We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gainsborough Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gainsborough Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 241: English reviews
Start your review of Gainsborough Hotel
 Click to rate
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We dont usually put reviews or things like this on web sites but I am moved to do so this time. We love Blackpool and go there a few times a year always staying here. We find the staff helpful and polite, the rooms clean and bright, parking is spot on. Breakfast is really awesome and the location is perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeardyJohn
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on the weekend. Was a lovely stay. Will be coming back in summer. Great room. Great hotel. Great staff. Great food ☺. Clean and comfortable accommodation and facilities for us. Definitely reccomend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harvey2404
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked several rooms. 1 room the toilet was leaking an the other the bed was broke. Theres a big steakhouse sign out the front of the hotel an when i asked for the menu they dont serve food. Paid £7.95 for breakfast an my daughter was being watched on how much cereal shes having. Very disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shauny86
blabkpool, Manager at Gainsborough Hotel, responded to this review

Shauny86, There a number of things I would like to address about this review. Firstly, your daughter, is a child, no more than 6 years old. It baffles me how you would let her help herself to a hot plated buffet alone, with no adult supervision. Apologies that it seemed like she was being watched, but unfortunately staff have to...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the worst hotel we have every stayed in, I asked for an Iron and was told they do not have them due to fire regulations !!!! which is a load of rubbish, as we was packing the car the women was rude to me and then walked off calling me a rude name and all off the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TracyLouise99
blabkpool, Manager at Gainsborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TraceyLouise99, Handing irons out is against Gainsborough hotels policies. Guests in the past have left them on causing damage to rooms. So instead we offer a room downstairs where you can iron any items. It is ironic that you actually left the iron on in this room despite being told the reason we do not openly hand them out....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great value for money, £50 for a room for 2 people with a really comfortable bed. The room was clean and tidy. No complaints at all. Easy check in. The breakfast was extra at £6.95 each, this was really nice too. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would defo stay here again. Only a few minutes walk to the pubs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tattooist72
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Stayed with family in nov 2016 was not happy with one thing was warmer outside than in the foyer when booking in was shivering was told was no entertainment because hotel wasn't full they should state on the website that they don't put entertainment on when it's quiet we wouldn't have booked if we had known that corridors up to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janicehalliday59
Reviewed 3 November 2016

we turned up at last minute as we had been let down by another hotel and we were warmly welcomed. We had beautiful clean rooms (a little out of date) but the sea view was a wow factor. The beds were very comfortable and we had fresh towels and toiletries. The breakfast was super and met all of our needs....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank funmum101
Stockport
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The lovely people that own this hotel are very nice and friendly. We have stayed here twice and enjoy it very much. Your not in your hotel all day every day so it suited us. We went as four friends, rooms are in need of a lick of paint and the mirrors in the bathrooms need putting higher for you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JUEStockport
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Rooms are dated and small, bathroom very small. Didn't change the towels or make the beds during our 2 night stay. Sea view rooms do have an excellent view. Breakfast served only between 8.30-9.30. Bar staff and ladies who served at Breakfast were very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucyclare01
warrington
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We visit Blackpool often and we have stayed in some lovely bed and breakfasts but never stayed in a sea front b@b . We was greeted by the owner on arrival who gave us our key told us the floor we was on and that was it no explanation of were the dining room was or the bar or what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WarringtonEngland

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gainsborough Hotel and Steak house Restaurent is exclusively situated on Blackpool Central Promenade (on the sea front) just minutes away from the Blackpool and pleasure beach. We are a family run hotel aiming to bring you, our guest, all the comforts and luxuries and you would expect whilst on your well-earned holiday ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gainsborough Hotel

Address: 291-295 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $65 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gainsborough Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gainsborough Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Seaviews are great, back of the hotel is the back of the hotel.”
BeardyJohn, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check the beds one of our party had to room move as bed was on a slant!!!!”
TracyLouise99, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room 211”
Lucyclare01, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are good if the windows were clean....”
WarringtonEngland, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You get what you pay for,”
stivesstives, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5