We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Commodore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Commodore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 623: English reviews
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall very impressed the staff were pleasant and helpfull just a few minor points such as glasses were not replaced in the room and the seal on the shower screen had gone resulting in a flood in the bathroom

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Johnnymorris-66
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I had booked in fro 2 nights. Once checked in we were told that we had been upgraded to a better room. We thought this was great news until we opened the door to our "upgraded room". Filthy carpets Carpets didn't even reach the sideboards. Carpet outside the bathroom soaking wet. Room and corridor smells of damp.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank NathanG15052015

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made a mystery hotel through expedia and ended up with this hotel, not expecting that somewhere advertised as 4 star would turn out to have such shoddy reviews...I imagine capturing unsuspecting people through mystery deals like this must be the only source of bookings this hotel can get given the feedback about it. Acting on the feedback of other... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Antony R
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked into this hotel via friends choice.When we arrived our rooms were not ready as it was12.00 so we left our cases with the staff and checked in and was asked to pay up front. This was fine but before seeing the room etc I thought was a bit out of order. I was also informed I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lois P
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Barely more than a slum for high end prices. Definitely not the 4 stars given on booking.com. The smell in the rooms was terrible. Damp, musty, old and dirty. Cockroaches in the bathroom, black mould and ingrained dirt on the tiles and dead bugs on the blind. They advertise a restaurant and room service which doesn't exist. I booked 8... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank caroline b
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelling with work, booked it for the location. On arrival, some reception staff were less than competent in booking us in. Work had forward sent all credit card details/ forms which were requested. Hotel had limited knowledge of this in spite of us having e mails confirming all necessary information had been received. The room itself absolutely stunk of smoke... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel was great right on the edge of Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, we walked everywhere and the walks through the park were lovely. The hotel it's self looks nice from the outside and the lobby isn't too bad but the rest of the hotel is really shabby and run down. The rooms are dirty and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosey16
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosey, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am glad to hear that the location of the hotel was handy for you. I am truly sorry to learn about your experience and any shortcoming you had. We will work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We recently stayed at the Commodore Hotel while we were in London. The room we were given was clean and tidy however starting to show signs of wear and tear. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and appeared to have been recently renovated. I believe that the building because of it's age would have certain restrictions on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fleurby12
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fleurby12, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. Based on your review we believe that most of the issues that you have mentioned are either due to a misunderstanding or you are been misinformed or booking was mismanaged by your Online Booking Agent or Travel Agent. 1 - "charged not once but... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stayed for two nights - we had a view of the air conditioning and a ridiculous trek to get to our room. The breakfast area was to the same standard as a B&B - food was probably worse. For the cost of the stay, I would have got a better deal at the Thistle hotel just down the road. Location:... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joseph S, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We will work hard to fix the issues you had experienced. Thank you for letting us know. Kind Regards, Shahn Aliyar More 

Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I suffer from COPD and need oxygen 16 hours a day. I booked this hotel after going up to inspect t. I was pleased to see a ramp leading up to the entrance. I was informed by the night porter that the hotel had lifts to all floors, breakfast available from 7:30am everyday. When I came to stay I found... More 

Helpful?
Thank iain459
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iain459, Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit to the Commodore Hotel London. The Hotel's Main building has 02 Lifts that run up to the 6th Floor and access to the 7th Floor is through a staircase. The TownHouse Victorian side has no lift service due to... More 

326 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#377 of 1,078 in London
1,316 reviews
Henry VIII Hotel
#802 of 1,078 in London
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#546 of 1,078 in London
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $119 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#381 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commodore Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 554antonyr, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“find a room with a safe”
 of 5 bubbles 6jensa, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check room before accepting what is given.”
 of 5 bubbles 2niner, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor was less noisy we moved from the 3rd floor after first night”
 of 5 bubbles rosi254, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms need to be freshened up and redecorated. Carpets should be replaced.”
 of 5 bubbles clarem702, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay