We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

PubLove at The Steam Engine

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
PubLove at The Steam Engine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the hostel recdptionists are very helpful and kind, even though at some hours they are loaded with tasks from the pub. the bedroom and sheets were clean but the shower not so much. the space is very limited, there is almost no place for any lugagge. there is no kitchen. few bathrooms for the amount of people staying. overall it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgross_864079
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice and kind personnel. All of the most famous places to visit are very close...really close and that's the advantage. Thanks for being friendly! And by the way - breakfast is included - so take a chance not to loose it because it's served very early :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ingaz885
Alta Floresta, Brazil
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was a really comfortable place! And even better when you have a great staff! Next time i come, this will be my place again. It's near London eye, Big ben, and also markets to buy food when you need.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcosd936
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For budget business travellers in London, this hostel is acceptable for up to three days primarily on the basis of its nearness to Waterloo. There are severe disadvantages, though: the bedrooms are too small for the amount of people to stay, the beds are bad with very thin matresses, and the facilities are faulty - wifi didn't function at all,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank work4u2016
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Hi! We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our hostel. We always try our best to make our guests happy and to help with any problems 24h. The WiFi can be a bit slow with a lot of people on it at the same time, but we haven't had any WiFi issues or complaints from other...

Lyon, France
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice experience with nice staff. Great location at 6 minutes of big ben by bus. Near to Lambeth north station. There is a bag drop where we can put our luggages in safety. We can eat burger and other things wich are very good and not too expensive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alex_procopovici
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your kind comments! We really appreciate hearing back from our guests :) Hope you had a great time in London and come visit us again! The Steam Engine

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay has had very good price/value ratio and free breakfast in the morning was a pleasant surprise to me and my friends because we did not expect it. The greatest asset of this hostel is its staff which is really friendly and helpful. The only bad thing was carelessness of other people staying there, when some of them forgot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akimiski
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind words! We are really happy you enjoyed the venue and our staff! We hope you had a wonderful time in London and will visit us again in the future :) All the best! The Steam Engine Team

College Park, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, PubLove at Steam Engine was a great place to stay. The pub below was warm and cozy, and had good food and great deals for those staying. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. The room upstairs was clean and the linens smelled clean as well. Safety wise, there was a two entry point lock system, which was reassuring....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ttrach15
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff. Come visit us again in the future! The Steam Engine

southern france
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are not bothered by room sharing concept this place is simply great. 4 rooms of 12 beds mixed makes you feel secure anyway. As for the pub in itself , very welcoming bartenders , nice atmosphere with efficient furnitures. Beers are good and food ,ohh my , taste that , it is awesome.! And quite cheap for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L8272PYlaurent
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review! We really appreciate you enjoyed our hostel and pub downstairs! Safe travels and hope to see you again in the future! The Steam Engine

Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the place is amazing. You can see the Big Ben from right across the street. The staff is awesome. The guy was super friendly, caring and nice. The place is clean, cozzy and vintage. Great place for the price. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 720iskras
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for your awesome review! We are really happy you enjoyed the venue and our staff! We hope you had a wonderful time in London! Cheers! The Steam Engine

passo fundo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

terrible dirty (bathrooms) very early breakfast On the day that I arrived there, they didn´t have towels to rent. One day there was a guy sleeping un my bed??? they probably rent my bed?? overbooking? I don´t know. They change my room and put me in another room more people (9 to12).. This place was the worst hostel that I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank estevancabeda
Alin I, Assistant Manager at PubLove at The Steam Engine, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the overbooking (due to a system error). We definitely did not "rent your bed". Due to the overbooking on our system the same bed had been allocated to 2 people and we only became aware of the issue when you checked in. We are...

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
12 Bed Dorm (17)
Viewed
9 Bed Dorm (12)
Viewed
9 Bed Dorm (with shower) (20)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#405 of 1,077 in London
2,339 reviews
The Horse & Stables Hostel
#108 of 791 in London
142 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#33 of 791 in London
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#131 of 791 in London
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
PubLove at the Steam Engine is an award-winning backpacker hostel above a traditional London pub. We have comfortable beds, in-room security lockers, 24 hour reception, and a great team of PubLovers to make your London experience the time of your life. We also have a 24 hour bar exclusively for hostel guests and a wide range of damned good drinks waiting for you in our glorious London pub. ... more   less 

Additional Information about PubLove at The Steam Engine

Address: 41-42 Cosser Street | Waterloo, London SE1 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $17 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — PubLove at The Steam Engine 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your PubLove at The Steam Engine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PubLove at The Steam Engine staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from PubLove at The Steam Engine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beds were quite comfortable, however, they are bunk beds so be prepared. Always aim for the upper-most one. Well, at least that's what I do.”
 of 5 bubbles akimiski, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No comment..haaa”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for the bed in the midle, the low one is almost at the floor and the top one is very high (Im afraid of Highs)”
 of 5 bubbles GrazielleBM, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“24 beds to slep.”
 of 5 bubbles mariusenea, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Could be more space but is good.”
 of 5 bubbles davidhD3540EX, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay