We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA London Central

Expedia.comUSD 47*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 102*
USD 47*
USD 102*
USD 102*
USD 47*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA London Central
See the most recent reviews
Showing 609: English reviews
Markham, Canada
Reviewed 18 February 2014

had a great experience at this hostel. the building is very clean and modern and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Amazing value for the location of this place, and the shared ensuite rooms were very comfortable. My roommates were friendly and considerate (although that really has nothing to do with the hostel). Bunk beds were comfortable and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jarita_l
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks so much for your review. Very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience at the hostel- love that you used the word experience, we hope all of our guests have a fantastic and memorable experience with us! Appreciate the mention for the team- they are all passionate travelers and really enjoy helping our guests get...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Love the city but can't really afford central London prices with 2 teens. We tried the central London yha. The good - LOCATION and PRICE we paid about 100 pounds for a family room 2 bunk beds with en suite micro tiny bathroom. Everything was well designed. Also the general relaxed feel of the place was great. The bad -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 662TravelingMom
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review

Hi Ann, Thanks very much for your review. It sounds like you all had a great stay in the hostel and the sun even came out for you! it does happen more often then people think! Thanks again for the feedback, Enjoy your travels, James Ryan Hostel Manager YHA London Central

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed in 4 bed dorm, great room with lockers for belongings and comfortable, clean beds. Excellent location, only 3-5 minute walk from Oxford Circus Central area and station. You can buy a nice breakfast in the lobby and staff are happy to help with information and tour bookings etc. Some staff friendlier than others. Had to pay for wifi. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan B
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review

Hi Dan, Thanks for the feedback- always appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our central location. Always like to hear positive team feedback- though we strive to offer a friendly, personal service across the whole team so your comment about 'some friendlier than others' didn't go unnoticed. We hope to see you again soon, Enjoy your...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here from December 22-26 in 2013. i stayed in a 4 bed room with my 3 friends. good things: We had our own bathroom and did not have to worry about locking up our things every time we left. Our room was really clean and the staff was nice and helpful. It was the perfect distance from oxford...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 250Sam_A
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review

Hi Sam, Thanks for the feedback. Sounds like you and your friends had a great festive time at the hostel- shame it didn't snow on Christmas day! Always great to hear fantastic feedback about our team and also that you found the hostel to be safe, secure and well located. We hope to see you in the hostel again soon,...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just came back from a trip with a friend. The travel agent told us this might be one suitable hostel for us. She couldn't be anymore right. The minute you walk into the facillity you can make yourself feel like home. The people @ The counter always smiling and willing to help. The food is 100% recomendable, the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MikeCuatrocero
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Always really happy to hear great comments about our team :) you are right about the team being multilingual (some of them) we have French, German, Spanish, Polish, Italian & Portuguese speakers. Glad that you enjoyed our famous pizzas they are delicious and great value. Thanks...

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This is my first time to live in hostel. The room is new and clean, staffs are helpful. Ordered a 4 male room online but given a 6 male room when check in maybe because it's christmas time. I don't like the design of shower and the price and quality of food in cafe can be improved.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alexwong40
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review

Hi Alex, Thanks very much for your feedback. Really sorry that we did not have the room available that you had booked- this would have been due to a booking system error, we apologise for this and for the shower not meeting your expectations. We are currently having all of our bathrooms remodelled and you will be pleased to hear...

Lorena, SP
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I had my adapter stolen, my wallet and also, my gloves and scarf! The bathrooms are lousy, water stops coming in the middle of the shower and there is no hot water. Toilets get all wet. Staff is not polite and don't solve your problems. You have to pay (not cheap) to use the internet and it doesn't work well....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MoniqueMascarenhas
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry that you had a negative experience at our hostel, it sounds like quite an unfortunate series of events as we do consistently score very highly in our ratings for customer service, cleanliness and safety. I can assure you that we are currently working on areas which you have mentioned, starting today we are remodeling each bathroom...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hostel is in a great location, is comfortable (except for the thin pillows - solved if you put a piece of clothing folded up underneath) and has friendly staff. As with all YHA hostels, you have your own locker in the room which is great for security. The only thing is sometimes they make you change rooms because the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eloise M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with a friend in December 2013. Definitely one of the better YHA hostels I've stayed in! Location is convenient enough for London. Situated between two tube stations (Great Portland Street & Oxford Circus) and only a 5 minute walk down to Oxford Street and a wealth of dangerous shopping!! The area itself is lovely with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2013

For £15 a night it really is the best option in London if you don't mind sharing with others. Hotel prices in London are ridiculous so this is an absolute gem. Quiet, good location and a friendly bar area and also only a two minute walk to the nearest Tube station (Great Portland Street) so very easy to get around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JamieTV

491 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (199)
Viewed
4-Bed Dorm with Private Bathroom (23)
Viewed
6-Bed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (19)
Viewed
8-Bed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 837 in London
655 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 837 in London
2,400 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#65 of 837 in London
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Fitzrovia

Neighbourhood Profile
Fitzrovia
This sophisticated and sociable slice of Central London is a shopper’s paradise, offering the latest fashions, gadgets, and souvenirs. Fitzrovia is conveniently located between the major retail thoroughfares of Regent Street to the west and Tottenham Court Road to the east, with a handful of well connected Tube stations dotted around the area for easy transport. This neighbourhood is a favorite among foodies as well, with an impressive number of quality restaurants, pubs, cafes and food shops vying for your patronage – especially along Charlotte Street and near Goodge Street Station.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Price Range: $45 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA London Central staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy with ambulances and police cars - it is central London!”
suemarilynlyle, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get your own private room if at all possible!”
joyfulm2015, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The smaller the dorm, the better.”
R1861LPsarag, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“only 4 bedded rooms have it's private bathroom”
915omnias, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose higher floors for less noise and brighter nicer view at the front of the building!”
854aveenm, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 47* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 102
TravelocityUSD 47
Agoda.comUSD 93
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates