We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charlotte House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Charlotte House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 408: English reviews
Start your review of Charlotte House
 Click to rate
Felixstowe
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent 2 nights at Charlotte House and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, the breakfast was great and the room exceeded our expectations! We stayed in room 9 which was a beautifully appointed suite of 3 rooms comprising a lovely bedroom complete with four poster bed, a cosy sitting room and a massive bathroom. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallyAnnFelixstowe
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed Friday evening . Staff were most helpful particularly the young man in reception who went the extra mile to ensure we found a good restaurant close to the theare. Rooms very spacious and sunny. All in all a very pleasant experience. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doreen H
UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked The Charlotte for an overnight stay In the city. It's right by the castle on the hill so the roads are a bit nadgery, but satnav took us straight there. It's easy to find the hotel, a touch more detective skill needed to find the front door - not a moan, I actually quite like the random nature...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nogmeister
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I and my wife arrived just after dinner time, Sat nav took us strait to the Hotel, the car park takes a bit of finding after going round the Hotel twice we finally got there, Around the Hotel you pay to park at the end of the Hotel there is a small road witch goes down around the corner to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mick S
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasantly surprised on arrival, nice hotel, lovely big room and friendly helpful staff and a great breakfast.....the only downside was the fact that the hotel seemed really understaffed we spent a lot of time looking for staff members...and the car parking situation isn't ideal, not well signposted and not really a carpark we were parked on the paved area in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for your review. We are only a small boutique hotel, having just 14 rooms. As such our staffing levels are reflective of our occupancy levels. Our car park, whilst only small, is located in a very convenient location, offering very affordable parking in central Lincoln. Kindest regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I found out that the toilet has been used before I check-in because it wasn't flush and cleaned. When I questioned the reception they answered "Oh, well" without a apology. Just run for your life before you get yourself killed by cholera. Perhaps because I'm a Chinese traveling alone. People working there didn't take my complaint very seriously. And I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 冠森 王
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Dear Guest. many thanks for your review. I can assure other readers, that we do not harbour Cholera within our establishment. It is my understanding that your train was more than 3hours delayed, resulting in a check in outside of our operating hours & poor demeanour upon arrival. I apologise if your experience here was not as you had hoped....

stockton-on-tees
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found our hotel located ideally for visiting the castle and cathedral though it's a steep walk,downhill, into the town centre. Our hotel was clean and tidy,though a fresh lick of paint would certainly do no harm,with our bedroom in need of that paint pot,though the bathroom is quite modern. The staff all seemed friendly and quite willing to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jm60
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to stay, receptionists we're very helpful on arrival. Room was a great size and had everything you need for a good stay. It's a very nice alternative to a hotel chain. Breakfast was very nice too. Will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim C
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a 4 night stay here for our Wedding Anniversary. On arrival, we were welcomed by Emma & shown to our room, which I am very sorry to say, on further inspection, fell short on quite a few housekeeping points (I won't bother detailing) on speaking to Emma, this was sorted almost immediately, an upgrade to the 'bridal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Dear guest. many thanks for your kind review, we are sorry that you had initial issues, but are delighted that they were dealt with so promptly. We hope to welcome you back to Charlotte House for future visits to Lincoln. Kind regards Peter

Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Completely unplanned but found this place for a last minute visit to this wonderful city. What a find, it is perfectly positioned next to the Castle, parking albeit limited outside the hotel just a stones throw from the Castle. The hotel is apparently the original nurses building for the nearby hospital. A most wonderful and charming hotel, very quirky but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElClassico2014
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

thank you so much for your kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,589 reviews
0.3 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
798 reviews
0.4 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
315 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Charlotte House Lincoln you're more than just a customer - you're our guest. Our warm welcome is extended to all our guests whether travelling on business or leisure, Charlotte House is located opposite Lincoln Castle and Cathedral. With 14 unique rooms and suites and a choice of contemporary or traditional to choose from there's something to suit everyone's taste. We specialise in events and weddings, but ensuring a good night sleep is our main priority. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charlotte House

Address: The Lawn Centre Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range: $110 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Charlotte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Charlotte House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Charlotte House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a suite, great if you stay for a few days.”
 of 5 bubbles Nogmeister, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“At present they were working on the grounds and building adjacent,though not much noise for a building site.”
 of 5 bubbles jm60, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 6, excellent bed, SO comfy, selection of comfy pillows, can't wait to return!”
 of 5 bubbles davidfM5999MF, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a suite ..... Worth the little bit extra especially if staying for a few nights”
 of 5 bubbles lynnp1664, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“room 6 is fine, but everything else is poor. Sorry.”
 of 5 bubbles stephensE2602RH, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5