We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Horseguards

Show Prices
#98 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Horseguards
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Horseguards
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,911: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Having stayed many times before, we new the hotel wouldn't let us down. Unfortunately because I left it late to book, had an internal room with no view. We asked to be shown the last room with a view, for the fireworks and the reception staff were very accommodating But the suite on the 9th floor had such high windows,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LadyC25
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hi and thank you so much for the review! I’m delighted to know that you had another ‘great’ stay with us. My 5* team are ready at hand to ensure that that all your requirements are met so I am pleased that you found them accommodating. Yes, indeed New Year’s Eve is indeed a very busy time of the year...

San Antonio
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband I loved our stay! We had booked a room with a view of the city (less expensive than the view of the garden/river/London eye), but when we went to our room we saw that they had upgraded us to a view of the garden/river/london eye. We had mentioned that we were there for our honeymoon. In the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenav2017
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent Honeymoon visit with us! I am delighted that we were able to upgrade you one of our stylish River facing bedrooms. The spectacular views are best celebrated with a glass of bubbly and I am pleased that my fantastic team made this special occasion all the more memorable...

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Once again we had an excellent stay at our favourite London hotel. We spent two nights during the Christmas holiday to attend a concert at the Royal Albert Hall and enjoy festive London. As on our previous visits all the staff we met were helpful and friendly. Our room on the 9th floor had a great view of the city...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nwspm
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Welcome back! And thank you for confirming that we are your favourite London hotel! I am absolutely delighted to read that it was your third time staying with us and that you experienced faultless service on both occasions. Consistency in our standards and levels of service across the hotel is extremely important to our success and creating an enjoyable stay....

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Staying in the River view Waterloo Suite was a special treat over the Christmas period. Chosen mainly for it's location (no having to plan journeys to and from gatherings etc) this hotel really did go above and beyond. The location alone really will help you save time, money and energy whether you're popping out for dinner, seeing a show or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline W
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Happy New Year and thank you for your 5* review! Coupled with the famous Christmas lights in London and staying in our castle-like hotel, it sounds like your family had a memorable and magical Festive stay with us. I am delighted to know that you were treated to the luxury and opulence of our Waterloo Suite. On the top floor...

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my first time staying at the Royal Horseguards: Pros: Location, as it is close to all the main tourist attractions and underground station. View from room over the Thames was amazing, but you have to pay extra for it (see cons) Full English & Continental breakfast was included. There was a fairly wide selection of both hot &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreamrider21216
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for your review! I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the bedroom that was allocated to you. The views over the River Thames are indeed breathtakingly beautiful, especially so at night with our historic city lit up. Our picturesque castle like hotel is ideally located on Victoria Embankment which not only overlooks The...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoy staying at The Royal Horseguards, we find it to be a warm friendly hotel with lots of charm and personality and of course everything is always of a very high standard!! We stayed in room 818 which is classed as an Executive room with a river view - and what a view!! (From the London Eye to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnyboy1807
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hi and thanks you for your gracious review following your recent stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Our guests satisfaction is of the utmost importance so I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay in our beautiful Victorian hotel. The entire team are continually striving to exceed our guests expectations to make your stay truly 5...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in an Executive river view room which had amazing views. The room was very spacious with plenty of storage. The bed is large and comfortable. There is a docking station linked to the sound system for iPods however these are the old style connectors so you need an adapter. Also the large iPhones won't fit as the space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unionjacq
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your 5* review regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you liked your spacious well appointed River facing view bedroom. We do take pride in providing practical amenities and high end products for a proper pampered stay. It’s the little luxurious touches and attention to detail from our team...

Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted a hotel that was central yet offered a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of London life. This hotel fitted the bill. As soon as I walked in I felt relaxed and welcome, yet it is so close to all the main sights, offers a tube station a short walk away and a glorious view of the river...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amandavaleofglam
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5* review of your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. We are ideally centrally located in the heart of the city alongside the River Thames and only a stone’s throw away from London’s attractions such as Trafalgar Square, the Royal Horseguards Parade as well as Embankment tube station and the financial district of...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lady collister and I stayed here,between 7th January till the 9th.Upon arrive first impression the hotel was it was clean and friendly,and our room was smashing can't fault it at all,but one let down was that lady collister managed to rip a £10 in half and that morning the manager refused to change it, evidently he didn't know who we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lordcol
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the 5 star rating! Apologies that we were unable to change your ripped bank-note - however if you have a look on the Bank of England website there is more info on how to have the note replaced. I am however pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.We really do pride ourselves on our...

Berkshire, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night in room 112 on the first floor with a view of The London Eye. We had a competitive room only rate so felt we got value for money. However there were pros and cons: Pros: The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The mini bar was complimentary which was appreciated and tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RubyCurry
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review! I am happy to know that you enjoyed your beautifully appointed bedroom, including the plush amenities and complimentary mini-bar. It’s the little touches that we offer to ensure that our guests have an unforgettable visit. I am however sorry to know that you found your bathroom small. Not being a purpose built hotel a...

2,120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1527)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (261)
Viewed
View from Room (161)
Viewed
Room/Suite (370)
Viewed
Bathroom (116)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (545)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (527)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Executive Child Friendly Twin with Interconnecting King Room (63)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with River View (64)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with Street View (61)
Viewed
Executive KIng Room with Romantic Turndown (73)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
The Waterloo suite (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#14 of 1,080 in London
3,141 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#23 of 1,080 in London
2,304 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#39 of 1,080 in London
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#47 of 1,080 in London
4,300 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#11 of 1,080 in London
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: $333 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#86 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question
Ventura, California, United States
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Wakefield, United Kingdom

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the 7th floor and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles alpha43, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“River view is a must”
 of 5 bubbles Loredanacarter, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Waterloo Suite”
 of 5 bubbles 557carolinew, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a view of the Thames but know you'll have to pay for it.”
 of 5 bubbles M6664QJmarial, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“specify river view - definately worth it!”
  • view from room 520
 of 5 bubbles LSelvey, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay