We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melville Hotel

TravelocityUSD 91*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 462: English reviews
Start your review of Melville Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was in a great location , the staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel is basically what you pay for...cheap & cheerful. The breakfast was nice and the prices in the bar were cheap. The bedroom we were in was clean enough although there was a bit of a stinky smell when we first entered the room but after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay I
MelvilleandOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about the funny smell in the room and we will investigate further. Thank you for staying at our hotel.

Reviewed 9 April 2017

worst hotel I've ever stayed. Came here last minute deal for the national Jesus Christ had I known how bad this place was I'd have brought a tent. No hot water in the shower as we were on the top floor. Needed antihistamines for the dust. Skid marks on the toilet from the previous guests. Place rotten of sewerage. Mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bunter2011
MelvilleandOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We had a problem with a burst pipe (we didn't know at the time) and I am sorry you missed out on a hot shower, if you had raised your concerns with our staff, they will always do...

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Melville Hotel at the end of March. We were met by a very friendly staff who could'nt be more helpful we were shown to warm, comfortable bedroom which was en suite...as are all the rooms...the dinners and breakfasts were served by friendly efficient staff. The cost for bed, breakfast and evening meal was very reasonable The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tonybarber1939
MelvilleandOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel, we are really thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and welcome you back any time you want to visit.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Great hotel in great location lovely food friendly staff looking forward to going back again this year. Bar prices were cheaper than the bars and clubs room was clean and tidy good selection of food nice staff in dining room

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amwalters
MelvilleandOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ann-Marie, what a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to leave one, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

stay at this hotel 3-4 times a year ,i honestly wouldnt stay anywhere else ,the staff are wonderfull especially shaun and carol ,the food is great ,the hotel is in a great location near to shops and tower and also the winter gardens ,i would recomend this hotel ,and i cant wait to return there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 602mandy
MelvilleandOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

So great to hear that Mandy, it's always a pleasure to have you choose our hotel when you come to Blackpool.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Stayed here again on 30th December with a group of friends from Newcastle and have a couple of things to say about the place... Staff wise, as per usual was great. Some of us arrived late and we were greeted by Carol and her son Stewart (who were there the first time we visited). Both clearly professional and customer focused;...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank janephilips16
MelvilleandOxford, General Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jane, Thank you very much for your review of your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about the staff and have taken everything on board and will follow up on your feedback. We have been transitioning through staff and...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Stayed with friends for a short break on a National Holidays weekend at the end of November. Hotel was very basic and really dated. Our 2 persons room was really small. The bed was clean but there was an awful smell coming from the drains in the bathroom. The TV needed the remote and this was available from Reception. Coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillygins
MelvilleandOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months.

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016

hotel was in great location, close to tower and shops.staff were very friendly and breakfast were good the only problem was our room was close to bar and some people have no consideration for others.enjoyed going to top of tower and seeing the lights

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
MelvilleandOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sandra, thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed the locality and staff, when you book again please let our team know you would like a room away from the bar area and we will do our upmost to facilitate this.

LIVERSEDGE
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Had One night dinner bed and breakfast at this hotel.On entering the bedroom we found a "cupboard door" on the bed, Wardrobe Doors which did not fit, Chair arm fell off,Continuous running hot water in the bathroom...could not turn the tap off.Dirty cups not washed from previous visitors.Now to the meals.Soup and roll served quickly then about 40 minute wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RON T
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Nice friendly welcome, clean bed and towels. Other people on our trip expected the Hilton. We got what we paid for and after a party night it was a great morning after breakfast. We had a great time and would go again. Without the moaners though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mojojojo1958

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Bridal Room (17)
Viewed
Double Room (18)
Viewed
Family Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Second Double Room (18)
Viewed
Single Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)
Viewed
Third Double Room (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 km away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 70 in Blackpool
1,258 reviews
0.2 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 70 in Blackpool
196 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 70 in Blackpool
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
966 reviews
0.1 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
327 reviews
0.2 km away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#57 of 70 in Blackpool
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Address: 70-72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $67 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melville Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Melville Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bottom floors have hot water showers”
Bunter2011, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask not to be near the bar as rooms are in the corridors leading to the bar”
914sandraw, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“dont think there is any good rooms”
brennans091822, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cannot recommend”
StephenBCroydon, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 36”
popsyowl, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 91* /night
View Deal
ElvolineUSD 100
TripAdvisorUSD 91
Orbitz.comUSD 91
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates