We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 269: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here Twixmas 2016 our room was a family double bed and bunk beds nice view of the tower. It was recently decorated fresh paint new carpet lovely bathroom suite only complaint about bathroom was not enough light when using shower. Paper thin walls I could hear my mum and son from corridor and door was closed. Dinning room again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelz139
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for your very kind review. It's wonderful to learn of your great holiday at the Royal Alexandra. Mark and his team will be very pleased you found our newly decorated rooms lovely, in regards to the light in the shower-thank you for your comments, all guest feedback is taken on board so we can aim to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here over the Christmas period and had a fantastic time! I heard others complain about their rooms but couldn't fault ours at all. As others have said corridors etc are narrow but so are a lot of hotels that I have stayed in! The food was ok, not top end but you get what you pay for and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A J
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it really is wonderful to hear you had such a great festive holiday with us. We are pleased you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed our food. We took extra time planning our Christmas break this year and our chefs and kitchen staff worked extremely hard preparing the food so we will be sure...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked into here for what was supposed to be a nice trip to celebrate new year our room was on 3rd floor which was a trek to get to on coming out of lift which only 2 people had to use we entered the maze through 2 fire doors down steps through door to get to it corridors so narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are so sorry to learn the Royal Alexandra was not to your personal taste. We do kindly ask all of our guests to notify our reception team / management immediately should something not be up to standard during your holiday. That way it gives us the opportunity to rectify issues there and then to ensure a more...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for the xmas period. The room was a bit small and tired but this was more than compensated for by the hotel staff who were great. Nothing was too much trouble and they worked hard to ensure everyone's comfort. There was always snacks and beverages available and the meals were great especially Christmas dinner. There was entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, many thanks for your review. It's lovely to hear you had such a wonderful holiday at the Royal Alexandra Hotel. Our staff will be very pleased to hear that nothing was too much trouble and they made your stay such a memorable one. Our Christmas break has had lovely feedback and it sure sounds like our Christmas Dinner...

Reviewed 2 November 2016

Travelled to Blackpool for a 5 day illuminations trip through Blackpool Promotions from 17th -21st October and stayed at the Royal Alexandra Hotel. The trip was perfect from start to finish. The hotel is being refurbished so not all of the rooms have been redecorated, but we were fortunate enough to be allocated a refurbished family room which was great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen B
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, what a great review! Thank you! It's brilliant that you had such a great time on holiday with us, all of our staff work extremely hard so i'm sure Mark and his team will be very pleased to hear of your kind words. It's great to know that you will be using Blackpool Promotions for all of your...

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the perfect location for a lot of the attractions!! The food was delicious with plenty of choice and the waiting staff were second to none, we will definitely be back, thanks for a wonderful stay 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa m
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your lovely review. It really is warming to hear of your wonderful holiday and fabulous that you found our food delicious! We hope you won't leave it too long until your next visit, from myself, Mark, Sophie and the rest of the hard working team we wish you all the best and hope to see...

england
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here Mon-Fri, not the best hotel we've stayed in because it needs a bit of tlc , but great value for money! Restaurant staff VERY efficient and friendly, other guests complained of small breakfast ( 1 bacon, 1 sausage, 1 egg, hash brown, beans) was enough for us. Food hot and tasty. Great location, would def stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oompaloompah
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest we thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are aiming to roll out refurbishments to all areas of the hotel in due course, this will happen but as you can appreciate unfortunately this takes time so please bear with us. Its great to hear of your fab holiday and we hope you will...

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

On arriving we were greeted at reception by a very nice member of staff who game me my room key and told me and my son how to get to our room, We had to use a very small lift. It only fits two people in it. On entering room 202 I noticed that it was nicely decorated and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adele D
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your in depth very kind review. It's lovely to hear you had a great time on holiday with us, we do take all guest comments on board so we can improve so i'd like to thank you raising matters. It would be lovely to see you again in the future and it's great that would...

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Paid 210 for a double room for 2 nights was given a room no more than 10 ft squared Inc bathroom ! Was nothing like pics on Internet very disappointed been in better £25 b+b talking of breakfast the size is fine if you about 6 years old !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for bringing matters to our attention. It is through guest comments and feedback we monitor so we can improve. We really do hope you are not deterred from staying with us or Blackpool Promotions in the future, hope to see you again soon, GUEST RELATIONS

Prestonpans
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel 17th Oct for 5 days was in a refurbished family room on the ground floor which was very tastefully decorated plenty wardrobe room for family of fours clothes the staff were very friendly and the meals were very good I did hear some complaints about size of breakfast but who has sausage bacon egg beans and hash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisyprestonpans
james b, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your kind review, it really means a lot to us! It's lovely to hear you had a brilliant time on holiday with us, we do hope you will recommend us to your friends, hope to see you again soon! Thanks again GUEST RELATIONS

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 km away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#31 of 72 in Blackpool
781 reviews
2.4 km away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
792 reviews
0.0 km away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#26 of 72 in Blackpool
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#44 of 72 in Blackpool
194 reviews
0.2 km away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#56 of 72 in Blackpool
86 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#30 of 72 in Blackpool
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Refurbished town centre hotel right in the heart of the resort close to the Winter Gardens, The Grand and all the amusements your heart could desire,beautiful en-suite rooms for all, including our four poster, doubles, twins triples and large family rooms with cot beds, each room has refreshments and 26 or 32 LCD flat screen TVs.Our hotel serves a buffet breakfast were you can eat and drink as much as you like. Alexandra boasts a coffee shop where morning coffee and afternoon tea is served and we pride in home baking,Evening meals for fill most appetites with a choice of menu with fresh local produce daily. Evening entertainment in our cosy cabaret bar with fun and games for all, If you are peckish call room service for our 24 hour house menu. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Address: 74 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $66 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Dunfermline
5 months ago
6 months ago
over a year ago
Castleford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not good for disabled as there are lots of steps and narrow passages.”
 of 5 bubbles janets245, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great stay at The Royal Alexandra”
 of 5 bubbles 355adeled, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 313!”
 of 5 bubbles simonwZ7945KE, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None to give”
 of 5 bubbles W8760IGlesleym, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lifts for each floor but only would accommodate 2 safely, 4 at a push”
 of 5 bubbles 360maureenb, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay