We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

International Students House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
International Students House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for International Students House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The location of this hostel was good but not a great place to stay. The showers were freezing! The beds did not feel clean and the floor was dirty as well. The breakfast was limited in what you could get for a decent price. The walls are very thin too and you can hear just about everything going on in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Molly R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Good price for location (visited in 2006), quite streets, some facilities nearby, very hostel-like room (we were 12 I think girls) with one bathroom. Not sure since then, hopefully has improved. Staff was very nice and quality of beds was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shasha189
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I had stayed at ISH for two nights whilst I was visiting London. This was my first time staying there and visiting London. This place impressed me as it is near the tube, Great Portland Station. The room is clean; the towel was changed everyday as well. The service is good; they provide you breakfast. The price is also reasonable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaaNizta P
Graz, Austria
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The location is excellent if you are really sleeping at the given address. It's just a few meters from the next Underground station. However, they have a second building which is 5min walk and is located in 10 York Terrace East. Internet is free and speed is definitely ok. They provide you with a towel and you have a washbasin...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sparefroh2
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

I think this is one of the cheapest place to host in London.It is quite far by walking from the downcenter but you can easily get there by train.Is near to the Great.Portland Street tube stop. Another point is that you receive a ticket for breakfast of £2.19 to change it for meal. Clean place during my stay. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisbeth7219
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hostel is mere meters away from Great Portland Street Underground station, so proper central London. The price is supposed to include breakfast (starting at 07:30 on week days and 08:00 weekends) so this can be inconvenient if you need to leave early. But in reality it only includes a £2.90 voucher which will not get you a full breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Steven G
ISH_London229, Marketing at International Students House, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at International Students House We appreciate your comments, and all of them will be discussed and investigated further. In regards to some of your comments: Breakfast - All of our catering is done in-house and we always endeavour to have as much variety as possible in order to appeal to...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I was looking forward to the stay at the ISH after we checked out the beautiful pictures on the site. However, the room was dark and dirty, floor uncleaned. Furthermore, the staff at the counter told us that there were hairdryers to be found along the corridor, but these were nowhere to be found. If not for the affordable price...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank awesometayzer
229ISH, Manager at International Students House, responded to this review

As our website clearly states the images are only a selection of our rooms and we cannot guarantee that this will be the room you will be allocated. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find your room clean and this will be investigate further. With regards to the hair-dryers, they are available on a selection of...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked a quad room. The picture/video on the website showed four single beds and four wardrobes. When we checked in, we were firstly given a room with 2 single beds. Subsequently, upon realising their mistake, the reception rechecked us into another room (smaller than the original room given to us) with 2 sets of bunk beds and one wardrobe....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TravellerSL_06
229ISH, Manager at International Students House, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room you were allocated. As it clearly states on our website the room images and videos are only of a selection of our rooms. Summer is one of our busiest periods and we cannot guarantee what room you will be allocated during your stay. Please accept our...

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A friend of mine was visiting from Holland and was his first time in London, we wanted to stay somewhere central and cheap. The location of the hostel is perfect as it is across the street from Great Portland underground station and bus stops. Also down the street you can find a local tesco as well as restaurants. This place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank youngSaudiTraveller
yorkshire
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Clean tidy rooms, very basic but at these prices wjat can you expect.. Great bar which was so cheap which we never expected given the location!!! All the staff were lovely except in the breakfast bar where they were plain rude, but when youre having a good time you cant let a grumpy over worked cook spoil things!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loveuk123

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#504 of 1,089 in London
901 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Melia White House
Melia White House
#285 of 1,089 in London
6,399 reviews
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#659 of 1,089 in London
399 reviews
Fitzrovia
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
#63 of 837 in London
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Fitzrovia

Neighbourhood Profile
Fitzrovia
This sophisticated and sociable slice of Central London is a shopper’s paradise, offering the latest fashions, gadgets, and souvenirs. Fitzrovia is conveniently located between the major retail thoroughfares of Regent Street to the west and Tottenham Court Road to the east, with a handful of well connected Tube stations dotted around the area for easy transport. This neighbourhood is a favorite among foodies as well, with an impressive number of quality restaurants, pubs, cafes and food shops vying for your patronage – especially along Charlotte Street and near Goodge Street Station.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
International Students House (ISH) is a student residence and a unique social, cultural and recreational centre. ISH is a central place to meet people from Britain and around the world. International Students House offers accommodation in single, twin, quad and multi bed rooms. We are located in zone one opposite Great Portland Street tube station and only a ten minute walk from the delights of Oxford Street and attractions such as London Zoo and Madame Tussauds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about International Students House

Address: 229 Great Portland Street | Marylebone, London W1W 5PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Price Range: $29 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — International Students House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
International Students House Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from International Students House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from International Students House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“En suite is nicer than a dorm room, and if you are an album, you have access to the Goats Flat”
savvysolo, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sleep in a room with friends if at all possible. I didn't sleep in the dorms, but whatever room you do sleep in try to do it with someone you know.”
amethystloucks, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at the top floor were nice with a splendid view to the park”
MariaS616, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Go for en-suite with private toilet facilities.”
721antony, 19 Jun 2014 | Read review
“go for the single en suite when available.”
Kinkyschmink, 1 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5