We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Booking.comUSD 173*
View Deal
#165 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 200*
USD 173*
USD 200*
USD 173*
USD 200*
USD 173*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,877: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel, wonderful room with free upgrade, fantastic breakfast. Based on the hotel only, I would rate this hotel 5, but based on the following incidents I can only give the hotel 2 due to their lack of care. Now the faults: 1. When asking the reception about breakfast in my room the lady did not know what the extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mairi1203
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Mairi1203, Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us here in London. It was very disappointing to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, and I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I have reached out via direct message in the hope of speaking with you regarding your experiences,...

lincoln
Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed one night for shopping weekend with girlfriends, a twin and a single. the single was upgraded to a double on check in which was nice touch. receptionist friendly and helpful. rooms not huge, and no view - looked out onto brick wall, but as only stayed one night wasn't a problem. bed pretty comfortable, bathroom clean & adequate. breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jentlincoln
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear jentlincoln, Thank you for your comments and taking the time to submit your valuable feedback from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay, enjoyed our facilities and would return again. I am happy to read that our team was able to get one of your rooms upgraded to...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely stay in hotel. Felt was good value and fantastic location for theatres. Room was small but clean, beds where comfortable and staff where friendly and welcoming. We didn't stay for breakfast but restaurant looked nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sara13eck
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear sara13eck, Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We strive really hard to make sure that all our guests have a really pleasant stay and me and the entire team are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. Recognition from our guests is our ultimate prize and it motivates...

St. Neot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We attended a evening football game And this hotel was ideally situated near the tube station. We had a lovely breakfast and the staff was very professional and friendly we will be back. Phil and Sand

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Phil C, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. I am so pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed our facilities. As you mentioned the hotel is fortunate enough to be located quite centrally and close to the tube station. I am...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for west-end,comfortable,friendly helpful staff.Needs a serious lick of paint, shabby chic no longer viable.Lack of attention to detail e.g. asked for newspaper for stay,did'nt deliver 1st morning,reminded reception and reassured.Not delivered 2nd morning,so cancelled,to be fair they did offer to get, but I declined on way out. Had to move room on 3rd night @11pm due to leaking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cityslicker21
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear cityslicker21, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. I am happy to read that you found the location ideal for West-end, and the staff to be friendly and helpful. I am really sorry and do apologise about the issues you mentioned during your stay. I have taken...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here before for our silver wedding anniversary,so we decided to come back for our sons 21st birthday and as we were going to the theatre the location is wonderful. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. Also the staff are very helpful and pleasant. Will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d0nna47
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear d0nna47, Thank you for your wonderful 5* review !! Also, thank you for choosing to stay with us again to celebrate your son's 21st birthday. I do hope that you'll had a great time. I am also really happy to read that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant and that you would definitely stay again. In...

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check in was easy room ready 2 hours early and checked in no problem room was quite nice bathroom had limited toiletries but where ok pillows were comfortable as was bed one down side payed £194.00 for this room but breakfast isn't included needed some help with parking and staff sorted no problem close to west end and theatres would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigmart
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear bigmart, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Thistle Holborn The Kingsley and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am really glad that the staff were able to find a room for you straightaway and get you checked-in early. At the Kingsley, we would do everything to make sure that our guests have an enjoyable...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times for theatre visits. Great location, reasonably priced and 10 minute walk from most theatres. Room on this visit was nice and clean except for the window in the bathroom being dirty behind the roller blind & the lighting in the room was very dull. Could have done with more light to do my hair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ag-Steph
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Ag-Steph, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us and highlighting all the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed. I am really glad to read that this was your return visit and I hope that this forms a part of many more future visits to come. I...

Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This very decent hotel would normally be about 3--3.5 stars, but the Excellent staff bring it up to a solid 4 Stars. The rooms and building are older but clean and well maintained. Kudos to the cleaning staff, which checked our room a few times each day for cleaning and/or fresh towels needs. The front desk staff was efficient, professional,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PucksterColorado
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear PucksterColorado, Thank you for the high praise and taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. I couldn't agree with you more with regards to your comments about the staff at Thistle Holborn, the Kingsley. We have a great team full of genuine, hard-working individuals who strive towards doing the best...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a Junior suite with the hotel for a short stay in London at the beginning of April 2017. This hotel is superb, the suite was clean, large, well maintained and quiet.We could not wish for more for the money we paid. The Hotel is virtually next door to the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Frances M, Thank you for sharing your experience here at Thistle Holborn, the Kingsley Hotel and your wonderful 5* review !! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and found it to be really comfortable and big as well as clean and well maintained. It is always our aim to ensure that each and every guest...

545 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
3,082 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,088 in London
1,403 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#250 of 1,088 in London
3,068 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#411 of 1,088 in London
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $253 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
10 months ago
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Dublin, Ireland
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 104 was ok no noise”
bigmart, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good Rooms but eat out!”
JamieTWC1, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“6th floor very quiet”
timbo46, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the road may provide a less noisy environment, however this is London. !”
foxtomlin, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The suites are large and comfortable and quiet. They use modern heating and cooling without the use of air ducts and vents. Excellent!”
AdamMcCoy, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 173* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 173
PricelineUSD 173
HotelQuicklyUSD 200
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates