We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hillthwaite Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hillthwaite Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hillthwaite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,332: English reviews
greater manchester
Reviewed 20 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel last year and decided to return for another short break. Since our last visit the hotel as been refurbished to a very good standard. We found the staff to be very nice and helpful. Our one disappointment was the food wasn't as good as previously,so we presume the chef has changed. Saying that we still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horriblehorace
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear horriblehorrice, It is always good to receive feedback from our guest but even better when it is returning guests. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay, I am also pleased that you like the refurbishment works that took place, we like it too! I will ensure I pass on your kind comments to the team that...

Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

We came for a single night Dinner Bed & Breakfast in a Classic Plus room, and loved the whole stay. Room was fantastic, beautiful view of the lake (room 28) and the bathroom was great too, we enjoyed a glass of wine relaxing in the double ended bath before dinner. The staff were all excellent, the service was too, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonHails
Hotelonthehill, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JonHails, thank you so much for such a rewarding review, it was great that you had such a wonderful stay, and that you enjoyed the room and the location. It was especially pleasing to read that you felt you received excellent service from our team but especially from the staff in the restaurant. I will ensure your comments are...

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We recently stayed at this hotel for three days and although we splashed out and paid a little more than we usually would, we were not disappointed. The place was excellent, the room fabulous, the staff were all welcoming and friendly, and the food was ace. We made it a trip for our second anniversary and it was nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
Hotelonthehill, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel F, thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you were not disappointed. Please rest assured that I will pass these comments on to the team. Once again thank you for your review and looking forward in welcoming you back to the Hillthwaite in...

Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015

This is a very comfortable hotel, refurbished 2014. Located high above Bowness with a fine view across Lake Windermere. We were on a half-board package and were very pleased with the level of service, the comfort of the room and the quality of the meals. Excellent small swimming pool with sauna and steam-room.The staff are very attentive. All in all,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ianb1066
Hotelonthehill, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ianb 1066, thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that it was very comfortable and that you enjoyed all our facilities and the level of service received. Once again thank you for your review and we are looking...

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2015

On my 79th birthday my dear wife surprised me while enjoying a birthday lunch at the Cburch Inn ion Mobberly Cheshire. She had booked a two day break at Hillthwaite. Wonderful room with great view and food to die for. Beautifully prepared and served and of the highest quality. Fantastic. Stay there, you will not be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoffrey H
Hotelonthehill, Owner at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey H, thank you so much for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that we met your expectations in all areas. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to the Hillthwaite in the near future Kind regards Dawid Croukamp...

Billings, Montana
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Very nice hotel with breakfast and dinner "package" deal. Dinner options abound in Windermere and Bowness, but we were generally pleased with our choice, with one exception. If you are a vegetarian, prepare to see the same option on the menu several nights in a row. The hotel is sited beautifully, and the grounds are well maintained. Nice patio and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EcoArtTraveler
Hotelonthehill, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EcoArtTraveler, thank you so much for your review about you recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay especially the staff and the well maintained areas. I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations in regards to vegetarian option on the menu this has now been addressed. There is additional parking on site...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

My wife and I went to celebrate our anniversary and we're very pleased with our choice. It's a bit of a walk down the hill to Bowness and a bit of a walk up the hill to Windermere but the whole purpose of the trip was to get out and walk so that was fine. My only complaint was that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mgref
Hotelonthehill, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mgref, many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding you recent stay at the Hillthwaite to celebrate your anniversary, I am pleased that you enjoyed your room and that the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. It was great to read that you enjoyed the food but I am sorry that we didn’t meet you expectations...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

From the minute we arrived on 12th June to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary to the minute we left was just lovely. Couldn't fault anything, location great, the views from the Terrace bar was stunning, the food was excellent and We can honestly say we've not stayed anywhere else where 'all' the staff were so nice and friendly, considering one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caz1929
Hotelonthehill, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caz1929, thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Hillthwaite to celebrate your 1st wedding anniversary. I am pleased that you enjoyed the lovely views. It was great to read that the food met your expectations and that you found the staff to be very nice and friendly....

Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights from the 8th June to the 13th with my German Shepherd Tara. On arriving i was impressed with the modern interior as seen on the website. I only became disappointed when i was shown to the double room which i'd paid for, which was not how i expected. On the website i saw large,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie C
Hotelonthehill, Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natalie C, thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at the hotel. I was very disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations in relation to your room and that you felt miss lead by the website. I was pleased to read that you overall enjoyed the food, I will...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2015

We are just back from another fantastic visit to this gem of a hotel in Windermere, my husband and I have been there 7 times now and have enjoyed every stay. The staff are very friendly and excellent at their job, from the minute you are greeted at reception you are made to feel very welcome. Once again we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H

721 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (479)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (216)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Bedroom (21)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (28)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room with Balcony (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,260 reviews
5.8 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
886 reviews
1.1 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,724 reviews
4.8 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $202 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillthwaite Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
2 months ago
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hillthwaite Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 28 had a lovely lake view”
 of 5 bubbles M7461VDsharons, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Occasion room 15 has views of Lake Windermere and mountains in the distance.”
 of 5 bubbles mrsssb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with views over Windermere”
 of 5 bubbles 407AndrewS, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“get a lake view room. well worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles TomHaydock, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“36 had a lake view but very hot on the upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 204garyw, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5