We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 779: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Average hotel. Decor downstairs is lovely and nice comfy chairs in the bar. However, the rooms are old and need updating and painting. Staff were very accommodating and helpful and the bar is well stocked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneSime
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, however, l am sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations in all areas. We do have a refurbishment program for our guest rooms for this year for both the bedrooms and bathrooms.

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My double room was virtually a junior suite with loads of room and different seating areas. A warm and homely ambience was generated by the wood panelling and warm colours. Internal, with no view, but it was quiet away from street noise. Spacious bathroom with toiletries and towels supplied. Bathtub and shower. Desk and seperate table and chair, tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Bergamo, Italy
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was in this hotel just for one night, it was Very cleaning and the personal is very kind, the hotel are in the center Leicester city near the many shops and many pub !!! Thank you so much beautiful Leicester!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 22tony1987
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review which l am sure will encourage the team to keep up the good work!

Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautifully decorated rooms, very friendly, helpful staff. Great location in the heart of Leicester. The rooms are very spacious with king size bed. The lobby is very grand with a large bar. Had to pay £8 per day for carpark

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that your experience in our hotel was a positive and enjoyable one. It will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with the rest of the team. We aim to go above and beyond to WOW our guests. Your comments will encourage the team to bring forth the highest level of...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed overnight at this hotel and although we were greeted warmly we were not shown how to find our room, when we eventually did our room key wasn't activated meaning my husband's return to reception causing frustration after a 5 hour drive and a late arrival. The pillows on the bed were flat and firm with 2 of them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tessa M
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we were not given the opportunity to rectify any of your issues at the time. Please be assured that your comments will be discussed with the relevant personnel to ensure no further repetition. If you do return to Leicester please do contact us to ensure your...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff on reception were very welcoming , the building was very grand and the downstairs area look very swish. Unfortuantely , I stayed in the smallest darkest dirtiest room , I have stayed in during my travels . You will see from the pictures , the curtains and windows were filthy , the door hit the bed when I opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolb429
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback but l am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. Please be assured that your comments will be discussed with the relevant personnel to ensure no further repetition. We look forward to your next visit which l am confident will be remembered for all the right reasons.

Cranves-Sales, France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Mercure Grand Hotel is impressively decorated, clean and comfortable and within the main helpful and obliging staff. The hotel was badly let down by the manager of the breakfast room located in Marco Pierre White restaurant area. We were not told that breakfast would finish at 9.30 and arriving at 9.35 when the dining room was still full of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartiniJane
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is disappointing to read as we do pride ourselves on our high standard of service. The young lady who approached you has since left the business but l am sorry for the bad customer service you endured. I do hope this issue has not marred your opinion of us and that we can welcome...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The lobby and bar are lovely but the rooms are extremely basic. My room stunk of smoke and felt like I was sleeping in an ash tray. So much for for 100% non smoking! Hideous! Give me a premier inn any day!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarahwillis100
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however, l was very disappointed to read your comments. Yes we certainly are a non smoking hotel and l am extremely sorry that you found your room to be otherwise.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here last year for three nights. Rooms were spotless. Bed really comfy. Would definitely stay again. We didn't eat in the hotel but it was central to everywhere. Only complaint our room was a bit dark as it was over looked

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regina D
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have noted your comment regarding the light in your room for future refurbishment, thank you. Also pleased that you will return and hopefully next time we can welcome you to our Restaurant.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was basic but had a large bathroom, I forget which floor I stayed in (as you would after that much fun hehe). Had a great nights sleep and didn't want to get out of bed so very comfy indeed. Though be advised due to its location it may be a little noisy - but traffic barely passes through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank relax101731
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly look forward to your return

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.7 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
822 reviews
0.2 km away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
852 reviews
5.5 km away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 km away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: $108 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel Leicestershire
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Rochester, Minnesota
over a year ago
uk
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quietest rooms are internal but no view.”
  • Desk, TV.
  • Warbrobe space, second desk for tea tray.
  • Pleasant ambience from wood and decor.
  • Toiletries supplied.
  • Large comfortable bed.
  • Bathtub with shower.
  • Plenty of room, separate seating area.
  • Quiet but not much of a view.
 of 5 bubbles C6631CHmartinw, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Asked for room with bath and got it”
 of 5 bubbles 540tracyk, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles carolb429, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get one at the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles 799nigelm, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go to another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jakntone, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5