We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

CancelonUSD 207*
View Deal
#165 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 248*
USD 207*
Great Deal
USD 211*
USD 211*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Panoramas (48)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,889: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there for 5 nights and as usually got a view to the air conditioners. I wouldn't complain but there was constant humming from outside. I would advise against the breakfast provided there - you pay 30 £ for unhealthy food which doesn't change at all. 3 types of eggs, sausages, beans, croassants and cornflakes. They open at 7am,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kafka399
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear kafka399, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. With regards to your comments about the noise from the AC unit outside the room, I do sincerely apologise about the inconvenience caused however we were not made aware of your dis-satisfaction with the room. Had we known during...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Thistle Hotel, The Kingsley last year and decided to go again this year to celebrate our Anniversary. The all staff are amazing, especially Sonia who takes your room number and gives you a table for breakfast. This petite lady also works behind the bar and is a credit to the hotel. Another member of staff who works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Jan W, Thank you for your wonderful 5*review. I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred hotel to celebrate your 46th Wedding Anniversary. I was really happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team was able to offer you a complimentary upgrade. I have also passed on your lovely...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for two nights mid week. Room was clean and of an average size for a room in London. The view out of the window was a brick wall but it didn't matter as we didn't spend much time in the room and wouldn't expect fantastic views for this price in London. Staff were lovely. Breakfast was really good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonnaP24
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear DonnaP24, Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to submit your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed our facilities. As you mentioned the hotel is fortunate enough to be located quite centrally and close to the West End. So, I...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel through aavacations.com for my mom and myself to enjoy London as well as a day trip to Paris. Everyone of the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Our room was the perfect resting place after long days of touring, shopping and taking in all we could in London....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brock M
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Brock M, Thank you for your detailed and wonderful 5* review!! Also, thank you for giving us a try and choosing to stay with us during your trip to London. I hope that this was the first in many more to come.. I have already shared your awesome comments with regards to the staff and their service with all...

Watton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here to see a show also it was for our wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday. When we arrived we had been upgraded to a lovely large luxury room, there was choclates and a card in our room from the staff - a lovely touch. Everyone very friendly and helpful. Very clean hotel, very comfortable bed, we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Jo B, Thank you for your wonderful 5*review. I would also like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred hotel to celebrate your anniversary and your husband's birthday. Me and my team were really excited to read that you loved the personalised and unique touches. It is always our aim to ensure that each and every...

manchester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night. It was an OK hotel. Room was small but functional, beds comfortable. Just felt the room was a little tired and needed sprucing up. Breakfast had a large variety of food, both hot and cold. Able to leave bags at hotel on last day and collect prior to leaving. All in all ok but not sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emijon
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear emijon, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. Also, as you have mentioned, we have a great choice at Breakfast and something that our guests have always raved about. So, it was wonderful to read that you liked it and got to experience it during your stay....

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the thistle Holborn for 2 nights when we came to London for a show. Great location, just a couple of minutes walk from the tube at Holborn from where you can easily access all areas of the city. The hotel itself was lovely, friendly staff, nice comfortable room. Decided to have breakfast at the hotel as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathryn j
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear kathryn j, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and highlighting all the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed. The hotel is fortunate enough to be in an enviable location close to all the attractions and amenities. I am also delighted to read that you liked your room and am very pleased to...

Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a couple of nights over the Easter weekend, room clean and tidy, just a ten minute walk from Covent Garden and all the major theatres. Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that. Parked at the Bloomsbury SQ car park, the hotel clients get a discount there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank costahotshot
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear costahotshot, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. I am really happy to read that you found the room clean and tidy and the location ideal. In fact, we pride ourselves on the level of service and the facilities that we provide to our guests...

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel room was above standard. Staff very friendly & helpful. Central to the west end. Breakfast was excellent. Late internal bar area was clean & tidy. Baggage can be left and collected later in the day. Bathroom was large with bath and separate shower. Our room was on the side of the building and was quite until the bin men...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Phil B, Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to submit your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed our facilities. Recognition from our guests is our ultimate prize and it motivates us to work even harder and be consistent. Me...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

A very nice hotel. The check in was good, with a complimentary glass of Prosecco upon arrival! The rooms are very nice, clean, stylish. We did have a slight problem with the air conditioning not working in our room but a call to the reception and we were moved to another room. As we were only here for a theatre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazz1976
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Dazz1976, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. I am really happy to read that you found the hotel clean and stylish. We have a unique blend of traditional and modern features which are well liked by all our guests. I am also happy to know that...

544 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (333)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (135)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#58 of 1,063 in London
3,125 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,063 in London
1,437 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#253 of 1,063 in London
3,117 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#421 of 1,063 in London
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $248 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
11 months ago
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Dublin, Ireland
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the front of the hotel on the 1st floor but blackout curtains goo, was traffic noise with bus stop right next to the hotel.”
judybainbridge46, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Had a room on the 4th floor. Slight traffic noise but nothing to complain about. The young lady who cleaned our room was very efficient.”
F46PEjanw, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 104 was ok no noise”
bigmart, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good Rooms but eat out!”
JamieTWC1, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“6th floor very quiet”
timbo46, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
USD 207* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 211
Booking.comUSD 211
HotelQuicklyUSD 248
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates