We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thistle Kensington Gardens

Show Prices
#291 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Kensington Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,784 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,511: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The breakfast was probably my favorite item within this hotel, the location is off Hyde Park which is on a far side of the city, however there is a bus stop and 2 tube stations within a short walk. We had multiple issues with this hotel, initially we had a double room, however the room is very small, perhaps normal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank somecsstudent
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great service accommodated by an early check in and setting up a camping cot for our infant. We had a great view over Hyde Park. Downstairs below the hotel is a garage and shop where you can buy all the food basics and quick meals including baby meals and basics. Its a manageable walk to shopping district of Oxford street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KelTravelTime
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

We are grateful for your comments from your recent stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens. Thank you for highlighting the benefits of our location and facilities. It is a delight to hear that you had a great stay, if I can be of any assistance when you stay in London in the future, please contact me directly so I can assist.

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Perfect location just close to the Queensway underground and bus 94 + 146 which takes you quickly to the city centre. My room was quiet and all okay for a short stay. Breakfast served in the restaurant with a view of a lovely park. Friendly staff. Perfect place for a short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank svenbroodd
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, It is a pleasure to hear that the location was perfect for your stay and that you enjoyed our views of the park. Thank you again for the feed back and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and facade. Disappointing, but maybe just the room where I landed. There was a room switch, which was necessary, and for which I was grateful, but still the price was not merited, time was wasted, and I would not go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank savvysolo
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We apologise for the disappointment you have felt regarding the size of your...

Wolverhampton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well located hotel just a few steps from the underground. Good location for exploring London. Efficient check-in. Hotel clean throughout. Bedroom a bit on the small size, but this is London. I did however think initially that the bathroom door was a cupboard door as it was so narrow. Thought the tray charge for the room service was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie-the-tripper
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast (despite some taking your toast) and...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place for short stay, we had some small problems that I have put a complaint into the management about, nothing terrible just little things that could have been avoided. I am in a wheelchair and we found the hotel accessible, we didn't have an accessible room as they were taken. (the hotel does have accessible rooms) we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. I do apologise that your stay could have been more comfortable, we do try to cater for all our guests and their needs to ensure they have a great stay. Unfortunately on this occasion due to our availability we could not meet this 100%. We are...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited London with my son to celebrate his 13th birthday. I picked up the hotel based on customer reviews, location and price. Thistle hotel was a very good choice! The hotel is clean, service is very good, location is good and the breakfast was also superb. The only downside was that we had to pay seperately for the breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caritamaria
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Happy 13th Birthday to your son from all of of us at Thistle Kensington Gardens, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly pleased to hear that you found your stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens Hotel comfortable and you found our breakfast "superb". It is always a pleasure to receive feedback about our friendly staff...

Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Thistle and had our team dinner in the hotel. We changed our venue within the hotel at very short notice. However the team could not have been more helpful. The food was well cooked and presented and served by friendly staff. Would definitely consider using their services again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly pleased to hear that you had a great dining experience and that our team managed to accommodate your change in plans. I will be a pleasure passing on such great feedback to our team.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was disappointed with this hotel because with a little more care and attention to detail, it could be really nice. On arrival we spent 10 minutes traipsing back and fourth from the small lifts to reception with our luggage because our key cards wouldn't work. We were offered no apology, just a muffled moan about the key cards. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KristyGilbs
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Following your recent stay here at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We apologise for the disappointment you have felt regarding the decor...

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located opposite hyde park and close to tube statio ns and buses. Hotel has secondary double glazing which is needed , the rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter the the rooms overlooking the park. That said great breakfast, fantastic choice of breads,cereals and chef served hot breakfast. An enjoyable stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaz1560
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. we are really pleased the location worked for your visit and that you enjoyed...

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (349)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#338 of 1,080 in London
845 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blakemore Hyde Park
#288 of 1,080 in London
1,406 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#218 of 1,080 in London
669 reviews
Lancaster London
#232 of 1,080 in London
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $171 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter rooms at the back”
 of 5 bubbles Kaz1560, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a high floor, be aware that the rooms that overlook Hyde Park, also look onto a busy road, with a petrol station below the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles GRB996, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I like the room facing the hyde park”
 of 5 bubbles Nan220979, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher up and facing the park is nice - Bayswater is a very busy road but the traffic noise was not a problem on the 8th floor”
 of 5 bubbles AlexandriaGrandDad, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views from the upper floors really good.”
 of 5 bubbles ianmB2618BS, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay