We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 265: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelled to Blackpool for a 5 day illuminations trip through Blackpool Promotions from 17th -21st October and stayed at the Royal Alexandra Hotel. The trip was perfect from start to finish. The hotel is being refurbished so not all of the rooms have been redecorated, but we were fortunate enough to be allocated a refurbished family room which was great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, what a great review! Thank you! It's brilliant that you had such a great time on holiday with us, all of our staff work extremely hard so i'm sure Mark and his team will be very pleased to hear of your kind words. It's great to know that you will be using Blackpool Promotions for all of your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel in the perfect location for a lot of the attractions!! The food was delicious with plenty of choice and the waiting staff were second to none, we will definitely be back, thanks for a wonderful stay 😀

Helpful?
Thank lisa m
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your lovely review. It really is warming to hear of your wonderful holiday and fabulous that you found our food delicious! We hope you won't leave it too long until your next visit, from myself, Mark, Sophie and the rest of the hard working team we wish you all the best and hope to see... More 

england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here Mon-Fri, not the best hotel we've stayed in because it needs a bit of tlc , but great value for money! Restaurant staff VERY efficient and friendly, other guests complained of small breakfast ( 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg, hash brown, beans) was enough for us. Food hot and tasty. Great location, would def stay again.

Helpful?
Thank oompaloompah
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest we thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are aiming to roll out refurbishments to all areas of the hotel in due course, this will happen but as you can appreciate unfortunately this takes time so please bear with us. Its great to hear of your fab holiday and we hope you will... More 

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

On arriving we were greeted at reception by a very nice member of staff who game me my room key and told me and my son how to get to our room, We had to use a very small lift. It only fits two people in it. On entering room 202 I noticed that it was nicely decorated and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adele D
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your in depth very kind review. It's lovely to hear you had a great time on holiday with us, we do take all guest comments on board so we can improve so i'd like to thank you raising matters. It would be lovely to see you again in the future and it's great that would... More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Paid 210 for a double room for 2 nights was given a room no more than 10 ft squared Inc bathroom ! Was nothing like pics on Internet very disappointed been in better £25 b+b talking of breakfast the size is fine if you about 6 years old !

Helpful?
Thank Simon W
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for bringing matters to our attention. It is through guest comments and feedback we monitor so we can improve. We really do hope you are not deterred from staying with us or Blackpool Promotions in the future, hope to see you again soon, GUEST RELATIONS More 

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonpans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel 17th Oct for 5 days was in a refurbished family room on the ground floor which was very tastefully decorated plenty wardrobe room for family of fours clothes the staff were very friendly and the meals were very good I did hear some complaints about size of breakfast but who has sausage bacon egg beans and hash... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daisyprestonpans
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your kind review, it really means a lot to us! It's lovely to hear you had a brilliant time on holiday with us, we do hope you will recommend us to your friends, hope to see you again soon! Thanks again GUEST RELATIONS More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We went with blackpool promotions, BAD POINTS. We were put in a run down bedroom, wardrobe door giving way but at least we had a wardrobe, most people we spoke to did not, shower had mould on it ,room very small for 2 people ,view from the window was a brick wall ,towels not changed in 4 days ,cleanleness was... More 

Helpful?
Thank lesley m
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for bringing matters to our attention and taking time to write a review- we do take all guest comments and feedback on board so we can improve. The Royal Alexandra like many of our hotels is currently underway with refurbishments, many of the ground floor rooms are complete and receiving excellent reviews- we aim to roll... More 

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Just had a 5 day break at this hotel thru Blackpool Promotions We were in room 10, a room that faced the main road. Have to say this room was very noisy due to the amount of traffic on this main road, and the hotel is desperately needing upgraded. This room had a terrible creaky floor, but if you look... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to pop us a review. We value all guest comments and feedback and take everything on board so we can aim to improve. The Royal Alexandra is currently underway with refurbishments, we have recently completed a lower ground section of the hotel and aim to roll this same standard out to the... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here Friday to Monday and cannot fault the rooms or the food or serving staff!!! I had been really worried reading the reviews but hotel is nothing like what folk are posting!! Yes food portions are small but they are adequate and the serving staff could not be more accommodating!! Our only gripe was that there was no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are sorry we haven't met your expectations on this occasion. It's great to hear that for the most part you had a fabulous time with us! In regards to reception staff- It is through guest comments and feedback that we monitor so we can improve, your comments are very valuable to us... More 

Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

After reading the mixed reviews we booked our 3 night B&B stay with Booking.com for single rooms. Yes the rooms are quite small but the beds & bedding was fine as was the shower/toilet. Top half of windows open wide, sockets next to mirror for hair straighteners etc,and bedside shelf has light/shade & handy socket for phone charger. New carpet... More 

Helpful?
Thank hielsa
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your very kind review. Your comments and feedback are very valuable to us. It's lovely to hear you had such a great time at the hotel and that you found our hard working staff polite and helpful. Tarryn will be very pleased to hear of your kind words. We do hope you won't leave it... More 

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 km away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#30 of 72 in Blackpool
766 reviews
2.4 km away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
771 reviews
0.0 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#26 of 72 in Blackpool
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 72 in Blackpool
658 reviews
0.1 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#43 of 72 in Blackpool
194 reviews
0.1 km away
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
#62 of 72 in Blackpool
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished town centre hotel right in the heart of the resort close to the Winter Gardens, The Grand and all the amusements your heart could desire,beautiful en-suite rooms for all, including our four poster, doubles, twins triples and large family rooms with cot beds, each room has refreshments and 26 or 32 LCD flat screen TVs.Our hotel serves a buffet breakfast were you can eat and drink as much as you like. Alexandra boasts a coffee shop where morning coffee and afternoon tea is served and we pride in home baking,Evening meals for fill most appetites with a choice of menu with fresh local produce daily. Evening entertainment in our cosy cabaret bar with fun and games for all, If you are peckish call room service for our 24 hour house menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Address: 74 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $72 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
22 hours ago
3 months ago
Dunfermline
4 months ago
5 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great stay at The Royal Alexandra”
 of 5 bubbles 355adeled, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 313!”
 of 5 bubbles simonwZ7945KE, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None to give”
 of 5 bubbles W8760IGlesleym, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lifts for each floor but only would accommodate 2 safely, 4 at a push”
 of 5 bubbles 360maureenb, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles hielsa, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay