We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Royal Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Went Monday to Monday and enjoyed our stay. Room clean and adequate for our needs. Hotel in a great location for all attractions and shops. Food good and excellent service. Nothing to complain about and we would return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann U
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you would return, please recommend us to your friends and family! We do hope you won't leave it too long to visit again, take care GUEST RELATIONS

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel from 23 to 26 September with my dad (age 77) and my son (age 12). Room was clean and fine for a short stay. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, dinner on the other hand was a bit disappointing. There were 3 sittings available and it was anything but a liesurely meal, to keep things moving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connorscott
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review. We are very sorry we haven't met your expectations on this occasion. The Royal Alexandra is just one of many hotels we offer at Blackpool Promotions, i would maybe suggest either the Royal Carlton or the newly refurbished Royal Boston next time for a less hectic stay as these hotels offer a more...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

went on a blackpool promotions mega deal package so we did not know the hotel till 3 days befor we left the hotel is a bit tierd but fine no good if you have limated mobility. the staf were helpful the maid did not leave milk but I just asked at reception and she gave me a hand full food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine B
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. All guest comments are taken on board so we can improve on our already great product. Its great to hear that you would consider us again, hopefully soon! Take care GUEST RELATIONS

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

went on blackpool promotions,monday to Friday room was ok ,staff fine and helpful,like lots of places in blackpool hotels they try there best but paint work and such lots to be desired.breakfast cerial fresh juices .bacon beans sausage egg waffle every morning but enough for me and wendy.evening meals done in 3 sittings would recommend the last one then perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Montgomery S
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We hope you will visit us again in the future, GUEST RELATIONS

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Horrible unhelpful reception staff. Room was smelly, dark & dingy. Constant noise from entertainment & kitchen/dinning room. Then I got the bin collection noise!! It was great as central hotel but the abrupt staff, noise and room let it down greatly. Quite a few people were not happy with their rooms and attitude of staff. So it says a lot....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dynamicpink
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are very sorry we haven't met your expectations on this occasion. We aim to ensure all guests have a fantastic time away and it saddens us when we receive negative feedback. All guest comments are taken on board so we can improve. If you would like me to investigate this further please email all details to james.bates@blackpoolpromotions.com...

Tayport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Spent a weekend at this hotel with my partner although we had single rooms as my daughter was originally going but couldn't make it. The rooms are small but comfortable and adequately equipped with tv, tea and coffee and on suite bathroom. The staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful, food also very good. This hotel is very central being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muttley61
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we thank you for taking the time to post a review. Great to hear you had a lovely time at the hotel and that you would recommend us! It really means a lot to us when our guests post lovely reviews, our staff work ever so hard so its great to hear them get a mention :) We...

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Just spent a long weekend here with a large group of friends & it was great! Rooms although quite small (we had a twin) had everything we needed, were v clean & nicely decorated. We arrived Friday afternoon & check in was v straight forward. We went for tea & I have to admit it was dire! We already decided...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mummyduck1963
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations regarding meals on the Friday night. We do urge all guests to notify management immediately should something not be up to standard, that way issues can be rectified there and then. Our staff will always do everything they can to accommodate. The 99p Bar is...

Newmilns, Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

-i was at this hotel for 8 day the staff was very helful and the meal very lovely and the staff was good at thye bar it was also good i will be back next year the room where clean and tidy as well itis good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind review- each and every positive review makes us grow stronger, we are very glad you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and found the staff helpful, hope to see you back again soon GUEST RELATIONS

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

just got back and won't be going again.. on arrival was given the keys to room 107. and told where to go. when we opened the door it was so noisy, the window was the open and there was a exstactor fan outside the window. my husband went and asked if there was another room and the man on reception...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hurstie79
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are very sorry we haven't met your expectations on this occasion- we do ask that if anything is not up to standard during your stay to raise issues with management so they can be dealt with there and then, we have management on hand every day at the hotel- if you had asked for the duty manager...

g32 7ea
Reviewed 28 August 2016

the hotel staff where great entertainment was excellent rooms bit small was fine for me as I came myself rooms where clean breakfast and meals where lovley close to everything very central for what I paid for my holiday it was worth every penny .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandrakennedy
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your lovely review. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Alexandra- please visit us again soon in the near future! GUEST RELATIONS

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 km away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
798 reviews
2.4 km away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#8 of 72 in Blackpool
793 reviews
0.1 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#44 of 72 in Blackpool
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
310 reviews
0.1 km away
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
#62 of 72 in Blackpool
457 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished town centre hotel right in the heart of the resort close to the Winter Gardens, The Grand and all the amusements your heart could desire,beautiful en-suite rooms for all, including our four poster, doubles, twins triples and large family rooms with cot beds, each room has refreshments and 26 or 32 LCD flat screen TVs.Our hotel serves a buffet breakfast were you can eat and drink as much as you like. Alexandra boasts a coffee shop where morning coffee and afternoon tea is served and we pride in home baking,Evening meals for fill most appetites with a choice of menu with fresh local produce daily. Evening entertainment in our cosy cabaret bar with fun and games for all, If you are peckish call room service for our 24 hour house menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Address: 74 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $61 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Ayr, United Kingdom
11 days ago
16 days ago
5 months ago
Dunfermline
6 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not good for disabled as there are lots of steps and narrow passages.”
 of 5 bubbles janets245, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great stay at The Royal Alexandra”
 of 5 bubbles 355adeled, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 313!”
 of 5 bubbles simonwZ7945KE, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None to give”
 of 5 bubbles W8760IGlesleym, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lifts for each floor but only would accommodate 2 safely, 4 at a push”
 of 5 bubbles 360maureenb, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5