We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN The Cromwell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 866: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We found this hotel vey good value . Warm and cosy and comfortable bed, quiet and good sleep, clean, great shower and toiletries, Room was not huge but very adequate and nice TV , table and chairs . We had no problems with tea/coffee and biscuit facilities and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good, fresh juice, fruit and cereal, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylviaatdurham
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is an absolute delight reading your very complimentary comments about the staff and the service that you received whilst staying with us. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Take Care, Nicki

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We booked using our frequent stay points at best western group and were very disappointed. The room was tiny, located in the basement below street level and was extremely small for a 4 star establishment. The bathroom was unable to accommodate the filling of a kettle for tea due to the sink being smaller than the kettle, the sink with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crawford S
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apology for the problems you experienced during your recent stay with us. I thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to bring these matters of concern to our attention. I would like to thank you for your comments with regards to the kettle, I will look into replacing this with a...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was my second (and last) stay at this hotel. The previous time I did not sample the breakfast - this time I did and this is the reason for no return. Scrambled eggs - like dish rags; bacon - overcooked and shrivelled up; beans - congealed. Cutlery was not on tables, you had to help yourself to this. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew40
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was very sorry to learn of your experience and dissatisfaction following your visit. Please accept my apology on behalf of the team for not meeting your expectations. Guests are asked on departure how their stay was, with the hope that all comments/complaints are resolved prior to our...

Sheffield
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a few times for business stays in London. Since I often dont have much more than a weeks notice of when I need to be in London, I can usually rely on The Cromwell to have availability at a reasonable rate that fits within my company's £150 a night limit. The rooms I've had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uratargetmarket
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and four star review. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, and found us to be good value for money in all areas. I am pleased that you enjoyed our central location and found our reception team to be friendly and helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night staff very friendly and helpful. Had a nice quiet room but couldnt get temp right. Very clean throughout. Breakfast was lots of choice and fresh would stay again. Round the corner to natural history museum and tube

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madlizzie04
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words and providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us at the Best Western The Cromwell. I am glad to hear that your experience was a positive one, made so by our ideal location in the heart of Kensington and our friendly staff who strive in making each guest’s stay an...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed here the better part of the week in January. When reviewing hotels it's important to try to stay objective. If your expectations are for a 5 star or even full 4 star experience you will be somewhat disappointed. However, if you are looking for a great deal while vacationing in London, this is the place for you. First, let's...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank onepoet
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to express my thanks for taking the time to write this review and sharing your experience at our hotel. I am glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay and that the location of the hotel was perfect for your needs. The room size does vary within the hotel due to the layout of the...

York
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We booked a room for the evening in January 2013. On arrival we were told we had been allocated a larger room. The room was tiny and in the basement with no natural light. This also faced the main road so was noisy. The room service menu was dire and consisted of three sandwiches. There was no water in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J02003
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. Best Western The Cromwell is a four star guest accommodation and it is unfair to compare us to a four star hotel facilities. I am however disappointed that we did not meet you expectations. I hope you will visit us again. I...

stratford-upon-avon
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location of you want to explore the natural history or science museums, or the v and a. Also, due to its proximity to the tube, and buses, it would be equally suitable for staying for a west end show or just simply as a base for exploring London. TIP it costs £4.50 single to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank claire g
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that in particular you found the staff to be amazing. I feel really proud that our team exceeded your expectations. I agree, the hotel is excellently located in terms of tourist attractions,...

Reviewed 17 January 2013

I've really enjoyed staying in this Hotel, everybody was smiling and kind, the room was big enough for two person, clean and new, the complementary breakfast was good as well, also the rate was convenient. For sure I'll return there in my next trip to London.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aledn
AndreLondon_England, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a response about your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for the nice response about our staff! I will sure pass your comments on to them. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the...

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We'd never been to the Royal Albert Hall before, so we booked tickets for the end of November to see 'Classical Spectacular' which turned out to be a great end to a Jubilee and Olympic year in the UK. Most of the crowd waived Union Jacks and sang along to "Rule Britannia" and we were treated to many other famous...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank globalcoachtours
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at Best Western The Cromwell. It is particularly rewarding for us to receive such positive feedback. It will be a pleasure for me to share your comments with the entire team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards, Nicki

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Double Room with Garden Terrace (24)
Viewed
Executive Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#406 of 1,080 in London
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Cromwell

Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Price Range: $137 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Cromwell staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5 months ago
over a year ago
Los Angeles, California
3 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Cromwell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I book the hotel the day that I need it. I save half the price! If you are adventure enough to try this trick. I used booking.com”
 of 5 bubbles marikitn2016, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure that you do not book a basement room.”
 of 5 bubbles divasboss, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Even though we where on the main road we got a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 314debbief, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“basement rooms have everyone walking passed to breakfast each morning and i imagine they are quite noisy”
 of 5 bubbles slacey81, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“At the back of the hotel, not facing on to the very busy Cromwell Road is certainly the quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewJ887, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay