We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gainsborough Hotel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Gainsborough Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 243: English reviews
Start your review of Gainsborough Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely staff,but the rooms are in desperate need of updating as the wallpaper was peeling off and had handles missing off drawers and wardrobe.the shower was pathetic,I could have stood with a garden hose on trickle and got wetter.the other half almost knocked himself out on the top of the shower cubicle on getting in and the bathroom itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed with my family of 4 at the Gainsborough Hotel and had the most pleasant stay. Firstly the location of the Hotel is perfect, it is centrally located between the town centre and the Pleasure beach - so everything is within walking distance or a short taxi journey away, not to mention the beach was literally at the door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamuelHHH
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed at the hotel over the Easter period. Lovely clean rooms and public areas with very caring staff who will do whatever they can for you. Breakfast was plentiful, delicious and hot. Just what you need before a day out on the seaside. The hotel benefits from an in-house maintenance support so any repair problem was immediately seen to, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank etoilemoniquepatel
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on the weekend. Was a lovely stay. Will be coming back in summer. Great room. Great hotel. Great staff. Great food ☺. Clean and comfortable accommodation and facilities for us. Definitely reccomend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harvey2404
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Booked several rooms. 1 room the toilet was leaking an the other the bed was broke. Theres a big steakhouse sign out the front of the hotel an when i asked for the menu they dont serve food. Paid £7.95 for breakfast an my daughter was being watched on how much cereal shes having. Very disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shauny86
blabkpool, Manager at Gainsborough Hotel, responded to this review

Shauny86, There a number of things I would like to address about this review. Firstly, your daughter, is a child, no more than 6 years old. It baffles me how you would let her help herself to a hot plated buffet alone, with no adult supervision. Apologies that it seemed like she was being watched, but unfortunately staff have to...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This is the worst hotel we have every stayed in, I asked for an Iron and was told they do not have them due to fire regulations !!!! which is a load of rubbish, as we was packing the car the women was rude to me and then walked off calling me a rude name and all off the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TracyLouise99
blabkpool, Manager at Gainsborough Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TraceyLouise99, Handing irons out is against Gainsborough hotels policies. Guests in the past have left them on causing damage to rooms. So instead we offer a room downstairs where you can iron any items. It is ironic that you actually left the iron on in this room despite being told the reason we do not openly hand them out....

Reviewed 20 March 2017

Great value for money, £50 for a room for 2 people with a really comfortable bed. The room was clean and tidy. No complaints at all. Easy check in. The breakfast was extra at £6.95 each, this was really nice too. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would defo stay here again. Only a few minutes walk to the pubs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tattooist72
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Stayed with family in nov 2016 was not happy with one thing was warmer outside than in the foyer when booking in was shivering was told was no entertainment because hotel wasn't full they should state on the website that they don't put entertainment on when it's quiet we wouldn't have booked if we had known that corridors up to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janicehalliday59
Reviewed 3 November 2016

we turned up at last minute as we had been let down by another hotel and we were warmly welcomed. We had beautiful clean rooms (a little out of date) but the sea view was a wow factor. The beds were very comfortable and we had fresh towels and toiletries. The breakfast was super and met all of our needs....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank funmum101
Stockport
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The lovely people that own this hotel are very nice and friendly. We have stayed here twice and enjoy it very much. Your not in your hotel all day every day so it suited us. We went as four friends, rooms are in need of a lick of paint and the mirrors in the bathrooms need putting higher for you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JUEStockport

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.0 km away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
796 reviews
2.5 km away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
957 reviews
3.5 km away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,004 reviews
1.3 km away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 70 in Blackpool
1,258 reviews
2.3 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gainsborough Hotel and Steak house Restaurent is exclusively situated on Blackpool Central Promenade (on the sea front) just minutes away from the Blackpool and pleasure beach. We are a family run hotel aiming to bring you, our guest, all the comforts and luxuries and you would expect whilst on your well-earned holiday ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gainsborough Hotel

Address: 291-295 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $64 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gainsborough Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gainsborough Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check the beds one of our party had to room move as bed was on a slant!!!!”
TracyLouise99, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view room 211”
Lucyclare01, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are good if the windows were clean....”
WarringtonEngland, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You get what you pay for,”
stivesstives, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a sea view if you have to stay here.”
ezl2013, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Priceline
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates