We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Russell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expert photos
Hotel Russell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,860 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Russell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,379: English reviews
liverpool
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed recently for london palladium sho w, Dame Edna ,room 218 rear of hotel was just fine,staff lovely,breakfast great choice,altogether a nice place to stay. My wife and I have visited this hotel three times in the last few years an each time we have been delighted with our stay. Thankyou to all of you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cards091
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a lovely stay with us. We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that we have achieved this on many occasions for you. We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to...

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have just had a weekend at the hotel. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The concierge from Kenya is a lovely man. The rooms are good, the Tempus bar is good but not quite enough seats on the Saturday night when we returned to the hotel as it was very busy. The breakfast is excellent. Good choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre B
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that this was the case for you and your daughter. Please be assured that your very kind comments...

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My daughter and I won a night's stay in this hotel. We had a super time. The interior of the hotel is fascinating as the designer also designed the Titanic. The restaurant is nearly identical to that on the ship. We had a really good meal there, for no more than any London restaurant. Our room, a superior twin, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pianist52549055
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that this was the case for you and your daughter. Please be assured that your very kind comments...

Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed stayed here over christmas and had a great stay.the room s we're very clean and spacious.the location is very good only 2 min walk to russell square tube station, Covent garden is only a 10 min walk away.breakfast was very good with a good selection. Will def stay again. The xmas decorations were lovely to!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stubuh
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful Christmas stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and I am so pleased that we had an enjoyable visit as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel. It will...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Having stayed at this hotel five years ago and enjoyed my stay, I decided to book it again over New Year for my honeymoon. I have to say that the hotel seems to have been neglected over this time and was not up to the standard I was expecting for the money paid. The main problem was the room which...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Julie H
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am so disappointed to read your comments. I only wish we had known that this was your Honeymoon as we would have made your stay extra special. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you...

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to us by family & now we would recommend it ourselves! Great location, lovely breakfast - new year's day it was very busy but we were brought drinks whilst we queued (which wasn't too long). All our requirements were taken care of. The room was very warm & the air con control didn't seem to change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmj153
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell. We strive to create and maintain high standards and will certainly take your comments on board. We appreciate you recommendation and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell in the not...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Beautiful hotel and very central. Booked for one night for £89 and was well worth it. The view from the hotel was amazing - Was over looking a park and i could see the London eye too. two down falls were the shower was awkward to use and the single glazed windows (could hear the traffic and was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4kings12
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Russell. I am sorry to learn that you found the London traffic noise a concern. This is usually not a problem at such a high level, however we are glad you enjoyed the amazing view from the 7th floor. We...

Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Russell has a lovely lobby and modern rooms. When we arrived early, they checked us in right away (thanks!). My only complaint is that there are a number of "inner" rooms that face the heating/cooling systems that make almost nonstop noise, even with the windows shut. Before agreeing to a room, I'd try to be sure you haven't gotten...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank engprof
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location as we are a stone’s throw away from many of London’s major attractions. Due to the shape and size of the building our central conditioning unit is based in our court yard. This usually provides a slight humming noise and I do apologise if...

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very well located and it seemed to catch everyone's attention as they passed due to the grand facade. The interior is equally grand with plenty of marble and a fabulous staircase. We arrived earlier than our book in time and had to leave our cases as our rooms weren't ready as the couple before us got into theirs. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonMun
Bart L, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Please be assured that we value all of our guests and endeavour to create a memorable experience for everyone. We are extremely proud of our rich heritage and we are so pleased that you enjoyed this. I do apologise for the confusion regarding your rooms due to the different types booked....

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

First things first, what a beautiful building. So grand. The room we were given was also pretty grand, consisting of two double beds even though only one was needed, was wonderful to have the option. The room was spacious, bathroom was fantastic. One downside was the reception was extremely busy so at check out I just dumped the card in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank habarts
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to meet all of our guest preferences and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your spacious room and the option of beds. We host many functions and dinners within our Hotel and have a noise controller...

1,154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1038)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (273)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (392)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#64 of 1,078 in London
310 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#528 of 1,078 in London
3,108 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#317 of 1,078 in London
1,870 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#556 of 1,078 in London
1,841 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#271 of 1,078 in London
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Tempus Restaurant
Tempus Restaurant
Cuisines: British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Russell is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, Hotel Russell is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Russell

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Russell 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in London
#285 Family Hotel in London
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Russell staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Russell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front rooms hotter in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles carletons875, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a suit which was huge but tired - loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles JohnNerding, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suits are a must”
 of 5 bubbles dorosweet37, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors great views! Really pretty Suite Top Corner under the turret”
 of 5 bubbles christinenB7733WT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Inside rooms are quieter. Single rooms can be very small though!”
 of 5 bubbles sezbert, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay