Travelodge London Covent Garden
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Travelodge London Covent Garden

10 Drury Lane High Holborn, London WC2B 5RE England
Traveller (1295)
Beds comfortable and new.
Room & Suite (456)
Dining (57)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#465 of 1,129 hotels in London
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
An amazing hotel with multilingual staff located in the heart of the theatre land in the west end of London.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

10 Drury Lane High Holborn, London WC2B 5RE England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
12.2 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
23.5 km
See all flights
Covent Garden
4 minUnderground
14,092Reviews280Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4,996
  • 4,682
  • 2,331
  • 1,059
  • 1,029
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andrew B wrote a review Jan 2020
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom67 contributions34 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and we always find the rooms sparse compared to some other budget brandss. The bathroom looked a little tired, with missing screws from the peeling bath panel and a sink which had lost its sheen and had numerous scratches in it. The bath taps could have done with industrial descaler too. The amount of tea, coffee, milk and sweetners is not enough for an overnight stay (certainly no more than two drinks per person). There are also no drinking glasses in the room, and it would seem that two large bath towels are deemed sufficient for bathing, showeing and hair drying. And there was no bath mat for the floor - far from ideal when setting out of the bath/shower. That said, the room was quiet and comfortable for what we needed, which was somewhere to get ready for the new year's eve fireworks and have bed for the night. The hotel has access to an adjacent car park and the discounted rate provided by the hotel was a welcome when we checked out.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Horshamboy wrote a review Jan 2020
Horsham, United Kingdom259 contributions133 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelodge is usually our first option when staying in London due to reasonable cost and consistent quality, but after New Year 2020, Travelodge Covent Garden will definitely be our top choice.
As mentioned by many other reviewers, the location is excellent. The hotel is close to many pubs, restaurants and fast food eateries as well as multiple theatres, including the Royal Opera House, London Coliseum and Theatre Royal Drury Lane.
Ideal as a base for theatre, opera and ballet. It is also ideal as a base for central London due to proximity to Covent Garden, Leicester Square and Holborn underground stations offering access to the Piccadilly, Central and Northern Lines. King's Cross/St Pancras station is a short hop from Holborn underground.
The hotel is also in walking distance of Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden, Seven Dials, Chinatown and Piccadilly Circus.
We booked a 'super room' and would recommend the bit extra for an added level of comfort and space. Apart from location, all the staff we encountered were excellent. Despite the New Year crowds, the staff kept their composure and dealt with checking in and out efficiently. I would especially like to mention Darren and the security team for going the extra mile to make our New Year's Eve special.
We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the quality of the food, however it it worth noting that there is a wide choice of food and drink in the surrounding streets.
The hotel allows guests arriving early to leave luggage and check in later as well as leave luggage after checkout at no additional cost, which is great. Also, subject to availability, guests can request early check in and late check out for a nominal fee of £10.
Based on our experience of Travelodge in the past and our recent stay I would thoroughly recommend Travelodge Covent Garden as good value for money in London in an excellent location with great customer service. We will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Spend the bit extra for a superior room and ask for upper floors for potentially less noise,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ray L wrote a review Feb 2020
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here on the 25/01/2020 and can not fault this place. For central London the price is very reasonable.We had a Super room on the 4th floor and the noise was a minimum. The staff were out of this world very polite and seemed very happy to be there to take care of any of your needs. This has to be the best Travelodge we have every stayed in and would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in central London.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Misslouboutin19 wrote a review July 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom901 contributions852 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed in this hotel many years ago and chose it again due to its fantastic location. Got a taxi from kings cross and it was £15. Arrived at the hotel just after 2pm. Had paid for early check in on one of the rooms as I had a email to say they couldn’t store luggage due to covid. Also the day before had received a email to say the restaurant and bar would be closed. Was very disappointed on learning this at the last minute. The reception let us all check in to the two Rooms when we arrived which was very annoying as the £10 I had paid wasn’t needed for early check and they would have let us check in anyway. Our room was on the fourth floor and the other room was on the second floor at the other side of the hotel. On arrival the vending machines didn’t work. As there is no shops as such next to the hotel and the restaurant and bar were closed this wasn’t ideal. We got to the fourth floor and were immediately hit with this horrible musty smell in the corridor. Got in to room and was disappointed had booked a twin room this was a room with two single beds pushed together. The carpet has stains all over it. There was no hairdryer although there was a iron and ironing board. There was a kettle but the tea and coffee had no milk nor sugar. There is also no plug points next to the bed and the bed side lights did not work. The shower was prob the only good thing as it was powerful. Before arrival the day before we also got a email to say no maids would attend our room unless we stayed for 6 nights. That night my mum and dad who were on the second floor at the front of the hotel, were kept awake all night. There was a lot of noise at all hours from people in the hotel, people in the streets singing and shouting and also loud cars revving up and down the street. In the morning I went to reception to collect all our breakfast boxes which we had paid just over £5 for each person per day. These were the worst things I have ever had. We couldn’t get the milk open when we did it went all over us the milk and the cereal tasted horrible we didn’t have any sugar to make it better. The flapjack although big had no taste and the orange juice and croissant were standard. It was a total rip of for the price and the standard of the food was something I wouldn’t even give my dog. The second day I told reception we wouldn’t be having them that day or the next as not one of us enjoyed them. We were informed there was no refund and nothing could be done. The other problem was we only got two towels in our room so every day we had to go down and ask for towels and toilet roll. I wouldn’t stay here again unless the place was totally renovated, the WiFi improved, the restaurant was open and it would need to be that all our rooms were at the back of the hotel not the front. I think I’ll stick with premier inn as the rooms are far nicer and cleaner.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James from the Social Media Team UK, Other at Travelodge London Covent Garden
Responded 10 Sept 2020
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Covent Garden Hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. As your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ollie5959 wrote a review Feb 2020
Penzance, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location at very top end of Drury Lane (so not exactly Covent Garden) Hotel is very large and we have stayed there several times to discover that room quality is a lottery. Some are very poor, small and gloomy while others are very good. The "Super Rooms" option (at a premium) gives you a more reliable room. Breakfast was awful, an array of tired chewy and tasteless 'food'. There are good food options opposite the Hotel which are great quality and decent prices.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MoMckendrick1 wrote a review Jan 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom54 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent four nights here over new year and on the whole it was a great stay! We paid extra for a 'super room' and it was really nice. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, and pretty much all the amenities you'd expect in a modern hotel room. We would definitely stay in this hotel again. Really friendly staff and the location is second to none. A couple of pointers if I may. They have a check in system which does not allow staff to check people in until dead on two pm. This led to a huge queue at reception and very harassed staff (who were lovely, I should say!) Most hotels, if guests arrive a little early, will allow you to check in and leave your bag if the rooms not ready making life easier for staff and customers alike. Again, at check out, there was a massive queue which is unnecessary as the hotel doesn't run tabs or offer room service etc, so may a 'key drop' option could be offered. We ended up just handing our room card to a random member of staff. On new year's day, despite having put the 'clean our room' tag on the door, it wasn't straightened up - I know it was new years day so perhaps that was why. This led to us getting low on loo roll. On return to the hotel, the bar was empty with a member of staff standing unoccupied. We approached to ask if she could arrange for housekeeping to drop us up some loo roll only to be told we'd have to wait in the seemingly permanent queue at reception. Again, we asked a passing member of staff who very helpfully gave us an extra roll. Honestly, this hotel is SO close!! Cross training staff and sorting out the reception area would vastly improve the guest experience. But we will definitely use this as a base again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The super rooms were very nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kimberley P wrote a review Feb 2020
Chesterfield, United Kingdom52 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the hotel is excellent - short walk from Holborn station and Covent Garden with plenty of restaurants and bars around the hotel itself. We booked a plus room and although not too much difference it was worth it as the rooms looked like they had been redecorated, coffee machine good and kit kats! We were there for 3 nights so put the service tag on each morning and the rooms were made up each day and everything replenished. The only slight annoyance was they only left one small hand towel each time with the two big towels so had to ask for another every day at reception. But was always handed one straight away. Would definitely stay here again and you know you're always getting a clean and modern room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel P wrote a review Jan 2020
Marlow, United Kingdom7 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid £200 for a standard double room on New Year’s Eve and it is fair to say that Travelodge is no competition for Premier Inn. Basics such as a hairdryer, a bathmat and a hand towel are not routinely supplied and have to be requested and collected from reception. The kettle worked but two teabags and no biscuits could never be described as a warm welcome.
The bed was comfortable but not king sized as described. The bathroom had not been properly cleaned and there were residues of hair and dirt in the basin and brown splash marks on the surrounding tiles. The soap dispenser by the sink was empty on arrival which I ignored, a decision I later regretted when the soap dispenser in the shower inconveniently ran out while taking a shower. There are no phones in the rooms so the options at this dripping wet and soapless point are limited.
At breakfast (£9.25 each) one of the hot drinks machines stopped working and a long queue formed at the other while the orange juice machine also ran out of orange juice.
The hotel is a perfect location for London theaters, Soho and Covent garden and the staff are very polite and friendly and doing their best with requests for basics such as soap and dealing with failing breakfast machinery. I accept that its normal to pay more for a hotel room on New Year’s Eve in a capital city but with all the shortcomings in hygiene and supply of basics, it made the stay seem so much less value for money than you would expect even from a budget hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, James from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Covent Garden
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Covent Garden Hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. As your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveandJude wrote a review Jan 2020
Downham Market, United Kingdom49 contributions68 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to London for a show, an evening meal and the fireworks. I chose a travel lodge as they have a universal default setting and the Covent Garden branch as everything was within walking distance. You don't expect the Ritz, but at £200 + you do expect to be comfortable. Our room was cold, there was no remote for the TV and the duvet was very, very thin. Fortunately the staff were wonderful and despite it being new years eve they got us a replacement heater, eventually sorted out a working remote and gave us a second duvet. The breakfast was, well greasy but edible. The Orange juice however was sooooooo diluted everybody (including us) left it and replaced it with the apple juice. It said on the dispenser 100% fresh juice, it wasn't !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeM1979 wrote a review Feb 2020
Stamford, United Kingdom141 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Covent Garden Travelodge for 2 nights on business.
The hotel is approx a 5 minute walk from the Covent Garden tube station.
Reception staff were friendly. It’s quite a big hotel, I was on the 6th floor. My room was spacious and well equipped. Bed linen and towels were clean, tv and iron are provided and I was able to collect a hairdryer from reception.
The lady Manager was super friendly sky and accommodating when I requested some hot milk to take up to bed. The night barman was professional and also accommodating with my hot milk request on night 2.
Annoyingly there are no power sockets by the bed so charging your phone overnight has to be done at a distant, which is a little irritating when your alarm goes off in the morning!
Breakfast was good and plentiful, with staff leading away plates after use.
The corporate rate paid was £116 per night which is fairly reasonable for central London.
Overall a good stay and I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Steph2558
Plymouth, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes there was air con
Answer from Geoff T
Doncaster, United Kingdom164 contributions21 helpful votes
We come from oop North so arrive at King's Cross. We walked down to the hotel but stopped in Russell Square for coffee. We go to the Smoke quite frequently and don't try to pack in too many events . Coming down on the train we get alot of 2 4 1 offers. Have a great time .
CA asked a question Feb 2024
80 contributions2 helpful votes
Are lifts very small and claustrophobic? How many people do they hold?
CA asked a question Feb 2024
80 contributions2 helpful votes
Can you open the guest room windows?
Stephen D wrote a tip 18 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book now. It’s a great place to stay in central London. "
Read full review
Donna E wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing the back are quieter!"
Read full review
Tracey C wrote a tip Apr 2024
10 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 550 was small and gloomy. Steps up to front entrance."
Read full review
FJE2011 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Rouen, France2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast is busy. Go early "
Read full review
Marion A wrote a tip Apr 2024
Kent51 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are quite a few steps to gain entrance at the front and side entrances. Although in a good location I don't think it's good value."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$166 - AU$347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge london covent garden hotel london, travelodge covent garden, travel lodge covent garden, drury lane hotel, london travel lodge, london travelodge, travel inn covent garden
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonCovent Garden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
463
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE LONDON COVENT GARDEN (AU$166): 2024 Prices & Reviews (England) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge London Covent Garden
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge London Covent Garden?
Nearby attractions include The British Museum (0.5 km), Covent Garden (0.4 km), and Comedy Carnival Covent Garden (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge London Covent Garden?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, breakfast buffet, and internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge London Covent Garden?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge London Covent Garden?
Conveniently located restaurants include Uzumaki London, Bloomsbury Street Kitchen, and Drury 188-189.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge London Covent Garden?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.8 km), Tower of London (3.4 km), and Churchill War Rooms (1.5 km).
Is Travelodge London Covent Garden accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Travelodge London Covent Garden
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars