We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Imperial Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,979 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,968: English reviews
Start your review of The Imperial Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well what can you say about the Imperial? It is steeped in history and Charles Dickens was one of the first guests, also every British Prime Minister up to Tony Blair, who took the Labour Party Conference away from Blackpool. But the No 10 Bar is full of history as you gaze up at Churchill, Baldwin, Chamberlain, Eden, Wilson, Thatcher...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ermm staff were lovely.. But the food was a letter down .we went chippy afterwards for chips and peas Scones were tiny .I'm a vegetarian I was told cakes were OK for me I really didn't believe them .as jelly has gelatin in it !!! And lemon tart !!! A letter down .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cuffy31
Ossett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Second visit and not disappointed, the hotel is 150 years old so expect individual and quirky rooms and facilities. We had 3 days of relaxation watching the world go by. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, nothing seems too much trouble for them. The hotel is situated in the ideal place on the north promenade and has a tram...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart R
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 322 last night. Our room was a standard double so did not have a great view, but was a lovely large spacious room, very clean, with a really comfy bed. The bathroom was large also with a full size bath and brilliant Mira shower. The walls are really solid in this charming Victorian building so although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for work in a sea view room Was everything you'd want a seaside hotel to be like The room wasn't amazing, yes it was tired and needed a refurb , yes the pillow was lumpy , the bed sloped but it added to the seaside feel of a UK seaside. I don't think they should be allowed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bottomle
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Upside Excellent staff, nothing is too much trouble. Excellent breakfast and afternoon tea, tram and bus stop outside, phone for taxi at reception. Large rooms, very clean and tidy Downside - Draughty in reception when wind blows hard and entertainment very loud and late (but if you ask, reception will get it turned down somewhat). Avoid busy times at breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
Hong Kong
Reviewed 1 week ago

This must have been a magnificent hotel when Charles Dickens was one of the early guests, and its public rooms still bear testament to those early grandeurs. Take afternoon tea in the lovely Derby Room with views of the Irish Sea and be transported back to more stylish Victorian times. Our accommodation told a different story : a garret room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mapHongKong
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay, I'm delighted you loved the history and grandeur of the building and hope you enjoyed your afternoon tea. I have to admit we had a new boiler fitted last week and there was an air lock affecting the hot water and heating. With an engineer on...

wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed many times this will be our last. Tired room had to call housekeeping as heating not working. Single glazed windows therefore condensation +++ General feeling of this old building needs a lot of love and money spending on it. Pool area not very welcoming, steam room not working Breakfast ok

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Meandmyhusband2017
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay. I'm so disappointed to read you struggled with the heating and I do hope the team responded quickly to this. I don't know if you noticed while you were here but we have recently refurbished much of the public areas including the bar and restaurant. We've also...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked on booking.com and to be honest we weren't expecting much as a lot of the reviews said it was tired. Staff were friendly and the hotel still holds its grandeur. Clean rooms and excellent breakfast. Couldn't find fault

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Helen for your lovely review, I'm delighted the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed yourselves, I do hope you had lots of time to enjoy Blackpool and experience all our vibrant town has to offer! Best wishes, Alison

ATHERTON
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I booked a two night stay and were given a double room on the first floor number 115, which overlooked the back of the hotel. The room was clean and had quite a large window that would only open about 4inches, this was a problem because the heat in the room was unbearable even though there wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CharlotteAtherton
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Charlotte for your recent review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and have to agree the breakfast is just fabulous isn't it? Thanks for your comments about the pigeons, I appreciate you elaborating so that I can identify the area concerned and I'll speak to my Maintenance team to see what else we can do in this...

759 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (703)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (161)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (297)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3,743 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
968 reviews
4.4 km away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
417 reviews
0.9 km away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
1,829 reviews
1.0 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $67 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Imperial Hotel staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Warrington, United Kingdom
Burnley, United Kingdom

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“322 is a large room but over looks the rear of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles helenw272, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the side or front of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlotteAtherton, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra for an superior sea view room or for that special occasion a suite”
 of 5 bubbles laniaboys, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“delux double with view number 112”
 of 5 bubbles domuniqueg, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just make sure they give you the one you are booked in for.”
 of 5 bubbles KenKer_13, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5