Montcalm Piccadilly Townhouse
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Montcalm Piccadilly Townhouse

65-73 Shaftesbury Avenue, London W1D 6EX England
Personal touch that is a feature of this hotel.
Traveller (696)
Panorama at The Piccadilly London West End
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (391)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#60 of 1,138 hotels in London
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Modern hotel; multilingual staff; situated in the heart of theatre land; near Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square; restaurants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian

Location

65-73 Shaftesbury Avenue, London W1D 6EX England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
12.7 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
22.9 km
See all flights
Leicester Square
4 minUnderground
2,076Reviews55Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,719
  • 252
  • 68
  • 24
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Stella J wrote a review Mar 2020
Lichfield Uk199 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel due to its location near to the theatre we were visiting for a birthday treat. There were very few people staying due to the Coronavirus problem but we were greeted with a glass of Prosecco & when we mentioned my birthday we were given an upgraded room. Unfortunately later that day the Prime Minister announced that people should avoid going to the theatre & half an hour before the show was due to start it was cancelled. The hotel staff were very kind & sympathetic . Next morning at breakfast we were invited to have a full cooked breakfast even though we had only continental breakfast included in our rate. Despite visiting at such a difficult time the service could not have been better & if the world ever gets back to normal we will definitely stay again !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GurdeepPiccadilly, Hotel Manager at Montcalm Piccadilly Townhouse
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear Jorich, On behalf of the team here at The Piccadilly London West End, thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review. We are pleased to hear that your stay comfortable and enjoyable and our facilities and services met your expectations. We are very proud of our team here at The Piccadilly London West End and we ensure all our guests receive a high standard of service with attention to detail. The location of the hotel is ideal for the leisure traveller with Piccadilly Circus & Leicester square underground Station just a few minutes away for quick and easy access around the city and within short distance of many of London's must-see sights and department stores just a short journey away. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seeing Scenic wrote a review Feb 2020
Kent, United Kingdom26 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently booked myself and my partner into this hotel for our anniversary. I notified the hotel to let them know the occasion and to see if there was anything they could do to make our stay extra special.

Upon arrival, the reception staff were incredibly helpful and kind - Welcomed us and wished us a happy anniversary. The on duty manager Luca personally came over to welcome us and informed us that he had given us a complimentary upgrade to a four poster room to make our stay extra special, What an incredibly kind gesture that was totally unexpected.

We made our way to our room, and when entering noticed that they had even placed rose petals, flowers and balloons in our room which was just the most amazing thing. It made us feel like we were the most important guests in the entire hotel - Something you seldom find these days. Everytime we walked past reception we were greeted warmly by the staff, nothing seemed to much trouble at all. Truly an above and beyond 5* service.

Location of the hotel speaks for itself - You are literally in the epicentre of west end, minutes away from the best west end has to offer. Opposite china town and soho.. Location is the very best money can buy.

Hotel itself is very modern and comfortable, quiet and clean..Undeniably this hotel know's its strenghts and it plays to them.

Like all the best shows in the West End, The Picadilly London deserves a round of applause and to take a bow because they have mastered their art.

We'll be back for sure, In fact I wouldn't stay anywhere else now on west end.. Just a perfect experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Four poster rooms are every bit as classy as you would expect!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GurdeepPiccadilly, Hotel Manager at Montcalm Piccadilly Townhouse
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear Christian T , Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor I was over the moon to read of your experience and am glad that you had a five star experience as well as the attentive service that we provide, as this is what we truly strive for at The Piccadilly London West End Thank you also for mentioning the very helpful staff that you came across . We are indeed as you had pointed out in the heart of London. We are centrally located for exploring all parts of London attractions as you mentioned via tube, bus, or train. From the moment our guest walk out from our hotel , they relish all the major attractions London has to offer. I am ecstatic that you had found us the best and truly look forward to welcoming you back very soon on your next trip to London . Kind Regards ,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandy wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thanks for a wonderful stay. It was our anniversary and we were upgraded to a four poster room, very romantic with rose petals and balloons in the room. The hotel staff cant do enough to help and all are very friendly. The location of this hotel is just perfect for theatreland, Chinatown, Leicester square and Covent garden. Our theatre was literally steps away from the hotel. Continental breakfast is a little underwhelming a d doesn't reflect the standards of the hotel. We booked through booking.com and paid extra for breakfast but then found out breakfast was complimentary. Would've expected a hot breakfast for paying extra for it. Other than that, this hotel is excellent and can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GurdeepPiccadilly, Hotel Manager at Montcalm Piccadilly Townhouse
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Dear Largeginand, On behalf of the team here at The Piccadilly London West End, thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review. We are pleased to hear that your stay comfortable and enjoyable and our facilities and services met your expectations. We are very proud of our team here at The Piccadilly London West End and we ensure all our guests receive a high standard of service with attention to detail. The location of the hotel is ideal for the leisure traveller with Piccadilly Circus & Leicester square underground Station just a few minutes away for quick and easy access around the city and within short distance of many of London's must-see sights and department stores just a short journey away. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caroline wrote a review Feb 2020
Ludlow, United Kingdom24 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great Prosecco welcome and lovely staff. Very comfortable beds and large, clean room. However, I do not feel that the hotel was worth the £250 paid for one night. I realize that you pay for location but there were just a couple of things that could, in my opinion, be improved.
1. We had to wait in a queue for breakfast.
2. The continental breakfast included in the price was poor with little choice and uncovered food which guests were picking up with their hands. Some guests were offered cooked food off the menu free of charge by the waiting staff!
I also feel that in the current circumstance surrounding the Coronavirus it is not appropriate to be letting customers into the breakfast room who were very obviously ill. There should be some kind of control over this. Breakfast is available as room service, so why not offer them this? It was very uncomfortable sitting in such a small room with them, for everyone.
Nice touch on departure with the staff going outside and hailing a cab!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona B wrote a review Dec 2021
15 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel from the out side said it all sleazy the cupboard the offered up then the next cupboard the oh shock an update grade for an extra £90 with a cheap bottle of plonk. The bathroom was dirty house Keeping should be fired it was dirty. The quilt in side the quilt cover was all stained and dirty my dogs bed is cleaner.
The customers what where coming in there well said it all it was like a knocking shop.
I wouldn’t expect my worse enemy to stay in dirty bedding it’s that bad thank god I brought a full length coat
Single couple or family don’t come here.
The receptionist looked at me like I’d come off a street corner. Sorry but Iv never been in the gutter and been so insulted in all my life.
She should us where we could eat breakfast oh well yes that was very uninviting it looked disgusting.
The lift was tired old and Staff wore there masks under there noses and where not enforcing customers to wear there’s even though the government has advised it and this is why the country is in a mess with people like these in this hotel not wearing masks.
If you’ve any brains don’t stay here at all I would not pay the £30 for a dirty quilt cover hairs in the bed and quilts dirty ik a cover I’d of binned that years ago: clearly there’s no pride or hygiene standards if you stay here
You your brain and money wisely and avoid this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fizzys2014 wrote a review July 2021
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom20 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a very good central location hotel directly opposite China Town. Although being on a the busy Shaftesbury Ave brings noise all night long so we all had difficulty sleeping.
Unfortunately there is still no restaurant or bar open (July 2021) so there are no hotel amenities at all.

Breakfast is still room service - not hot food just cereal and toast but certainly wasn’t very appealing - milk for cereal is served to you already poured into a Tupperware container (same as you get your Takeaway Chinese in) so you needed to tip in the cereal provided!! Why they couldn’t provide milk cartons ??? Cold soft toast in a paper bag - (no plates or bowls because of Covid 🙄) we gave it a miss and decided to find somewhere for breakfast.

Sadly although the location is great, we wouldn’t rush back during the summer as the prices do not reflect the lack of amenities currently available.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ieva Vi wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great and friendly staff, amazing atmosphere, cozy and very clean - especially at these times. Water on arrival, the staff asked if we have face covering mask, as they can provide you one for free, as well as hand sanitizer gel. Staff members were welcoming and always helpful. Thank you Marcel, Aaron, Slav and Gurdeep for great service! I will definitely recommend this hotel for my friends.
Best Wishes
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: 302 is the best Four poster room with amazing bathtub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nikki L wrote a review May 2022
Stafford, United Kingdom48 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for two nights in a twin room on the first floor. The hotel is in a superb location, literally minutes walk from restaurants, theatres, tube, Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our bags were taken to our room whilst we were at the theatre. The hotel and our room were spotless, and our room had everything you could wish for including complimentary fruit & bottled water, Elemis bath products, robes and slippers. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of continental options as well as usual cooked breakfast.
Every time we came back to the hotel we were greeted by the reception staff and asked about our day. Even when we checked out it was no trouble to store our bags. Thank you to Francesca, Meena & Julie for making our stay such a lovely, memorable experience. Can’t wait to come again!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Piccadilly London West End, Guest Services / Front Office at Montcalm Piccadilly Townhouse
Responded 24 May 2022
Dear 690nikkil, Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback about your time with us, and I am delighted that all areas met your expectations. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed staying in our beautiful and centrally-located Hotel in the heart of London's West End, surrounded by nice restaurants, shops and theatres. We also appreciate your feedback about the room features. We take pride in our standards of service and having the facilities and amenities in place goes a long way to ensuring our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay on each visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay. Sincerely Yours, Daniela Tapoi Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
454katy wrote a review Mar 2020
Witham, United Kingdom3 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Would stay here again.

e room was lovely - clean and comfy - and we were upgraded without having asked.

The location is excellent and very central, but this does mean you will need to be prepared for some noise from outside at night.

There are not enough seats in the restaurant for the number of guests (which they did not tell us at check-in), so my advice would be to arrange to have breakfast in your room. When we expressed some concerns about the breakfast experience the Manager dealt with these quickly and efficiently.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GurdeepPiccadilly, Hotel Manager at Montcalm Piccadilly Townhouse
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear 454katy, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit. It is such a pleasure to hear your feedback with regards to the service delivered by our dedicated team, who work so hard to create wonderful memories for all our guests. We are so pleased to know that you were able to make the most of our excellent location. We hope to welcome you back again to The Piccadilly London West End very soon. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James C wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I travelled to London to celebrate her birthday and our anniversary which fall on the same week so we decided to see a show on the West End and we are so glad we chose to stay in The Piccadilly. We arrived early in the morning so our room was not ready but we were able to check in our bags immediately allowing us to see the sights while we waited. When we were able to go to our room we were blown away. We were greeted with balloons, a small dessert and a bottle of prosecco, and the bed was decorated beautifully making this experience particularly memorable. The room was quite spacious, the bed was so comfartable that we almost missed an attraction we had booked due to us wanting to sleep in and the room was absolutely spotless.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful from the minute we booked online and I cannot praise them enough!

Would highly recommend The Piccadilly, between the location and the price you really cannot go wrong!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Piccadilly London West End, Guest Services / Front Office at Montcalm Piccadilly Townhouse
Responded 13 Feb 2023
Dear 13785RWjamesc, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and most importantly that every single member of the team took such great care of you. In particular the guest experience team, who arranged a lovely room with decorations & amenities in the room. Thank you also for your feedback about the room. I have shared your comments with everyone, and they are absolutely delighted with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, Daniela Tapoi Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$409 - AU$704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western london, london best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shaftesbury Premier London Piccadilly Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSoho
NUMBER OF ROOMS
67
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MONTCALM PICCADILLY TOWNHOUSE - 2024 Prices & Reviews (London, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Piccadilly London West End
Which popular attractions are close to The Piccadilly London West End?
Nearby attractions include National Gallery (0.4 km), Strawberry Tours (0.2 km), and Comedy Carnival Covent Garden (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Piccadilly London West End?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Piccadilly London West End?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Piccadilly London West End?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Piccadilly London West End?
Conveniently located restaurants include Scarlett Green, Chop Chop, and Green Bar at Hotel Café Royal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Piccadilly London West End?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Piccadilly London West End have airport transportation?
Yes, The Piccadilly London West End offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Piccadilly London West End?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Piccadilly London West End?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Piccadilly London West End?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.5 km), Tower of London (3.9 km), and Churchill War Rooms (1.1 km).
Is The Piccadilly London West End accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near The Piccadilly London West End
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars