We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Osprey

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Osprey
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Osprey
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 28 June 2012

1st class service in this traditional Blackpool hotel. If you stay in Osprey hotel you will meet some very nice people who truly are interested in your comfort and pleasure in your stay at their hotel. 1st class service, Thank you very much Dennis & Sally for making our stay in Blackpool lovely. Jørgen and Grete

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorgennilsen
Management response:

hello Jorgen and Grete from Norway. It's nice to hear from you and thank you for posting this review on TA. It was our pleasure to look after you when you were here for your dancing competition in May at the Winter Gardens. We wish you all the best in your future competitions and hope to see you again next...

Huyton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Dennis and sally were very friendly welcoming hosts, making our stay at the ospery very plesant ! .... me and 3 friends came over to blackpool for my 21st birthday, the room we stayed in held 4 adults , the room was very clean with very comfortable beds, the hotel is walking distance from all the main attractions at blackpool,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey L
Management response:

hello Lyndsey and the gang, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TA. we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Osprey hotel whilst you were here to celebrate your 21st and now we look forward to seeing you at Christmas and New Year. until then we wish you all the...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Dennis and Sally were excellent host's. On arrival we were shown to our double room, first impression was" wow" how clean. We then noticed the lovely flowers, the bottle of wine and the lovely card that was on the bedside table, thanks once again. We only made it down for a few breakfast's, however these were top notch. And another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain9061
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this review

hello Iain and Marion, thank you for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure to look after you on your honeymoon last week. Once again, congratulations and may you have long and happy wedded life. We hope to see you soon and until then Sally and I wish you both Best wishes.

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Very friendly hosts (Dennis and Sally). Pleasant room. Extremely comfortable bed. Lovely breakfast. Very near to Winter Gardens / Tower. Good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali P
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this review

hello Alison, thank you for posting a review on TA on your recent visit to the Osprey hotel. we are glad that you found the location of the hotel very handy for your convention in the Winter Gardens. Also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. thanks, Dennis and Sally.

Cowdenbeath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Took a last minute trip to Blackpool on the way home to Scotland at the weekend and stopped in at Charnley Road for a B&B. First one we saw was the Osprey Hotel, and were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our room. Double rooms were booked so we were placed into a family room for the night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this review

hello Neil, thank you for your constructive and descriptive review. It was our pleasure to look after you and Jillian on your recent visit and hopefully we'll see you in September. regards, Dennis and Sally.

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Having found the Osprey Hotel just by a Google search we were very impressed on our arrival. Dennis and Sally the proprietors made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were delicious and our family roomm was clean, comfortable and great en-suite facilites. Would definately stay again as would recommend to anyone. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this review

hello the Lanning family. thank you for posting your review on TA. It was our pleasure to have you and your family staying with us at the Osprey hotel on your recent visit to Blackpool. we are glad that you enjoyed your breakfasts and found the room clean and comfortable. we hope to see you soon, and until then take...

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our stay at The Osprey was brilliant- I stayed with a friend for a long weekend and we were made very welcome by our hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, the room was lovely, and breakfast each morning was really yummy! The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the sea front and most of the major attractions, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherylBi
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this review

hello Cheryl, thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at the Osprey hotel. we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay finding the room clean and comfortable and also the location of the hotel. we hope to see you again, regards, Dennis and Sally.

Limassol
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Dennis and Sally are excellent host. After a long journey from Cyprus they made us very welcome. Our room was clean with central heating, en-suite facilities. The breakfast was to die for and kept us going for the rest of the day. Would certainly stay with them again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this review

hello Earnest, thank you for posting your review on TA. Sally and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference last week. We hope you had a good day in Manchester before flying back to Cyprus and now enjoying the lovely climate you have out there. Enjoy the summer and hope to see you next...

Cramlington
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Having to spend a weekend at conference in Blackpool I booked this hotel from a list supplied by the Blackpool Tourist Office who rated it 3 star. I can only assume that their reviewer must be blind, or mad, or both. This place doesn't deserve any stars at all ! On arrival I found an old terraced house, it's garish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rafaman
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all our reviews very seriously and appreciate your candid remarks. I agree that our single room is small and there is not much we can do about the size of the room. However, although the room is small it has its own En-suite, flat screen TV, Tea/coffee making facilities and a hair dryer,...

Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Dennis and Sally are excellent hosts, breakfast was perfect for us. Cooked us a beautiful traditional Indian meal which was one of the best meals we've eaten ( love Indian food!) They are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Room was very clean and presentable, bed was very comfy. That's all we ask for a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susieflop
superden23, Owner at The Osprey, responded to this review

Dear Sue,Tony, Sylvia and Les, Thank you for taking time out to put a review on TA. It was our pleasure to ensure that you had a pleasant stay whilst you here at the Osprey GH, and glad that you enjoyed your evening meal. We hope to see you again at next year's conference and until then,Sally and I wish...

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 km away
Vidella Hotel
Vidella Hotel
#72 of 72 in Blackpool
580 reviews
0.0 km away
The Delamere Hotel
The Delamere Hotel
#156 of 911 in Blackpool
119 reviews
0.5 km away
The Miramar
The Miramar
#639 of 911 in Blackpool
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Clifton Private Hotel
Clifton Private Hotel
#164 of 911 in Blackpool
155 reviews
0.1 km away
Charnley Gold Hotel
Charnley Gold Hotel
#71 of 911 in Blackpool
265 reviews
0.0 km away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#57 of 911 in Blackpool
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfect for families and couples, The Osprey is ideally situated, in a quiet location, in the very heart of Blackpool with short walks to most of the major attractions including The Tower, The Winter Gardens, The Opera House, The Grand Theatre, Madame Tussauds, Sea Life, The Blackpool Tower Dungeon and Circus, Blackpool F.C and the Houndshill Shopping Centre with an array of shops including Debenhams, Primark, River Island, Next, Monsoon and many more. A short taxi or tram ride also gets you to The Pleasure Beach and South Shore within a few minutes. With our focus firmly on families and couples we offer good clean, well maintained and homely accommodation giving the emphasis on comfort, Quality and value for money. Parking: we are able to offer some free parking spaces, on a first come first served basis, subject to availability however there are several public car parks within a very short walking distance with reasonable prices and we will be happy to provide full details on request. We are pleased to announce that following a recent assessment by VisitEngland we have now been awarded a three Star Guest Accommodation rating ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Osprey

Address: 27 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osprey 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Osprey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Osprey staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Castleford, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Osprey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 9 a little smalll”
linda25159, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room 6 was at the rear and quite.”
JoannaH461, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
“£28 for b&b with central location can't go wrong!”
Jane267, 17 Aug 2014 | Read review
“If any family members have problem with stairs, i'd speak to the hotel first before you book to see room availability and a lower floor.”
Andi0473, 28 Jul 2014 | Read review
“there is a car park very close by if you cant get parked on the front.”
muumyj, 13 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
HotelQuickly
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
Toprooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates