We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle City Barbican

Booking.comUSD 132*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 156*
USD 132*
USD 156*
USD 132*
USD 156*
USD 132*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle City Barbican
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,943 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,561: English reviews
Start your review of Thistle City Barbican
 Click to rate
Hawick
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for one night with a group of work collegues, what can I say? The place is fab and the staff are great and friendly. I would defo recommend staying here. Close to all that is needed. My only complaint would be that the hotel ws very warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxiboy71
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My organisation booked me into this hotel whilst I was attending a training course. Check in was fine, however finding the room was tricky due to the rabbit warren of corridors. I was accommodated in the second building, which some reviewers referred to as terrible (they weren't joking either). I was allocated a single room. Now this would not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarlsViews
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address below. Kind regards,...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a party scene, center of attention, and the touristy convenience, then this is not a place for you. The hotel sits on a local residential block. Quiet, friendly and accessible. There are some local cafe and restaurants right across the street. A convenience store is about half block away. Hotel staff are professional, friendly, helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ching R
UK
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Needed one night in London on business and chose this as being the cheapest option within walking distance of the office. Firstly, the good points. Check-in was great with a very helpful and friendly young lady who explained everything very well. Check-out was also quick and easy. Breakfast the following morning was also pretty decent with a good selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil25
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address below. Kind regards,...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights for business. My room was pre paid but they did not have it on their system and told me to check out the first morning and then check back in again when I could 'prove' it was paid for - which it was. Some staff were lovely - we were leaving too early for breakfast and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, for the best deals including free breakfast, please visit our website. Kind regards, Paul Knightley, General Manager, Thistle City Barbican Shoreditch, paul.knightley@thistle.co.uk

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just the one night, thankfully, and found the overall experience pretty average at best. The room was very small, the bathroom whilst clean was very tied and dated and bed was fine. I understand there are two buildings to the property and I clearly was in the older one. The images on the website grossly exaggerate the standard so expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan R
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address below. Kind regards,...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had the "opportunity" to spend 2 nights at this hotel. Wouldn't recommend the place to anyone... The building is old and would need a good amount of money to make it bearable. The room I stayed in had no air conditioning. Which would be fine, but I couldn't even open the window. See the photo showing the sticker... What...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SzaVi
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had an unenjoyable stay with us. In order for me to investigate the issues with your stay further I would be grateful if you could contact me on the email address below. Kind regards,...

Annan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in as a party of 10 and was seamless. Reception area was nice and helpful (sorted taxis and things for us). Rooms are basic but clean, you got free wifi which is always great when travelling on business. Unusual though not to have sockets by the bed so charging my phone across the room. Rooms were small but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crowesnest16
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and the team looked after you. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offering, we really do feel as though this is a great way to start...

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were attending an event at Sea Containers, so were looking for a hotel within a couple of miles of Blackfriars Bridge. Price-wise, Thistle City Barbican was much of a muchness with similar hotels in the area, so was chosen "on the toss of a coin". We were lucky to get one of the on-site parking spaces (there are only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJFfinch
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, for the best deals including free breakfast, please visit our website....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went with my wife for a night to this hotel is a nice hotel a little dated possibly because i was in a standard room i think. The pool is nice so is the sauna and the bar staff were very friendly. Its worth a stay if you get a special deal like i did and paid £65 for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arnoldzimuto
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at the Thistle City Barbican Hotel. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, for the best deals including free breakfast, please visit our website....

478 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (437)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (207)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#441 of 1,064 in London
630 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,064 in London
529 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#686 of 1,064 in London
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $142 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Guernsey, United Kingdom
26 days ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle City Barbican staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to stay in the main building”
467evanr, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“avoid this hotel like the plague”
tinamariaglover, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for pictures for the exact type of room you will be staying in and size of it, avoid the building without the lobby at all costs”
zIVI0, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“ein anderes Hotel”
OlivZack, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Premium rooms have air conditioning.”
  • Comfortable bed
  • Sort of city view.
  • Desk/TV
  • Spacious room, nice carpet.
  • Pleasant ambience to room.
  • Functional bathroom
C6631CHmartinw, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 132* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 132
PricelineUSD 132
HotelQuicklyUSD 156
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates