We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avo Hotel

Show Prices
#100 of 560 B&Bs / Inns in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Avo Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2015

I stayed for a night and the staff were so accommodating and friendly. Also the station is very close to the station which is incredibly convenient. However, the couple in the next room was having the loudest and most animated sex and it went on forever - the walls were so thin I felt like they were in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SusannainItaly
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susanna, I'm so sorry that you could hear the unfortunate noises! We appreciate you noting that it's not quite our fault but we still know it must have been frustrating. If this ever happens again, please know that telling reception puts the onus on us to do something about it, and we would happily oblige and ask the noisy...

Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night as we were going to a gig in Hackney. Room was small, as advertised, but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Warm welcome, good continental breakfast, great value and immaculately clean. Everywhere smelt nice! The shower cubicle was on the small size for the great shower within, and the pillows too hard for our liking, but we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma D
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review - we try hard and were delighted you thought everywhere smelt nice! We'd love to host you again so come back soon, Sunny

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

I unfortunately booked a room here costing £99.00. I opted for the small rather than "tiny" room but was not prepared for how small it actually was. I wacked my head on the telly trying to shuffle around the bed and past my partner. I get that it is a family run hotel however boutique it is not! Someone has...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Teresahamster
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa, We're really sorry you didn't like our decor; our throws and curtains are hand-made in India by relatives so that is a shame. We understand our dark and sparkly bathrooms weren't to your taste, but if you had tried the rainshower we think you would have been pleasantly surprised :) Our beds are often remarked upon also, as...

Surrey
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Booked for my birthday, as we were going to a gig nearby. Wonderful staff, so friendly and helpful. Small cosy rooms, with decent sized mugs for a cuppa, dressing gowns, slippers, toiletries all provided. Champagne was brought up after the owner had shown us to our room. A younger man was on the desk when we arrived back and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 72angelSurrey
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

We're so pleased you had a good visit for your birthday! Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review :) Sunny

lincolnshire
Reviewed 18 January 2015

My husband and I are senior citizens and whilst visiting our son in London for a family Christmas celebration we stayed at the Avo hotel for 4 nights. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for the staff and we were welcomed with a smile. On Christmas day night we returned to our room to find a bag full of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pussy5
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

It is such a delight when guests enjoy the little touches we go out of our way to furnish! The Xmas presents complete with organic chocolate, were Dad's idea and I have to say they were really well-received! We're very touched that you enjoyed your stay at Avo and want to encourage others to visit :) Many thanks, Sunny

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2015

We were pleased with the personal service from this delightful family hotel. Compact and comfortable room with memory foam mattress and pillows, we stayed in 102 which was quiet. Friendly welcome on arrival and nothing was too much trouble, guidance with bus and tube routes. Quirky area with lots to see and do. Freshly baked croissants would have made it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sue j
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thanks for writing us a review. We love it when people take the time to note how Dalston is such a quirky area, and we were happy to help with extra directions etc. We look forward to seeing you again! Sunny

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a Saturday night out in Clapton. Sandwiched between Dalston and London Fields its in a great location. Hotel is small but very clean and staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast looked great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsPipE5
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! We very much appreciate your kind review! Do come back soon :) Much love from all of us at Avo, Sunny

Colombo
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Stayed over during a business visit. The staff including the owner is very friendly and makes you feel at home. As the case in London more often than not, space is a luxury not often found unless you spend a fortune. That said, the rooms at Avo are cosy and very well laid out given limited space. The place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jitendra D
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We really appreciate your kind words! As a family-run hotel we work hard to keep our guests happy and it means a lot to us that you took the time to write a review :) Sunny

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We stayed here for two nights while attending wedding celebrations. The location was convenient for the events in Hackney but also for getting to the London sights via the Overground stations at Dalston Junction and Dalston Kingsland (not so for the Underground) and buses passed the door in droves. The room was a tiny but very comfy double on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank albamorrison
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alba, Thanks so much for making the time to write us a review. We love hearing from guests :) Do come back soon! Sunny

London
Reviewed 27 October 2014 via mobile

I don't live far from the Avo but due to building work I stayed there for two nights. I had had a long week in all directions and was late but the owner is such a nice guy he immediately made me feel at ease when I arrived (even though he'd been waiting all day!). I'd definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich J
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and I'm chuffed to hear dad was so nice to you :) Sunny

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Premier Inn London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#578 of 1,080 in London
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 55
#427 of 1,080 in London
368 reviews
East End / East London
Global Lodge
Global Lodge
#239 of 802 in London
5 reviews
East End / East London
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#170 of 560 in London
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Italian Vogue calls Dalston "the coolest place in Britain". Avo Dalston, a boutique hotel in the heart of vibrant Hackney, caters to savvy locals and tourists with special touches like memory-foam mattresses, luxury Elemis toiletries and a showcase of local art and photography. Our values are based around exemplary service and environmental responsibility. For example, our menus are animal friendly, and we provide travel aluminum water bottles for our guests to use during their ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avo Hotel

Address: 82 Dalston Lane | Dalston Hackney, London E8 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Price Range: $140 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avo Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Norfolk, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Avo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on first floor at rear and did not experience any street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles louise902016, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't take the budget room.”
 of 5 bubbles H8308JEmichaelb, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like stairs ask for a lower placed room.”
 of 5 bubbles 860adriann, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This is a small hotel and the rooms reflect this but they are nicely done out and well equiped.”
 of 5 bubbles chrispB7261CL, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the larger rooms if you need more space.”
 of 5 bubbles funinthesun06110610, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay