The Harrington
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Harrington

1 Harrington Gardens Gloucester Road Underground Station, London SW7 4JJ England
Traveller (191)
Well equipped kitchen
Room & Suite (107)
Kitchen in 1 bedroom apartment
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#41 of 475 apartments in London
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set in chic South Kensington, just two minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments/ residences including one-bedroom apartments and two-bedroom apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment / residence provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air-conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 11 more

Location

1 Harrington Gardens Gloucester Road Underground Station, London SW7 4JJ England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
16.1 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
19.2 km
See all flights
Gloucester Road
3 minUnderground
403Reviews13Q+A97Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 154
  • 64
  • 22
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
HawkDhaka wrote a review Feb 2020
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in this apartment recently for 2 nights in our recent business trip to London. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment. We chose this apartment as we are familiar with this area. We have been living in this area for the last 25 years whenever we come to London. We usually use to stay in Holiday Inn – Kensington Forum, formally known as Kensington Forum. But this time we wanted to try a serviced apartment.

Just 2 days before our arrival, they sent us a mail mentioning that their elevator is under maintenance, so we can cancel our booking free of charge if we want. But we did not cancel our booking. They were very kind to take our luggage to our 3rd floor apartment and bring them down when we checked out. This serviced apartment has 24 hours reception. Our apartment was a specious 2 bedroom apartment. The entire apartment was very clean. The master bedroom had a double bed with ensuite bathroom (which was smaller in size) and the 2nd bedroom had 2 single beds (as we requested). The 2nd bathroom was just opposite of the 2nd bedroom. This bathroom was big. Both the bedrooms had built-in wardrobe. The kitchen was clean and full of necessary utensils. But there were no Dishwasher or Washing Machine. The living cum Dining space was also clean, but the sofa was bit tired. Both the bedrooms and the living room had flat TV with satellite channels. Free wifi was very fast.

The location is very good, only 3-4 minutes’ walk away from Gloucester Road Tube station. One can take the train from Heathrow and come directly to this station without changing train. Lots of restaurants nearby, including HALAL restaurants on the way to the apartment from the station. Waitrose is just beside the station from where one can buy groceries and all necessary things. A small TESCO store, Boots, Burger King are also there, very near the station.

One the first day of our stay at the apartment, we were informed that there will be no water supply from 10 pm to 8 am next day for urgent maintenance work. So we argued with the reception people about our requirement of water at night. To compensate they sent 3 bottles (1.5 liters) of water for us. During our check-out, the reception people apologized for the trouble which we had to face during our short stay and as a gesture, they refunded us one day rent, which was appreciated by us.

We have enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again during our next visit to London.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Try to get room on the higher floors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheHarrington, Manager at The Harrington
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear helal S, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I want to take the time to apologise about the water maintenance, I'm glad we were able to rectify this with a few solutions. We will also take on your feedback regarding the furnishings, especially as we go into renovating the apartments. Overall, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Natalie Gomez - Marketing Manager, The Harrington Collection
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary B wrote a review May 2022
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed in Apt 104 Harrington Gardens for 6 nights.

On arrival the staff were very helpful and assisted in getting us an early check in as we arrived quite early in the morning. We had booked a small one bedroom apartment. Located just a couple of minutes from Gloucester Rd station it is in a very good location for transport and has lots of eateries nearby from pubs to take-away to fine dining restaurants, also a Tesco mini mart, bakery and most other essential shops.

We have travelled quite extensively and my observation is that accommodation in UK and Europe is generally quite small and this was no exception. We had booked a small apartment so this is not a complaint but simply observations. The building is showing some signs of age. The public area carpets are a bit worn and grubby and the lift to the first floor where we were staying was Temporarily Out of Order for the duration of our stay, covered all the other floors. No big deal as it was only one floor, but I suspect it has been and will be “Temporarily Out of Order” for quite a while. Staff assisted us with getting luggage up the stairs on our arrival.
The apartment itself was also showing signs of wear and tear but was very clean and tidy. They provide daily housekeeping which is quite rare these days so the place was kept in excellent condition. As mentioned earlier it was a small apartment. The lounge/dining area was quite adequate, the bedroom was OK with limited wardrobe space, the bed was very comfortable and once you learnt to squeeze past sideways to dodge the dresser and the TV on the wall it was fine.

**As an aside we had a strange experience in that the bedroom TV (which we never even used) kept turning itself on. This happened four times, 3 times when we weren’t even in the room and once at 2.00am in the morning. My wife was convinced that the room was haunted!!

The kitchen whilst small was well equipped and functional. I would say the worst aspect of the apartment was the bathroom which was tiny, approx. 650mm wide. You could hardly move in the shower without bumping into something and it was difficult to even turn around anywhere in the bathroom. Sitting on the toilet you had your head in the basin and I personally dislike toilets that open directly into the living/dining space, it can get unpleasant!! To dry off after the shower you really had to open the door and step into the living/dining area, there was not sufficient room in the bathroom. It just took some getting used to and I understand these old buildings have to work with available space. If I was to stay again, I would check out the bathroom layout a bit more closely.

All the windows were locked so it got a bit stuffy but I guess this was for security.

In summary, a great location, reasonably priced, clean and tidy, very quiet, good AC, good water pressure, comfy bed, helpful friendly staff and just a couple of minor inconveniences. I would recommend it as a base for your stay in London.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Check out the bathroom size and layout.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalie Gomez, General Manager at The Harrington
Responded 16 July 2022
Dear Gary, thank you for your kind review. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I will pass on your feedback regarding the bathroom to the relevant team. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Natalie Gomez - Marketing Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ade-Corrie wrote a review June 2021
Glossop, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights during May Bank Holiday. Family trip with teenage son and stayed in two bedroom apartment. The two bedroom apartments are excellent. Two separate bedrooms both with double beds and option to request singles. One of the bedrooms had an en-suite and there was a separate bathroom, Lounge area and kitchen. The apartment looked exactly like the pictures on Booking.com. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and wifi worked well allowing for streaming.

Check in was covid safe and temp checked etc. We were on the fourth floor and as has been previously mentioned the lift is very small. If you relied on a wheelchair or had a large pram unsure if this would fit.

To finish with the location is excellent. Some great restaurants and artisan bakeries on the doorstep of Hyde Park and Museums. We got an UBER back from central London (Regent St) a couple of times and it was approx £12.

Happy travels
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan R wrote a review June 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a large open plan one bedroom and I could not fault it. Nipping clean and very spacious. Housekeeping was faultless with clean towels and bedding every day even making sure the toiletries and tea/coffee were topped up. Check in easy and quick, staff helpful and friendly. Location amazing very close to tube. Plenty to eat in area but if you want to cook the kitchen has everything you need. Will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Milton B wrote a review Nov 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Really bad experience and feel duped by the advertisement and short changed!

We left the hotel feeling exhausted and extremely disappointed. This did not boost our “Wellbeing” as advertised and does not meet the expectation of a London 4 Star hotel.

We chose the hotel due to its advertisement promoting specialist in “Luxury Stay, Well Being, Cleanliness and Sleep Well”.

This was NOT what we experienced!

On entering the apartment, we were met with a huge dirty scuff marks covering all the centre piece floor, not as advertised!

This didn’t give us any confidence that the room was “Hygienically Clean”. Please see the pictures attached.

Due to our busy schedule of visits and activities, we trusted the hotels quote on “Sleep Well, Soundproof Rooms and Luxury” with a view to giving us the much-needed comfort and rest.

The reality – the bed sunk in the middle and creaked every time you moved or rolled over. You can hear the other guest conversations and noises from the neighbouring apartments, again, not as advertised.

After a busy first day we made do with the uncomforting bed and noise from other rooms. We were then woken up at 0615 Sunday morning to baby noises coming from the apartment 2 doors up. They family may have been in our room as we could hear everything voice, screech and movement.

This level disruption to our sleep carried on until they left. Our plans for the next day had been completely ruined as we were unable to “Sleep Well”.

I made my complaint to the reception and I am now waiting for the manager to reply.

This apartment did not meet the description or standard which is advertisement on both “Hotels.com” and “The Harrington Hotel” websites.

I expect compensation - we paid £165.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bejay M wrote a review May 2020
Gouda, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Prisewise fine. Location better than fine. Underground around the corner. A choice of supermarkets nearby. The room and kitchen was very suitable for our short stay. The staff very friendly and helpfull. The few points that needed fixing were fixed within a day (lamp for instance). We appreciated a bottle of sparkling that was placed in the room (birthday) very much.
Yes the elevator was out of order but we were notified before hand. Very much recommended !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: streetside seemed fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheHarrington, Manager at The Harrington
Responded 1 June 2020
Dear Bejay M, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Harrington - I'm delighted to read your review. I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused regarding the lift, we have since fixed it and hope to avoid this issue happening again. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best, Natalie Gomez - Marketing Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vandita M wrote a review Feb 2023
Mumbai, India
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I've tried reaching out to their management and their official email IDs but I've gotten no response. Leaving a review here in case it is helpful for future guests.

The apartment is well located, clean and the housekeeping staff are good at maintaining it. Lots of apartments differ from the photos so do keep a lookout for that. However, the place is not disabled friendly at all. They have a lift listed in their accessibility features on booking.com and that's what made me book it. I have a severe knee injury that means I can't take the stairs, amongst other disability needs. On reaching I was informed the lift isn't working but someone from the staff can make it work a bit and drop me up and I can take the stairs down. When mentioned that I can't do that - I was told I should have let them know. I don't need to let anyone know if you list it as a feature of your hotel/service apartment while advertising. They then offered to have someone come up and "help" bring me down by the lift. There's been no apology, absolutely no acknowledgement of the issue and even laughter in the face of disability when that was raised. Do note that my mobility is now restricted by the staffs availability and I was once forced to take the stairs down as they didn't answer the phone call to come "help" as they were busy with another guest. The phone in the room has had to be fixed and still doesn't work well so calls don't always go through.

The lift is also a hazard and needs someone to physically open the gates applying a lot of pressure once it reaches the right floor. The least they should have done is informed incoming guests of this issue and let them choose if they would rather not stay here + offered a refund. Rather it's been treated with a casualness and mockery that shows how they treat the issue of disability.

The staff is quite rude and needs to be pushed to meet basic services listed on their property beyond this as well.

Especially for a place that you are paying between 150-200 pounds a night for, you'd be much better off at a hotel or Airbnb.

If you are reading this and if are a disabled person, ally or anyone that cares about this issue, don't book with them. Disabled people like me are forced to pay much higher premiums to get places to stay that accomodate our needs, when those needs are not met after this premium as well and are met with mockery businesses need to know they will be held accountable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert H wrote a review Jan 2020
Barcelona, Spain
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all amazing property and location, staff helpful and courteous.

We checked in early and we had to leave our bags due to our room not being ready which was fine, we knew the check in time and we were early.

When we returned we had to ask for our bags to be taken to our room, we were not shown the apartment and how things work so we had to:

1. Call and ask how the oven worked as it wasn’t as simple as you’d think.

2. Call to ask how the air con worked as the panel on the wall wasn’t functioning correctly, we then were told the heating was controlled by another dial and we were expected to know this

3. Had to ask how the hot plate worked, again, it was not as simple as there was a function to perform for 10 seconds to unlock it

4. Complain to the front desk as there was high pitched ringing noise in our bedroom, it turned it the TV on the wall faulty so their way of fixing it was to simply unplug it, so we had no bedroom TV, also no apology for this

These might seem small issues but the staff should really give new guests a tour of their apartment and show them how things work, makes life so much easier and is a great customer experience, if this property does do this, we certainly didn’t get the service.

Also the bathroom in Room 106 in ridiculous, unless you know a few gymnastic or yoga moves, you’ll seriously struggle to get into the shower as it is so close the basin, you have less than 30cms to get in. Stupid design.

If you stay here, avoid room 106.

Would I stay again, hhmm, maybe.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheHarrington, Manager at The Harrington
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear RobertH281, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate and take your feedback very seriously. I will pass the above points to our Guest Relations team so we can continue to improve our service for all of our guests. However, I am happy to read that despite the inconveniences, you did enjoy the property and location. Kind regards, Natalie Gomez - Marketing Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henry C wrote a review Sept 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to London with kids, we couldn't have booked better accommodation. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment (505). The apartment was spotless, comfortable and more spacious than expected. What we presumed what would be a small kitchenette was actually a fully kitted out kitchen down to a garlic press! The location is superb 2 min walk from Gloucester road tube station with access to central, District and piccadilly lines. Tesco and waitrose 2 min walk for supplies and good local restaurants and take away. Natural history museum 8 min walk. Staff friendly and helpful. We will certainly use this as our base for future trips.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria V wrote a review Sept 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is in a great location, services are very good. Our special thanks to Sunny at the reception for going above and beyond to help with directions Housekeeping services were very good . Our bed was a bit low and bedroom was tiny. But we would certainly stay there again because of location and quality of services

Our stay was from September 3rd to 8th
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katiephoenix asked a question June 2024
Perth, Australia42 contributions10 helpful votes
Do the rooms have a washing machine? Or is there a laundry service onsite?
MelisRL asked a question Apr 2020
Clearwater, Florida71 contributions61 helpful votes
Can you provide a crib or pack n play?
Hazlin asked a question Mar 2019
Singapore, Singapore
Hi, is it true that there is no fridge in the room?
Answer from P.A.
Copenhagen Region, Denmark1,185 contribution263 helpful votes
306, 1 bedroom apartment, in which we stayed March 2019, had a big fridge but no freezer.
jazzyart asked a question July 2017
Chicago, Illinois295 contributions122 helpful votes
Is there any parking nearby and if so how much per day will it be. We many need long term 30+ days. Thanks
Answer from scierelax
Milan, Italy62 contributions61 helpful votes
I don't know sorry
Dizzyelly wrote a tip June 2024
Inverbervie, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect location to walk to Hyde Park etc (25 mins dawdle) if you didn’t want to use the underground (3 mins or less away)."
Read full review
Debra M wrote a tip May 2024
Gloucester, United Kingdom14 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you need anything at all - ask the wonderful staff - they are amazing"
Read full review
Claire wrote a tip Mar 2024
Sydney, Australia7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a lift although it’s tiny but it will fit suitcases, we had to do 2 trips. Wasn’t an issue."
Read full review
Karen C wrote a tip Jan 2024
27 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"make sure you request an apartment without an adjoining connecting door. Otherwise great, beds are massive. Could not fault the location. "
Read full review
LoveTravel287782 wrote a tip Dec 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buy groceries locally Waitrose / Tesco’s. Book well in advance for parking through JustPark for best deals or use tube as so close."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$379 - AU$619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
avni luxury serviced apartments hotel london
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonEarls Court / South Kensington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HARRINGTON - 2024 Prices & Reviews (London, England) - Photos of Apartment - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Harrington
Which popular attractions are close to The Harrington?
Nearby attractions include South Kensington (0.3 km), Dolce Club London (0.4 km), and Forty Five Kensington (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Harrington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and complimentary tea.
Which room amenities are available at The Harrington?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Harrington?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Harrington?
Conveniently located restaurants include K Bar, Town House, and Light of India.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Harrington?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Harrington?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (4.0 km), Tower of London (7.5 km), and Churchill War Rooms (3.8 km).
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near The Harrington
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars