We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle City Barbican

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thistle City Barbican
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,858 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,495: English reviews
Start your review of Thistle City Barbican
 Click to rate
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My partner and I booked a great deal with the hotel and tickets to the London Dungeons combined. We arrived too early to check in but put our luggage in hotel storage and went out for the rest of the afternoon. When we returned, Christina checked us in and gave us information about upgrading our room for either an extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samluck
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel is ok, location isn t great no where near central london, swimming pool was filthy jaccuzzy din t work, changing room very dirty!!!!! Under referbishment, hotel staff were nice but not spa, i wouldn t recommend that swimming pool to any one

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Didi D
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

In summary, best not. At first, just tatty and bit musty smelling, with an unquaint, untouched 1970s feel. A bit quirky, e.g. interesting mounting of the loo roll holder on the wall behind the loo door, took a while to find that one. But nothing you wouldn't expect from a hotel that's half the price of those a few hundred...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Be
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. I am aware that earlier this month there was a power surge in the local area which impacted the supply of power to some of the bedrooms. In...

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night with family as had stayed here previously. Booked advance rate and paid months in advance therefore checked in happy that room all paid for (will get to that later). Checked in online and wish I hadn't as reception didn't have a clue when we arrived and could not find me on there system. Finally she checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 54stevejones
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. Please accept my apologies for the issue with the rate you were quoted and the subsequent charge of £7. As you quite rightly point out the rate should be the rate you were quoted of £166 and once the booking is...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed in the Thistle City Barbican on a recent work trip to London. It's a pretty strange hotel as its split across two buildings. As we checked in their was lemon and water available which was a nice touch considering we had just been powering through the city centre. However, when we were given our room key it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha P
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel has a number of facilities including a restaurant, 2 bars, leisure club with pool and an award winning...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a bit of confusion when I first arrived home the hotel for my check in! My company paid for me to stay in this hotel for a couple of nights and when I first arrived to check myself in is where the nightmare started. First of all let's start with the reception which is for me the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabio s
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. With regards to the complimentary mini bar and Nespresso machine this is only included in our Premium King bedrooms. In order for me to investigate the issues with...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights in a premium double room. The room was fully equipped with all necessities, including hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The room was clean though the decor was a little dated. Also the air conditioning didn't quite cool down the whole room as much as I would have liked. The view (or lack thereof) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sadia M
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. I was also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, we really do feel as though this is a great way to start the...

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

Comforgtable hotel with friendly staff in a virbrant and artisan area. Bathrooms a bit small for 2 people but apart from that I would recommend this hotel to others and I would return to stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carole t
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel is located within easy reach of the vibrant and trendy Hoxton and Shoreditch. I look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for an evening to go to the theatre. A bit of a walk from the tube station to get in to central London, but only took 20 mins. Hotel was lovely and clean, hotel rooms a good size but you can hear everything in your rooms, but of a pain if your staying more then one evening. Maids...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slmo
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you. As you mention the hotel his about a 10 minute walk from Old Street, Barbican and Angel underground stations. I look forward to...

Kiruna, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was booked by my assistant because it was close to my office. I have spent there 7 nights but it was enough. The lobby looked fine and the reception team was kind but the hotel itself was disappointing. According to the pictures I expected something better. The hotel has 2 wings and my room was nothing but different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SZKE
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address below. Kind regards,...

443 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (402)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (195)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#450 of 1,089 in London
606 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#296 of 1,089 in London
504 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#643 of 1,089 in London
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $159 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Rotterdam
21 days ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Sam_Be, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the boiler room that is 1508”
 of 5 bubbles 54stevejones, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Smallish double room for 2 people but we managed and when we asked for extra toiletries and towels etc they were delivered with speed and a friendly smile”
 of 5 bubbles carolet976, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles katiesH6269IB, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“make sure you are not at the back”
 of 5 bubbles fileswood, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5