We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The William IV

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The William IV
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I spent three nights in this charming guest house. Room n.4 was clean, spacious and had a nice view on the Kensal Green Cemetery. Bathroom was small but clean, with a big modern shower but a very small sink. Towels were changed daily, and the room had a kettle and an handy selection of tea and coffee. The hotel might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia670
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I went to this pub for a wake so clearly we were very delicate as it was to be met by the worse two bar staff I have ever had the mis-fortune to be served by. They were both arrogant and blantently rude to the point of actually arguing with the customers, myself included! Manager, please donot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Redzha1r
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the William IV for 5 nights in two different rooms. On a arrival I was actually afraid that the hotel was closed, as from the road the appearance is a little run down and has an empty feel to it. Check in for both rooms was easy. The first room I had paid more for and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HaylesEpps
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a weekend here in this potentially lovely old building. The pictures you see are all well and good but expect a wafer thin cheap, concave mattress on your large boutique style bed, peeling paint and an ill fitting sink, broken lights, draughty windows,and staff who have no clue about customer service and you'll not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We hope to have you again as our guest in the future

bristol
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed in room 2, the owner should really try to sleep in this bed and feel the springs digging in all night. Good shower and towels,and we were there for a wake which was catered for really well, good food and drink.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boxleyBristol
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We hope to have you again as our guest in the future

United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Getting checked in and first night was a bit annoying. I had arrived on Friday to check in at around 4pm, had to walk around the building the knock windows, ring the reception door bell for a good 15mins before anyone answered. Coming back in that night at around midnight I was kept awake till around half 2 am thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene Z
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We hope to have you again as our guest in the future

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I was looking for a cheap but clean base to stay for going to see Harry Potter play. The hotel is a 5 minute maximum walk from Kensal Green tube station, being on the Bakerloo line you can go eastbound for about 20mins straight into piccadilli circus etc with no changes. The rooms are situated over a pub/ restaurant but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_l_andrews
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is good to hear you appreciated our hotel and the local area. Thank you for your great feedback which is important to us, we always make sure we do our best to satisfy our guests. Kind Regards William IV

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The room was clean and is situated in a public house BUT it is only on the weekends that it is in business.. Prices of rooms are reduced for that reason. I did not experience this. I had a en-suite room, television, kettle etc.. and a wide wide but that was a little too low form. The value was reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarlYorke
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we are glad you found your staying comfortable at William IV. Hope you will visit us again. Kind regards William IV

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Extremely appaling state of affairs. The room was super hot and the best advice from the unconcerned receptionist was to open the window. Yeah, that might have helped if it werent for the blaring bikers and other vehicles that kept us awake all night. Even the "free" wifi is horrible. The management prefers not to even make eye contact ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashwinpillaidoc
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very sorry you are so disappointed with your staying at our hotel. I can not agree with the fact that receptionist told you to open the window as there was never complaint reported to us at the reception unless you kindly state a date of your staying so we can closely investigate that matter. Secondly, we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

The short version: avoid at all costs unless you want to deal with extremely rude management who don't seem to care that they have a mouse problem... The long version: Stayed for 2 nights (was meant to be 4), initially arrived and seemed OK-ish although quite basic and very small bathroom and uncomfortable bed. Slight 'musty' smell in the main...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank c_orromswan
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest I'm very sorry you felt so disappointed. We did investigate the building after the complaint was raised to make sure we have a control over any activity in the building. All rooms were checked and there was no activity spotted. We did not want to resell the room and just to remind the conversation we had over the...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Black Lion Guesthouse
#158 of 556 in London
217 reviews
Windmill Hotel
#173 of 556 in London
213 reviews
East End / East London
King William IV Hotel & Bar
King William IV Hotel & Bar
#236 of 556 in London
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Accommodation
#190 of 556 in London
12 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#18 of 556 in London
98 reviews
Golders Green Guest House
#296 of 556 in London
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The William IV

Address: 786 Harrow Road, London NW10 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $83 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The William IV 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The William IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Iv Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The William IV staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The William IV staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the other side of the building, avoid being above the bar if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles 831eugenez, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“horrible, avoid at all costs”
 of 5 bubbles ashwinpillaidoc, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a king size room and there was lots of room in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles rhysl295, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on first floor have 4 poster beds!”
 of 5 bubbles rabbits042, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“No room would be suitable on a friday or saturday night”
 of 5 bubbles MartinH105, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay