We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA London St Pauls

Expedia.comUSD 42*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 64*
USD 42*
USD 61*
USD 64*
USD 42*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA London St Pauls
Panoramas (41)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA London St Pauls
See the most recent reviews
Gdynia, Poland
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Hostel is in good location, rooms are clear and staff helpful. Unfortunately there is no kitchen equipment available if you do not want buy breakfast service. Wifi isnt great, especially in our room. Overall feeling is good, especially for that price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ariel O
stpaulsdeputy, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Ariel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You are correct in noting that we do not have any self-catering facilities however we do have a restaurant that offers both breakfast and evening meals and some of our other London based hostels do have self-catering facilities if preferred. Regards, Ben Platt Deputy Hostel Manager

Carterton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015

As with the other reviews the location was brilliant, going to see the beautiful cathedral at night was simply stunning. Easy to get to the tube & with close walking distance to plenty of shops & restaurants. 2nd time at the YHA, would go again as the food was good & the toilets/showers were super clean. As the building was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
stpaulsdeputy, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are really pleased that you had a good stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Ben Platt Deputy Hostel Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

This hostel is in an absolutely fantastic location - it is just a few minutes walk from two tube stations (St Pauls on the Central Line, and Blackfriars on the District and Circle Lines). There are plenty of restaurants nearby, and St Pauls Cathedral is just around the corner (the choristers used to board in this building). The hostel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elle M
stpaulsdeputy, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Elle, Thank you for leaving such a detailed and kind review, we are sorry to hear that you had your stay disrupted by one of the school groups that were staying at the same time as you, we try our best to accommodate everyone to the same standard and try and minimise the amount of disruption that the groups...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

good value for money [London accommodation IS notoriously expensive]..you will need to be prepared with earplugs and a sleep mask at the very least; tolerance for other people's habits a must. Many school parties visit and take over the public spaces.This YHA does NOT have any self catering facilities at all ]although there are supermarkets nearby and many restaurants and...

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandaroseblade69
stpaulsdeputy, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi mandaroseblade69, Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed our Central location. Similarly, I was pleased you found we offer great value for money- YHA does offer one of the cheapest accommodation options in the city. You are correct to point out that other London hostels are in quieter locations away from the hussle and bussle....

umea
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Its well maintained with high considerations for the comfort of each guest. The kitchen serves a delicious menu ( compliments to the chef). They are very well located and have all necessities. Awesome

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sudha_rani_agarwal
stpaulsdeputy, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi sudha_rani_agarwal, Thank you for such a great review! You obviously had a great stay and made the most of our great location. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your meals at the hostel- I've passed your lovely comments on to our catering team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, James Cuthbertson Deputy Hostel Manager

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 12 November 2015

At the end of a 2-week tour, I spent 4 days in London at the YHA St. Paul's - a hostel I had stayed in years (decades!) ago. Tucked away in a quiet corner, mere steps from St. Paul's Cathedral, is one of the best deals in London (if you don't mind roughing it a little). I stayed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanorte1
stpaulsdeputy, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi lanorte1, Thank you very much for taking time to leave such a detailed review. I'm glad you had such a great time and you enjoyed your time exploring the City. You've given some great tips which I'm sure will be really appreciated by future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to YHA London St Pauls in the...

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015

got the basement room, right next to the washing machines and windows opened onto street level so was very noisy. only 2 plug sockets for 8 people so something was always charging. all in all a bit shabby, seemed like the room the forgot about.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
stpaulsdeputy, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Nancy, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at YHA London St Pauls. We have three rooms that are at basement level. We don't receive many complaints about noise as depsite only being round teh corner from St. Paul's Cathedral, Carter lane is a quiet street with...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

My 9 year old and I stayed here and from our arrival to departure all the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a fantastic atmosphere the place was busy but didn't feel frantic. We enjoyed relaxing in the lounge in the evening helped by the group of scouts who were also staying. A great bunch of youngsters. The rooms...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
stpaulsdeputy, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Julie, WOW! Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are delighted that you had a great time at the hostel and made the most of the facilities. I'm glad the team here looked after you and it was lovely to read that you met some other lovely guests- it's what hostelling is all about! We personally love...

Kempten, Germany
Reviewed 7 November 2015

I booked a night at YHA St Pauls in a pinch because our flight back home was cancelled without notification and it was the first hostel available. The room rates (for a bed in a dorm) are great and some of the cheapest you will find in London. Also the location is simply amazing. The hostel is fairly close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinaGrafl
stpaulsdeputy, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Lina, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad that you enjoyed both the amazing location and what is arguably one of the cheapest accommodation choices in the City. I'm sorry you didn't feel there were adequate toilet and shower facilities- this is surprising as there several toilets and showers throughout each of the corridors and...

Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Me and a female friend stayed here & as a 'typical' tourist student, we went and partied in London. On our return, I found someone in my allocated bed in my room, so I had to climb over them and into the very top bunk. The next morning I woke, with a lovely hangover. When I go for a shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua P
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Joshua, Firstly thanks for the review, Im pleased you chose us for a second visit. Im sorry you were not happy about the shower near your room. I have had a walk around and cant seem to find the problem so would be very grateful if you would drop me a quick note informing me of the room you...

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Eleven Person Dorm (25)
Viewed
Modern Five Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
Modern Single Room (12)
Viewed
Modern Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Quad Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#67 of 823 in London
382 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#132 of 823 in London
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
69 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 823 in London
1,136 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#26 of 823 in London
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City of London

Neighbourhood Profile
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighbourhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Price Range: $42 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newcastle-under-lyme
over a year ago
1 month ago
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Mpls, Mn
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room as far from the cathedral as possible and near a bathroom.”
7catm, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lift. Might be a struggle for the older traveller.”
verony, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“view of St Pauls available from some rooms”
nortonanna, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Again, it's London, to get any accomodation at this price is a blessing.”
dafyddw2014, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“bring ear plugs and a second pillow. Alternatively bring a ligature to slowly strangle the life out of a snorer. ”
grahaml275, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 42* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 61
Hotwire.comUSD 42
Booking.comUSD 64
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates