We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Alexandra Hotel

Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Royal Alexandra Hotel has 89 en-suite bedrooms offering a wide range of family rooms, double rooms, twin rooms and single rooms with a limited number of rooms available on request at lift level for those with limited mobility. The Royal Alexandra hotel is not suitable for guests with severe mobility difficulties – all guests must be able to negotiate a flight of stairs on entry to the hotel, guests should make the hotel aware at time of booking of any specific mobility issues and we will do our utmost to allocate a more suitable bedroom available. The Royal Alexandra Hotel is a family friendly Hotel with fantastic live cabaret entertainment every night showcasing a variety of Blackpool’s finest vocalists, musicians and comedians. The Royal Alexandra hotel has an enviable reputation for its great food, ideal location and efficient friendly service. The Royal Alexandra Hotel offers FREE WIFI in public areas.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
204Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
77Attractionswithin 0.5 km
421Reviews
99Photos
32Q+A
90Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 113
  • 119
  • 79
  • 50
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Literally the worst hotel I have stayed in, in my whole life! I went to check in, and unfortunately one of my party wasn't there. The receptionist asked where they were, and I kindly explained that they were running late, and would be around 30 minutes. He sighed loudly, and
Read more
Response from BlackpoolPromotions, Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday with us at The Royal Alexandra Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. With regards to check in, this issue has been passed onto hotel management and will be investigated as this is not our usual standard, we normally get excellent feedback on our reception staff. Unfortunately, we cannot always guarantee rooms next to each other this is always explained at the time of booking, however we do always try our best to meet guests’ requests. I would suggest calling the hotel prior to your arrival in the future and we will be more than happy to help. We apologise for any disturbance you had during the night, our night porters are on hand from 11pm - 8am and will always happily try to resolve any issues you have during this time. With regards to you not being able to move rooms, this is also being looked into by management, we always try to ensure guests are moved to a more suitable room if one is available. We do hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future as we do value your custom very much. Thank you once again for your review, Best wishes from the team
Read more
Hotel staff was very rude hotel clean but room was small and very hot with squeaky floor board and quiet a lot of noise at night want be staying there again only good thing is was near to the tower and shop.
Read more
Response from BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Christine P, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to learn you are not fully satisfied with your recent stay at the Royal Alexandra. The Royal Alexandra is one of Blackpool's most popular hotels and usually receives wonderful feedback from many returning guests due to the excellent service delivered. It saddens us to hear of the issue raised regarding service at the hotel, should you wish to discuss this in a little more detail, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us and we will investigate further, however we do thank you bringing matters to our attention - guest feedback is incredibly important to us as it helps us improve on the standard and quality of our service in the future. In reference to your room - we are also sad this wasn't to your expectations, we do kindly ask guests to please raise any issues with reception immediately so they can be rectified there and then to ensure a more comfortable stay. We may have allocated another more suitable room, subject to availability - as a kind resolution. We do hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future as we do value your custom very much. Thank you once again for your review, Best wishes from the team GUEST RELATIONS
Read more
My husband and I returned again to this hotel (this time for Hogmanay...3 night visit). Staff recognised us straight away and we were welcomed once more. Our room was larger this time, which was brilliant (although our room before was adequate). It was very clean and
Read more
Response from BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel
Responded 4 Jan. 2019
Dear Shell & Chris, Thank you so much for the very kind review. We are absolutely delighted you had such a wonderful holiday at the Royal Alexandra Hotel over the New Year period. Being such loyal returning guests, your feedback means so much to us. We very pleased that as with previous visits, our staff made you feel so welcome. It's also great that you were very pleased with your room, this made us smile! Thank you for the great comments on our food, as you know - the Royal Alexandra prides itself on delivering excellent food with fabulous service so it's lovely to hear you enjoyed the food on offer. We will pass on your very kind words to our chef and restaurant team. The entertainment during the time in which you stayed has received wonderful feedback, we're happy you enjoyed this also! All in all we are so pleased you had a fabulous new year break with us and we will look forward to welcoming you hopefully in the summer, best wishes from the staff and management GUEST RELATIONS
Read more
Visited this hotel for new year with a group of 16 people looking to spend the new year together. First night get cheekily told we can't hold tables their is plenty seats for everyone then new years eve couldn't get a seat when we spoke to member of staff they just shrugged
Read more
Response from BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel
Responded 4 Jan. 2019
Dear Cheryl, Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent holiday with us, we are sad to learn you are not fully satisfied. In reference to your room, we are sorry this wasn't to your expectations - having checked our handover reports, i see that you were dissatisfied with the size of your room to which management immediately kindly offered a transfer to another more suitable room as a resolution however unfortunately there are no reports of the issue with the shower as stated in your review. This matter would have been dealt with promptly by staff once made aware, please accept our apologies and we thank you for bringing matters to our attention. Our rooms are not identical in floor space unfortunately and all vary in both size and style however we are pleased staff quickly resolved your room size issue. With regards to seating in our cabaret lounge, as staff kindly stated - unfortunately we do not reserve seats and tables. We do kindly advise guests go to the evening entertainment around the 7.30pm mark to ensure a good seat and to enable groups to be seated together in the bar area however there is ample seating for all guests staying with us. After speaking with the bar staff on duty during the time in which you stayed, i understand you entered our cabaret lounge at 5.30pm to place drinks and jackets on tables and did not return until 7.30pm, i understand you also moved tables together for your party. Staff had to move these tables unfortunately as they were obstructing a fire exit - this i believe was kindly explained to you. Following on from this, management state you notified them of your dissatisfaction due to the moved tables to which staff immediately brought extra chairs for your party to enable you all to be seated together. I do believe that staff at the Royal Alexandra acted professionally and courteously and did everything they could to make your stay the best it could be. As a further note - our logs show that members of your party shouted obscenities at one of our cabaret singers whilst performing on one particular evening which ultimately resulted in the performer having to leave early. We do endeavour to deliver a wonderful holiday experience to all our guests so it does sadden us to receive negative feedback, with five hotels within the Royal Hotels group there is plenty of choice for a wonderful Blackpool holiday so we do hope you will choose Royal Hotels again in the future. Many thanks once again for your feedback, GUEST RELATIONS
Read more
We stayed with grand children ,daughter and son-in-law for two nights . Bedroom was adequate for us fairly clean nice clean towels and clean bathroom. I had pulled the beds straight before we went out and I didn’t see any evidence that the maid had actually done anything the
Read more
Response from BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel
Responded 11 Nov. 2018
Dear Sue, Thank you for your feedback on your recent holiday. We are sorry to hear the Royal Alexandra didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. With regards to your room not being serviced correctly, this has been passed onto the Hotel's Management and will be investigated. In reference to breakfast, unfortunately our restaurant does get extremely busy at times during the season, and we do ask people to have a seat in the reception area and guests will be called as soon as a table becomes available. Our restaurant team work extremely hard to make sure tables are cleared quickly and guests are not left waiting to long. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the nightly entertainment that the hotel offers. We have five highly recommended Hotels within our group so we do hope you are not deterred from staying at the Royal Hotels again in the future, thank you once again for your feedback GUEST RELATIONS
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Cheap, nasty, spoiled views and dirty towels all weekend long!
Cheap, nasty, spoiled views and dirty towels all weekend long!
filthy window sill
broken n stained ceiling tiles
PreviousNext
1234568
does the hotel have a car park
Np it does not have a car park
0 votes
Hi There, Blackpool North Train Station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel - should you wish to take a taxi it would more than likely be minimum fare. Thank you GUEST RELATIONS
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi There, yes breakfast can be purchased on a day to day basis whilst at the hotel from reception, Thank you GUEST RELATIONS
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi there, no it is loading only outside the hotel - there is however a car park nearby which offers reasonable rates of around £7 for 24hrs, Thank you GUEST RELATIONS
0 votes
Hi there, thank you for the message - yes we have single rooms available, should you book through ourselves at Blackpool Promotions we don't charge a single room supplement. There are pay and display car parks nearby just up the road which offer reasonable rates of around £7 for 24hrs Thank you GUEST RELATIONS
0 votes
PreviousNext
1234567
"Tip for a good room, go somewhere else!"
"Bring Ear plugs."
"Back rooms quieter"
"This place is a warren, it's impossible to give advice!"
"Lovely clean rooms , staff were friendly, lovely breakfast, great location "
PreviousNext
12345618
PRICE RANGE
USD 32 - USD 125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBlackpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing