

Greenwood Village, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had upgraded to a king room from the US. We arrived in London, and that was not what we got. We had to fight with the staff and wait almost two hours for our room. The room had dirty carpet and was not at all like it was shown in photos. No pretty pillows on the bed and the...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlest956
Management response:

Dear Charlest956, Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. I invite you to contact me directly to discuss the reason of your complaint further. Please email me at: Lynda.kameche@thetrafalgar.com I look forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely, Lynda

649 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (484)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (191)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#190 of 1,080 in London
974 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Vista at The Trafalgar
Vista at The Trafalgar
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub
Rockwell at The Trafalgar
Rockwell at The Trafalgar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: $316 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#234 Luxury Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Trafalgar Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Canyon, Texas
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Trafalgar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“...book one of the more charming boutique hotels in the area!”
 of 5 bubbles alexanderd320, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For quiet rooms ask for one on the Mall Street side. For great views of Trafalgar ask for a room on the NW corner.”
  • Toilet and Sink Area
  • Nice Tall Shower
  • Relaxing Tub After Exploring the City
 of 5 bubbles Cinnastickz, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The square view is super”
 of 5 bubbles Niko_O_S, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make theater reservations well in advance of your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles R0m77, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a veiw of the square.”
 of 5 bubbles Lilian130, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay