We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shakespeare Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

789 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shakespeare Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My family and I stayed in a quad room on the third floor for three nights in May. Pros: This hotel far exceeded my expectations of it. The rooms were clean, had plenty of space for our luggage, and had modern finishing. Bathrooms were small, but looked clean and modern. I'm frankly surprised this is a two star hotel. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TebaIbra
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards

Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was on the top floor which meant a lot of steep and narrow stairs. My room was very small but also very cosy. It had everything I needed and it was very clean. It was more than enough for me since I was away most of the day. The included breakfast was great. I would appreciate a free Wi-Fi....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rok K
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Hotel is placed near underground and RER station. There is also a station of the BigBus tour. The room is little, but clean. Pleasant staff. You can get adaptor or a hair dryer from the reception. You can also use the wifi, but for additional payment. There no elevator and the stairs are not so comfortable for lifting the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna U
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards

Fortaleza, CE
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was a very pleasant surprise. Nice, clean, well located and with a fair rate. There was a beautiful garden outside. A few bars and restaurants if you don´t want to go very far. The only bad thing was the no elevator type.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aline_Pitombeira
Shakesp_Management, General Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Aline, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It is our pleasure to accommodate and leave our guests satisfied and enthusiastic. Due to the fact that out hotel is in a Victorian building, it is against the law to restructure the floor planning, therefore a list is not available for...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a double room and were given a cramped dorm room. I wouldn't have minded had it been nice but it was obvious that they tried to squeeze rooms/WCs into every little space. Just not a nice atmosphere as soon as you pass reception! One staff member, a young and tall lad, was lovely but another was unapologetic and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skyeeee
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, we are really sorry that you did not have a nice stay in our Hotel. In order to investigate better, i would like to know what room number you had and what time you spoke with the rude receptionist. Regards

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Perfect location near Paddington + within easy reach of Hyde Park. Norfolk Square is a quiet and elegant haven and ideal as a base for sightseeing. A wonderful hotel with a really friendly, welcoming and caring atmosphere. Very nice room and the staff very helpful! We'd definitely go back again in the future. The room wasn't large but tastefully decorated,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 271Peterd2014
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is a three minute walk away from Paddington, making it a very good choice if you're travelling to / from Heathrow and need an economy class hotel. Rooms are not spacious, but I've paid more for smaller hotel rooms in London. Breakfast was included in our deal (simple buffet), for a surcharge you can have the Full English....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anders H
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Paying extra for internet was annoying, and a class of students were staying above me resulting in several calls to reception consecutive nights. Great location, around the corner from paddington ! Stairs are crazy steep. Would look at other hotels in the area (several)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emily v
London
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Best location, next to tube. Old (without renovation) rooms with very small WC. Odors from WC not bearable. Smelly place. Breakfast and personnel was ok. The heating was not enough. TV was adequate. We selected it only due to its price but weren't satisfied

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stelios E
trapani
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We are an Italian family and we stayed in Shakespeare Hotel for 4 nights. Great location near the most famous London's attractions, the surroundings are full of restaurants and pubs. Nice rooms, very clean and very nice staff. Good full English breakfast We will for sure come back Alessandra

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank infoTrapani

411 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Five Bed (25)
Viewed
Quad Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Triple Room (24)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 km away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#606 of 1,089 in London
560 reviews
0.0 km away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#770 of 1,089 in London
607 reviews
0.1 km away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#646 of 1,089 in London
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#550 of 1,089 in London
564 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#481 of 1,089 in London
471 reviews
0.1 km away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#883 of 1,089 in London
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The perfect place to stay during your visit in London. Very nice neighborhood, a personal favourite, with nice cafes and restaurants. A very nice walk to Hyde Park is recommended or to Oxford Street for those shopping lovers, both are walking distance away. Rooms have been upgraded and there is always someone to help. The price is very low, for what you get, so be sure to check us out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shakespeare Hotel

Address: 22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $120 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shakespeare Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn London
Shakespeare Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shakespeare Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Shakespeare Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No comments”
 of 5 bubbles srsaliba, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are looking for just a bed and breakfast in order to have a look at London I fully suggest this hotel- otherwise find an alternative”
 of 5 bubbles 915anthonyt, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are small!”
 of 5 bubbles Elise4992, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“downstairs seemed to have bigger rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles teresamullingar099, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the ground floor”
  • View from the room on the ground floor
 of 5 bubbles vavrovamonika, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5