We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clink78

Hostelworld.comUSD 43*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 84*
USD 43*
Great Deal
USD 84*
USD 77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Clink78
Clink78
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,974 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,165: English reviews
Start your review of Clink78
 Click to rate
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hostel is amazing, very nice atmosphere, amazing breakfast for 1pound. The 14 bed shared room is very big and spacious, the only complain I have is that there are only 2 power sockets in it - wish there was one in every bed. Also, the private shower in the corridor is better than the ones on the bathroom, because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natalianma
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I arrived after a long flight from Australia i was impressed with the service. The rooms we tidy and clean. The ladders on the bunks were a bit awkward but I managed. Half of the reading lights on the beds didn't work. The bar and kitchen facalitites were great and the free breakfast was good. However, after a muck up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Bed uncomfortable, very noisy at night, water in shower would swich itself on and off sporadically. Breakfast good in morning for price of hostel though,and lits to see in the hostel as it was a prison previously.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, So sorry you were disappointing with some parts of your stay! We try to keep the noise down, sorry this wasn't the case when you stayed with us! We provide free ear plugs in the reception for a better night rest as well. Glad you liked the breakfast :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great hostel, very clean and with friendly staff. We had a private room, which was small, but it was perfect for 2 people. The location was great, only a 10 minute walk from Kings Cross Station and there are a lot of smaller restaurants around the hostel with good cheap food. The basement can get very loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen N
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for one night in a twin room which turned out to be a 1 person prison cell with bunk beds approximately 6 feet by 6 feet. The room was stuffy and the window could only be opened a fraction because the bunk beds had been placed against it. I also had my coat, mobile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSW123456
Clink_Hostels1, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi, It is unfortunate to hear about what has happened once you stayed here at Clink. As a large hostel we do our very best to accommodate all guests and ensure they have a safe, enjoyable stay. I do understand your frustration when the incident in the luggage room occurred. Obviously reporting it to the front desk is the right...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay here with my partner when visiting London. It is a very quirky and interesting location (an ex-prison!). We slept in a cell which I can't say I have done before! I think other types of rooms are available - it was small but fine for our needs. Staff were friendly, some breakfast was provided and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William H
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there a long time ago and wanted to write a review and here it is finally. Very nice place where you can meet people. Rooms are great, you are sleeping in ex prison cells! Staff was extremely friendly. Big recommendation!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nena O
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Thanks Nena, so great to hear!! Hope we see you soon again :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is not too bad, but if your room is on the street it can get pretty noisy. The rooms are ok but there are no plugs around bed, it's especially annoying if you are on the upstairs bed... the rooms are pretty small so if you are staying in a large dorm it's even much smaller with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank solenneps
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was terrible staying here as a single female traveler. It is not central to anything in London. It also may say not smoking but somehow the smell of cigarettes permeates the entire place. I chose a large mixed dorm assuming there would be male and female travelers but it was only men. Men who apparently did not know how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bgirl880
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for all of your feedback! So sorry to hear you were disappointed! Most of the time the mixed dorms are mixed but next time it might be better for you to book a girls dorm. Some of our showers have a push button to save water, but you can press it as often as you want, so no...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely looking place, and very colourful! It was full of younger people, which made me feel a bit too old to be there . That was just me tho! Staff were great and jolly. Free breakfast In the morning.. Toast, Cereals, Juices and Hot Drinks. The ClashBar at night was also very lively with a cheerful bartender who was bopping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanz_Horgz

661 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (392)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (234)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
10-Bed Dorm with Bathroom (34)
Viewed
8-Bed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Bunk Room with Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#61 of 837 in London
588 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#29 of 837 in London
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 837 in London
2,400 reviews
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 837 in London
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighbourhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clink78

Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Price Range: $29 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clink78 staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Clink78 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private rooms are in the basement with the bar so they can get loud!”
colleenn679, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose your own room and ask not to be put near the street.”
Bgirl880, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The cell is a great option for anyone looking for something different and private.”
97tabeak, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only book the one solo room months in advance. Eat breakfast elsewhere. Pray for deafness”
LottieLeBon, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose bigger room (Dorm with more bed). It is cheaper but you will have more spacious common area.”
TJoo, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
USD 43* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 84
Expedia.comUSD 77
TravelocityUSD 77
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates