We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Show Prices
#137 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,788: English reviews
Slovakia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is OK but you really pay for the location. The staff are pleasant and I had a very enjoyable stay. However here are a few tips: You can get a good local "Full English", early morning, breakfast for half the price by just going around the corner. Go out of the hotel, turn right, then immediately at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IMW_SK
United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location as it is ten minutes from Covent Garden and tube into central London only a walk away. The accommodation was excellent, beds were great, bathroom well kitted out and very good rain shower. Breakfast was varied and plentiful- good hot or cold offerings and no sense of being hurried. Staff throughout the hotel were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrycooper49
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear terrycooper49, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and highlighting all the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed. I am really glad to read that you found the location to be ideal and the room to be excellent with great beds. Many of our previous guests have written rave reviews about the quality...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for one night on a business trip, and to be honest I was quite disappointed. The room I was given at first was a single (really!! do they even exist?), so small I could barely move there.. Went downstairs and after a few comments ("this is what your company is paying for...") they gave me a double room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alessandra G
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Alessandra G, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. With regards to your comments about the room, we do have rooms with different sizes and I am sorry that the one you stayed in initially did not meet your expectations. However, your initial reservation was for...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this hotel earlier this month for my birthday. We had a few problems sorting out our booking largely due to the fact that none of the staff speak great English but all was resolved eventually and we were very pleased with our upgraded room. Quite small but quiet, considering the central location, very comfortable bed. I suppose alarm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda F
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Brenda F, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. I am glad to read that you liked your upgraded room and found the bed to be comfortable. Many of our previous guests have written rave reviews about the quality of our rooms and the beds and your...

Poynton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a short break. Room spacious but no view (not really an issue - out of the room most of the time). Location good for all central attractions - bus stops outside the door and around the corner. Big disappointment was the service - at breakfast on the first morning there was no orange juice - after several requests...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank xermph
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear xermph, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, the hotel is quite centrally located close to all the attractions and amenities. I am really disappointed to read about the lack of service you experienced at breakfast and about the food items being run out. Due to our morning delivery not...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have stayed here before and liked the location and the rooms then were lovely and the price included breakfast. However have just come back from a weekend with my daughter and booked a supposedly deluxe twin room and paid nearly £500 for two nights without breakfast and the room has never been a deluxe room! On arriving we were made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn C
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Dawn C, Thank you for your taking the time to review your recent stay with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. With regards to your comments about the room, we do have Deluxe Twin rooms with different sizes and I am sorry that the one you stayed in this time did not meet your expectations. Also, I...

Shaldon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in a short break in London. Check in was a bit painful as we were informed, after confirmation of our booking, that a room was only available for one night and we would have to move to a sister hotel close by on the second night. After a 4 hour drive to London, this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DDav26
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear DDav26, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. I am really disappointed to read about the issues you experienced during your stay with us especially with the miscommunication about your room and the standard of service. It is definitely not indicative of our standards at The Kingsley....

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We understand that this would not be a cheap hotel due to its location, but for the price I still would have expected more. The decor was cold and stark. The deluxe double room was cold. The thermostat didn't seem to work. There was no water in th room and one bottle of shampoo. Very basic. I think I've had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mic19662016
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear mic19662016, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. I am disappointed to read about some of the service issues that you experienced during your stay with regards to the room being cold. You’ll be glad to know that this has now been taken care of. I do...

cape town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good stuff first, the online booking people are helpful and the breakfast staff are lovely. Also breakfast was very nice. However, I found the rooms are dated and mine wasn't very clean. What stressed me out most though was the inconvenience of the location and the rudest receptionist I have ever encountered - which is really saying something. Take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tricia S
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Tricia S, Thank you for your recent review of your experience here at Thistle Holborn, the Kingsley Hotel. I am glad to read that you found the booking process / staff to be helpful and our Breakfast to be nice. However, I am disappointed to read that you did not find the room to your liking. Also, I am...

Hinsdale, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel in historic building. The location is great close to shopping, restaurants and underground. Our room was on the small side but the bathroom was great--best walk in shower I ever had. The staff is helpful and friendly. The room was very clean. A nice bar area where you can get drinks and food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RealtOr30
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear RealtOr30, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and highlighting all the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed. The hotel is fortunate enough to be in an enviable location close to all the attractions and amenities. I am also delighted to read that you liked your shower. I couldn't agree with you more...

520 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (308)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,078 in London
1,190 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,078 in London
2,863 reviews
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#385 of 1,078 in London
918 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $247 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#113 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pick a single!!”
 of 5 bubbles alessandragH8422AM, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The annex is cold”
 of 5 bubbles mic19662016, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Found the room to be noisy from what ever was going on outside first thing in the mornings. Sounded like bottle banks being emptied etc!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 615bazc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are two single travellers, make sure that you ask for the beds to be separated.”
 of 5 bubbles U5611DGtoms, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms 202 and 204 which were both quiet”
 of 5 bubbles jaybrox, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay