We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Elmwood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Elmwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elmwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 314: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

There is not a good word I can say about this hotel other than the location Is perfect if travelling to kings cross or to st pancras rail stations. The rooms are very small dated undecorated and smell unpleasant and the room I was staying in had ripped curtains. For the amount of money I spent to stay at this... More 

Helpful?
Thank primandprop
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear our guest, Thank you for your comment on Trip advisor web page towards your recent stay at the Elmwood hotel, I am sorry to hear from you that you wasn't happy about your stay, you mentioned the room size was small, and the torn curtain , I have investigated both issue and I have ordered the hotel management to... More 

Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Only giving this property 3 stars as it is not meant to be a 5 star hotel. Conveniently located close to the train station where you grab the Eurostar to Paris. The room was a bit cramped for 3 people, looks like they just added a 3rd bed in a double room. However, this is London in a convenient location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gina499
John G, Owner at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear our client , Thank you for your recent nice review towards your recent stay at London Elmwood hotel, Thank you also for the nice photos that you added, also for your comments about our location and service, we are very pleased that we managed to satisfy your need with our budget place. From London please accept our regards and... More 

newcastle under lyme
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

this hotel is very well situated if travelling to or from Kings Cross or St Pancras. It was very clean and quietly situated opposite a leafy square. Security is excellent and staff are very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was included in the price but unfortunately breakfast was not served until 8.00am and as the Eurostar trains ask travellers to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulinewallbank
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Our Guest, Thanks for your time adding your accommodation review on this web page, we appropriate all the small points you mentioned on your comment. The breakfast service hours is mentioned on the website page you booked and we can't serve it any earlier because we are tied by the tube & public transport starting time because of our... More 

Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The room was too small, but clean and very well located. Close to a big subway station (same one to get EuroStar), easy to get a bus to anywhere. Good enough if you don't plan on stay outside for most part of the time and come back to the hotel just to rest...

Helpful?
Thank TouristKrause
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear our Guest, Thanks for your nice words towards your latest stay at London Elmwood Hotel, we are very pleased that we managed to satisfy your needs. from London and in behalf of the whole staff at the hotel please accept our best regards. we look forward to welcoming you in the near future. John Girgis More 

Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The only thing I can say about this place is: Location, location, location. It's within easy walking distance to the St. Pancaras/King's Cross train. Be aware, however that you get what you pay for and the price isn't even a real bargain. The room was very small, the bathroom even smaller and the included breakfast was served cold in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colleen N
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review towards your recent stay at the Elmwood hotel in London, Thanks for your positive comment regarding the location, We do apologies that we couldn't satisfy your need this time, with regard the opposite park I would like to inform you that this park is locked in the evening by the authorised department from 7pm to... More 

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Cleckheaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having been allocated a triple room for myself ,my spouse and 11 year old daughter ,paying £300 for 3 nights,the room was so small we had to upgrade to a room for 6 persons costing a further £150, what can I say ,the rooms were nothing like the photos on the website,broken lampshade in the room , the curtains looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, First of all let me offer my apologiese for the inconvenience Caused during your stay. You wasn't forced to accept any upgrade at all And you had all the freedom to cancel your booking and go Without any problem. After you was allocated in a triple room with 1 double and 1 single bed you... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in a basement room which had a view of a brick wall, there was no lock on the toilet door, the room was very small and stuffy. If we opened the windows we could here the noisy neighbours from the next rooms. The quality of the bedding was very poor and the size of the bed was definitely... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Brucky
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review towards your last stay at the Elmwood hotel, I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our service. Please give me the opportunity to welcoming you another time in our company to change your bad idea about the Elmwood hotel, one of the best bed and breakfast hotels in London. Once again please... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A copy of my e mail to the manager below explains all! Att The Manager Attached please find some photos taken of the room allocated to me for the two nights, 13th and 14th of June, the first two photos depict the state of the curtains and lamp shade, the next two show the state of my calves after sharing... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Phil R
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your time adding your unfair review on TripAdvisor website, You booked a single en-suite room during the final of Wimbledon, the price was according to other hotels and according to such a busy event was very fair. You well knew that you booked in a bed & breakfast and not the Ritz hotel! with all respect. the hotel... More 

hull east yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I thought that paying £200 for two nights in a London hotel was cheap but I new it wouldn't be the ritz but I didn't expect it to be that bad I asked for a ground floor room as my husband is disabled but at first they put us on the top floor which I said was not good enough... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dottsie
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor Website towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel. My name is John, I am the front office manager who Checked you in at room 34 the Triple en- suite room. I have managed immediately upon your arrival While you were filling the Rigesteration form to swap Your room in my system from... More 

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#560 of 1,078 in London
850 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,078 in London
1,842 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#686 of 1,078 in London
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#367 of 1,078 in London
1,367 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#63 of 556 in London
526 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#64 of 556 in London
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Address: 19 Argyle square | Kings cross London, London WC1 H8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $89 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 28 spotless”
 of 5 bubbles kernowt2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the top floor,request a lower floor if you don't like stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles debrahO1175UK, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Que sea en piso bajo y con ventana”
 of 5 bubbles Arucha81, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisL461, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles zoeyrobinson, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay