We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Academy

Agoda.comUSD 146*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 180*
USD 146*
Great Deal
USD 152*
USD 152*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Academy
The Academy
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 672: English reviews
Start your review of The Academy
 Click to rate
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location near universities, good restaurants, shops, and right next to the British Museum. Walking distance to Trafalgar Square, and really can go anywhere in London as it is right between the Goodge Station Tube stop and the Russell Square tube stop and across the street is a bus line. The hotel itself is clean, the bathroom is good, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mfahant
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is fine, however the rooms are quite small. There was no clothes dresser so we had to live out of the suitcases for a week. There was not even a small table and only one chair. The floor was slated three or four inches from the outside wall to the hall. The bath had a tub, sink and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cotton S
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location of the hotel is quite good in relation to being central for London and it is not too far from Goodge Street underground station. We arrived early and received a pleasant friendly greeting from the receptionist. As expected, we were informed that our room wasn't ready but we could leave our bags and they would be in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Roy B, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are due to undergo a major refurbishment during the summer where the issues you raised will be addressed. Due to us being a Grade II listed building and the layout of the hotel means that we are unable to have lifts installed. As we are unable to have lifts we do offer a 24 hour concierge who...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Very cosy and clean. The room is super big and it really comes with 4star delights. The guy at the reception was extremely nice. I would definitely choose this place again. It's close to some super nice eating and shopping places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruxandra P
Roy B, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the staff to be nice. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your review.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I booked a night away in London and a show for our 1 year anniversary. I came across the Academy through the endless searches of Hotels in the area and i'm glad i did. It was lovely and made the trip feel a bit more special. After the 6 hour coach drive down and what felt like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogersvictoria
Roy B, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us whist celebrating your 1st anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back soon or indeed to celebrate your 2nd year. From myself and the team here at The Academy Hotel we wish you both well during the coming year. Thank you for your review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a single overnight while on a business trip in London in April 2017. I thought I'd try an individual hotel rather than a chain. The hotel seems to be a row of original houses knocked into one with multiple staircases, interconnecting doors etc. The good: Location - within walking distance of lots of areas of the West End....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
Roy B, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are due to undergo a major refurbishment program where all your issues raised will be addressed. Whilst we appreciate our rooms are in different houses our 24 hour concierge (Bell Boys) are here to show all guests to their rooms and help with luggage as we do not have any lifts within the building. We hope to...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night with two of my colleagues. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location is great accessible by walk from the metro station. The center is close only 12min. The well furnished room (safe, fridge, room service, coffee machine...) has a lot of space and organized on 2 floors. The bathroom was large....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sevrine B
Roy B, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your review.

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The style of the rooms is elegant classic heritage London and it is appealing. The beds large and comfy. Tea and nespresso facilities and nice amenities in the bathroom. BUT the room was so hot the only way to cool it down was via the ac being on full which I don't like as it gives me a dry mouth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
Roy B, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you had an interrupted sleep during your sty with us. We are due to undergo a major refurbishment program where the issues raised will be addressed. We do hope to welcome you back in the future to experience the newly renovated Academy.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fundamentally this has everything a hotel needs. I usually stay in a IHG hotel and I have to say this was not at that level. The staff were very helpful but the room was extremely small and was really noisy from both the road and inside the hotel. A central London hotel with single glazed sash windows on a main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrew c
Roy B, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are aware that the single room that you stayed in is awaiting the new secondary glazing to be installed. Once this has been completed it will alleviate the traffic noise from outside. Whilst the Room Service menu is available in your room, it is also able to be taken in either the...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night in a single room which was at the top of some stairs in what appeared to be an attic room. Check in was confusing as I had to confirm that breakfast was included. The room had a window with a view blocked by a parapet wall going a very limited view. The facilities were adequate and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parcelie
Roy B, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Due to the design of the Hotel, unfortunately not all room have a view and we are sorry that on this occasion your room had a limited view. We have sent your review to our Front Office department to see how these issues arose upon your check in and they will implement additional training where needed. We hope...

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Single Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#543 of 1,063 in London
344 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#381 of 1,063 in London
948 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,063 in London
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#337 of 1,063 in London
2,043 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#292 of 1,063 in London
785 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#484 of 1,063 in London
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $203 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London
Hotel Style:
#331 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Academy staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Academy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can't walk up stairs ask for a ground floor room.”
mfahant, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the street!”
303cottons, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the back of the building away from the Gower Street noise. I recommend requesting a room not facing the road.”
molliew452, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Requests for courtyard rooms, no traffic. Ground floor room is a help as there is no lift, however there are porters available.”
christinat808, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had one at the back with a great bathroom - Kingston Suite? Down the stairs to it's bathroom!”
SeanHumby, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 146* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 152
PricelineUSD 152
HotelQuicklyUSD 180
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates