The Tophams Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Tophams Hotel

Traveller (795)
Room & Suite (481)
Dining (32)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#998 of 1,140 hotels in London
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tophams Hotel opened in summer 2008 as a boutique hotel in the heart of the exclusive Belgravia area, In November 2018 Imperial Kensington, took over the hotel. As the new owners our aim is to re-establish Tophams as a luxury hotel offering our guests comfort and traditional standards of service with lots of surprising individual touches that help to maintain the original charm and, essentially, the English quirkiness. We are currently undertaking the last stages of property refurbishment, working as discreetly as possible to ensure minimal disruption to you, our guests. Our Restaurant is currently closed whilst the last stage of the refurbishment is finished. Located in one of London’s most desirable areas, Belgravia is a quiet residential neighbourhood within easy walking distance to Victoria British rail and coach station. Ideally located just 800 metres from Buckingham Palace, just one step away from some of the most important attractions in the city, like Pall Mall, St James’ Park and Houses of Parliament.,. Whether seeking to indulge in a little retail therapy, Sloane Square or the famous Harrods in Knightsbridge alternatively broaden your horizons at the many nearby museums and galleries, or sample the nightlife you’re perfectly positioned to find endless things to do in London.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Price:20% off room rate

Location

24-32 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
London City Airport
13.7 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
21.6 km
See all flights
Hyde Park Corner
11 minUnderground
1,726Review6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 299
  • 277
  • 277
  • 663
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pauline S wrote a review July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I am writing about my booking and stay of 23rd - 25th June which I had booked for my daughters 18th birthday and wanted somewhere lovely for her to stay. Whilst all the staff are fabulous and the main lobby/bar/lounge area etc lived up to expectations I feel I need to say how disappointing the bedroom and bathroom was compared to the reviews and photos I had seen on the hotel website. My daughter and I stayed in M3 on the lower floor. Whilst the room was freshly painted - it was bare and basic, nothing that I considered worth £330 per night. We were below ground so had no decent view or real daylight, there was no fireplace as described, the wifi did not work, it was noisy with the entranceway/bar area above with people constantly walking on the noisy wooden floors. there was no minibar (except 2 bottles of water), no coffeemaker, very poor quality toiletries, the shower door handle was broken on the inside. There was mens underwear/socks in one of the drawers that had been left behind. The plug for the bath was missing and the hairdryer blew up on use - although both were replaced when staff were asked. It has upset me greatly that the reality was so different to that promised.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jane Oryem, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we will ensure we share this feedback with our team. We take customer service very seriously and your feedback will enable us to improve. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Oryem
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jlindb552520 wrote a review May 2024
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel near Palace in London was disappointing. Despite its promising location, the broken air-conditioning made the stay uncomfortable, especially during warmer seasons. The absence of a bar also detracted from the overall experience, limiting options for relaxation and socializing within the hotel premises. They also missed to book a taxi While the proximity to the Palace might attract tourists, the lack of basic amenities like functional air-conditioning and a bar diminishes the value for money and overall satisfaction. Future guests should be cautious and consider alternative accommodations with better amenities and services.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jkdafty wrote a review Jan 2022
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights, and sadly not the best experience.
The room itself was a little small, but more than adequate, sadly the Shower wasn't the most of practical things, the shower was really small and no place to put your soaps, so the only option was to put on the floor, but due to it being that small, it was then almost impossible to keep bending up and down for gels and shampoos.
Secondly when we started to hang up our clothes, I found a very big black bra that had been left by a former guest, which doubted how well the place had been cleaned, I took to the receptionist and she wasn't very apologetic.
Finally when they did pop in and tidy the room, they didn't replace any of the coffee sticks, bottles of water or biscuits.
Nice area and room, just a shame about the little things.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sam Fitzgerald, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Dear Jkdafty, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, firstly again please accept my sincere apologies in relation to the items you found in your room. As you know this has been addressed with our housekeeping team and not what we would expect or accept from our team. in relation to your feedback on the shower - this has now been a sorted. Thank you for the feedback. We do hope to welcome you back to Tophams in the near future. Kind regards Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gala Jazmín G wrote a review Apr 2023
Gothenburg, Sweden
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A big yes:
Great small hotel located in my humble opinion, in the best place in the city. Very newly refurbished and nicely decorated.
Very easy to reach from Heathrow, has excellent communication with other neighborhoods, and is a lovely area where to walk. What I liked the most, besides its location, was the staff, especially the ladies serving breakfast. They were extremely kind and respectful and you feel they take extra care of you. The building is lovely and I will definitely stay again.
They offered continental breakfast: the fruit was fresh and tasty. The charcuterie delicious. The music they choose made the ambiance so cozy!
The common spaces were extremely clean and nice, and you could see staff taking care of them constantly.

To improve: in my opinion, the pillows were very hard and the bathroom was not very well cleaned. I have to admit that I'm extremely picky and that I even check under the sink, but when you see it down there you can realize it has not been cleaned in months. This is not the cleaner's fault, they usually are given very little time to prepare many rooms, so I understand they need to prioritize. Other small details were not top-cleaned either. But I guess for someone who isn't as picky as me it would be more than fine (my boyfriend who stayed with me, for example). We were very tired from the trip and running late for lunch so I did not inform this details to the manager.
Another down point in my room was that you could hear all the steps in the bedroom right above, making it very hard to fall asleep, but I understand there is not much that can be done due to the age of the building.
The breakfast has limited options, but only momentarily: they just renovated the whole place and soon they will offer warm options as well :)
I traveled to London for my 30 birthday and it would have been nice that when you do the check-in they at least say happy birthday but they did not. The receptionists were quite cold at times. But hey, it could just have been my impressions, we all have hard days, is it? They just vaguely said: come back at 15 when the room is ready, and even when they were super kind of safe keeping our bags, they could have rang us if the room was ready before. Something we all as tourists highly appreciate.
The price is ok for its location, but I do not think it should rise more or has the infrastructure to be a "Luxury" hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jane Oryem, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel
Responded 14 Apr 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our central location and the friendliness of our staff. We take great pride in providing excellent service and ensuring that all our guests have a pleasant stay. We also appreciate your honest feedback, and we are taking it into consideration as we strive to consistently improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Irina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SecretStreets wrote a review Feb 2022
Valencia, Spain
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel was renovated over the past 2 years and everything in the room is in the right place and works very well. Rear facing room was extremely quiet.
Bathroom attached in an annex so almost a separate connected room had bath and separate rainshower. Water temp and force both excellent.
I hadn't paid for breakfast but as they are still redeveloping the dining room, they served a coffee/tea and pastries option free to everyone in a very agreeable lounge setting.
Location is 5 minutes walk from Victoria station so good for transport.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rear facing larger rooms are worth the investment
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sam Fitzgerald, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Dear SecretStreets, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the location. Being a Townhouse hotel our rooms and bathrooms do differ around the building which in each category I feel adds to our charm and style. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Sam
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith E wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one night with my Husband in a Deluxe Room. We traveled to London for a show and stay for my Birthday and our Wedding Anniversary.
My Mother and Father in Law paid for this treat.
They choose the Hotel and we were very impressed. Lovely Hotel with very clean rooms. We asked if it was possible to have an early check in and as soon as our room was ready a member of staff rang to tell us it was and we could make our way to the hotel. This was really appreciated as we wanted time to relax before we made our way out to get a meal before going to see Jersey Boys.
We had a great night’s sleep in a comfortable bed.
The only downside was the Hotel can currently only offer a Continental Breakfast which was not something that suited us. However, the Hotel refunded the cost of the breakfast as it had paid for in advance not knowing a Full English breakfast was not available.
We would recommend this Hotel for anyone wanting a smaller personal hotel where you are made welcome by great staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jane Oryem, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be clean and comfortable. We are delighted that you were able to check in early, and we truly appreciate that your in-laws chose us for such a special occasion. We regret to hear that the breakfast was not up to your expectations due to the inability to offer a full English breakfast, however, are grateful for the understanding of our current circumstances. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, Irina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BigMeech2014 wrote a review Sept 2022
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Steps away from Victoria Station, yet on a quiet street. You’d almost miss it - it’s such understated elegance - clean and neat. Check in was prompt though a bit businesslike. Clean and neat room, very comfortable whisper quiet air conditioning, a nice tea bar. The bathtub/shower area was spacious with high quality towels, full array of soaps and a window that opened onto a quiet courtyard.
We’ll definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jane Oryem, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent visit at The Tophams Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Oryem
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristi S wrote a review July 2023
San Clemente, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of four enjoyed our stay at the Tophams Hotel in London. We were in London to drop off our daughter for a 5 week summer program. We were looking for a hotel near the area our daughter would be staying and needed something to accommodate four of us. London is an expensive city and the area near Victoria station was no exception. The Tophams Hotel provided us a relatively less expensive option and room for all four of us. The neighborhood is nice. The access to Victoria Station was easy, making our transportation to the rest of the city very doable.

The hotel is small and charming. The room we stayed in was small but included an upstairs room for our daughters that provided much more room. The rooms were quiet, providing a good nights sleep. Water is provided and the front desk is willing to provide more if needed. They also provide coffee, tea, crackers, iron and ironing board and a small refridgerator.

We would gladly come back to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jane Oryem, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent visit at The Tophams Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Oryem
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Voyage33304 wrote a review Apr 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Quaint, quiet and centrally located. Easy walking distance to major attractions and The Underground. The staff were lovely and SO HELPFUL! The room was very comfortable and equipped with hair dryer, iron, ironing board, USB charging ports, and free wifi.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Enjoy the stay!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jane Oryem, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent visit at The Tophams Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Irina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
atownee wrote a review Oct 2021
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location 7 minutes walk from Victoria Station and a short step to Buckingham Palace. The hotel itself has just been renovated and as such is very smart. Our room was lovely, large with a huge comfy bed and large bathroom with separate bath and shower. The staff were very approachable and friendly. The only small thing that we were a bit disappointed with was lack of breakfast. The dining room is behind schedule with the renovation apparently and therefore a very small breakfast of two tiny pastries and one cup of tea/coffee each, we were not offered any more. This should be made clear at the booking stage. Would suggest a small buffet breakfast set up on the bar so guests can help themselves would be better. Apart from that a very lovely and affordable hotel in the heart of Belgravia!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sam Fitzgerald, General Manager at The Tophams Hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in our newly refurbished rooms. We are so lucky for a Town House hotel to have nice size bedrooms and large bathrooms. I have passed on your kind comments to the team, thank you. I am sorry for the lack of breakfast offering, we are working as fast as we can to get the restaurant and kitchen works finished. The complimentary coffee and pastries are available and I am sorry you were not offered a topup of both coffee and pastries, I am not sure how you were missed but please accept my apologies. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Samantha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rxtech4478 asked a question Oct 2023
California27 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi do they have self service washer and dryer on site thankyou
Answer from Kristi S
San Clemente, California48 contributions35 helpful votes
We did not have need for them, so I am not able to answer, but I am sure they can answer that question for you if you contact them directly.
cbarnett5534 asked a question Oct 2017
Colorado Springs, Colorado1 contribution2 helpful votes
Hi, cbarnett5534. What would you like to know about this accommodation?
Answer from debrasoper
Reading, United Kingdom203 contributions30 helpful votes
Don’t go to this hotel, it’s jus5 awful
Nicole_P_1980 asked a question Feb 2016
Alexandria, Virginia99 contributions44 helpful votes
Does each guest room have a hair dryer?
Answer from efi_de
Munich, Germany32 contributions57 helpful votes
The rooms I stayed in had, perhaps not the latest model but they worked. In case it is missing housekeeping brings one to your room.
Answer from JaneC44
Weymouth, United Kingdom32 contributions21 helpful votes
Hi. I think you have the wrong hotel. Defo no sea views in central London!
Veronica T wrote a tip 2 June
Manchester, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book a superior room."
Read full review
Mike H wrote a tip May 2024
8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"AVOID TOPHAMS AT ALL COST! There are a lot of better options all over the area. Use the tube station to get around. It is very easy to learn"
Read full review
Nikki B wrote a tip Mar 2024
14 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a different hotel, much cheaper but similar experience is eccleston "
Read full review
Jeannette B wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't miss this great hotel."
Read full review
Voyage33304 wrote a tip Apr 2023
11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the stay!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$306 - AU$519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tophams hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBelgravia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Tophams Hotel - London, England Hotel 2024 Prices & Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Tophams Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Tophams Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Royal Mews (0.4 km), Victoria Palace Theatre (0.4 km), and Flight Club Victoria (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Tophams Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Tophams Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Tophams Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Tophams Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The English Rose Cafe, Lime Orange, and Tozi Restaurant & Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Tophams Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Polish, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Tophams Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.6 km), Tower of London (5.1 km), and Churchill War Rooms (1.4 km).
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near The Tophams Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars