We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clink78

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Clink78
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,097: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I booked to stay in the hostel for 5 nights but due to an emergency I could only stay one night, I gave my card details at the time of booking but it said "no payment will be taken from your card you will pay on arrival". When I called to enquire about cancelling the other nights I was told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dervcarmody
Orlando, Florida, Usa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a private room (two people, bunk beds). The hostel is quirky and cool in its design, but the service is really bad (rude, undertrained staff). There is an elevator/lift but guests can't use it, so if you have heavy bags and are on a high floor...yikes. Make sure you arrive at 2:30 for check-in, and make sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Te-Gou
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Te-Gou, Thanks for your feedback! Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay! Can you please send me an e-mail with some more details of why staff was rude to you? So we can investigate in that. I can imagine the broken lift was inconvenient for you! We ordered a new lift, but unfortunately it takes until February...

Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is our 5th Hotel / Hostel in London, and it was the smallest, but it is okay as you be there just for sleeping. The bathroom is also tiny but functional, the only thing is if you had a shower - everything is wet :-) Very very nice and helpful staff. In the first night, we got a private...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneAnke
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Anne, Thanks for your review! I'm happy you were satisfied with changing the room and you liked the staff :-) We hope you enjoyed London! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had heavy bags. Was given room on 5th floor and lifts were not working. Had to take stairs which was very inconvenient. The room I stayed in was a 4 bed dorm and was very very tiny. The breakfast was decent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amardeep M
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Amardeep, Thanks for your review. Sorry about the lift! I can imagine that was inconvenient for you. Next time ask us for help with your bags! We hope you enjoyed London! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Il Gzira, Malta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed a couple of nights. The beds were super comfortable and spacious. I didn't have the opportunity to check out the bar or breakfast area, but the whole place had a nice vibe and a lot of character to it, which makes one feel immediately comfortable. Rooms were modern and very clean. The staff impressed me the most - they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophest
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Thanks Sophest, that's amazing to hear!! :-) Next time check our bar as well, I'm sure you will like it! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was absolutely perfect for what we were looking for. It was in a perfect location, on arrival staff were friendly and approachable. We booked an eight bedded dorm for eight of us, with an ensuite. The room was perfect, a little small and unusual with the bunks end on but perfect for our needs! It was a bit cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cat D
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Thanks Car for your lovely review :-) !! So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Hope till soon! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I might be bit old for Hostel but I survived. Beds are bit old but clean. Staff was ok. Not the friendliest but ok. Don't forget to bring padlock. Otherwise you will have to buy one. It is close to King's cross station and there is small shop right infront of the hostel. The guy in the shop was friendlier...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Thanks Jana! Sorry to hear you didn't find the staff the friendliest. I will discuss this with the team! Hope you enjoyed London! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small cramped room that was meant for three people. Not enough toilets for guests on each floor. Showers did not work-just a trickle of cold water. Very noisy! Lots of noise from other guests in room next door and in corridors. I would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tapdancingbluebottle
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry to hear that! I will check why the hot water in the showers didn't work! Next time make sure to grab some free ear plugs from the reception (ear plugs in hostels in always a good idea!). Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights and I have to say I really enjoyed my time here. The staff is young, good laugh and ready to help. Not a fan on their breakfast though but I did like the coffee very much. Shared a room with 11 other people, all very nice and coming from different countries, amazing international atmosphere. I slept very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estelle J
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Wow thanks Estelle, what a nice review :-) So great to hear you met nice new people and loved the staff! We hope to see you back again soon! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a tiny double room with ensuite and paid £87 for it! The room was in the basement with natural light and next to the noisy bar/club that stays open until 2am. Not the nights sleep I would expect for that amount of money. Will not return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte, Sorry to hear you didn't sleep well! Did you try the free ear plugs in your room? Next time please let us know right away and we can provide an alternative for you! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

639 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (369)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (211)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm Basic (20)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Private Room Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#50 of 791 in London
556 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#36 of 791 in London
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#29 of 791 in London
871 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#23 of 791 in London
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighbourhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clink78

Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Price Range: $27 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clink78 staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Clink78 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms far from the bar are quieter ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles AnneAnke, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in Girls' wing have extra showers.”
 of 5 bubbles EvelinRiverland, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in a girls dorm over the weekend and it was really quiet even through the bar downstairs was busy”
 of 5 bubbles StrawberryFields23, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bottom bunk. At 58, I would have hated to climb up top!”
 of 5 bubbles PokeyHokie, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for smaller dorms”
 of 5 bubbles emmah809, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay