We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Storrs Gate House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Storrs Gate House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Storrs Gate House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 380: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay here. Greeted on arrival by Shirley who gave us lots of info on the local area, recommended a few places to eat, etc. Our room was very nice, comfortable bed with lovely en suite. Even a reasonably priced minibar! Breakfast was very nice and well presented. Vince is happy to give suggestions on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndapaul2406
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

We are so pleased to learn that you felt so welcome with us at Storrs Gate, and that you enjoyed your recent break here. We are always happy to help with any advice and are pleased that you enjoyed our recommendations for dinner. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime. Thanks for choosing us!

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in mid September 2016 for out honeymoon. I must say this place is 10/10 in every-way customers service was excellent breakfast was excellent and the room we stayed in was the most comfortable room we have had in our travel. We loved the place so much that we had to extend our stay another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs140914
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Wow! What more could we ask for! The fact that you booked an extra night with us is accolade in itself and we could not be more pleased to know that you were so very happy with everything about your stay. We know that you are also in the catering industry and we appreciate your high regard for our house...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Shirley and Vince are such friendly accommodating hosts. We had to change our arrangements twice after booking and both times they were very understanding. Our stay was excellent, and the room was spotless, spacious and comfortable. The position of the guest house was ideal for a stroll into Bowness (not being hardened walkers) and our hosts supplied great advice on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank price859
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

After having had to change your plans twice following your initial booking with us, it was great to be able to welcome you both. We much prefer to help in this respect than lose a booking due to cancellation, and of course it benefits us all. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the Queen Anne king-size four poster...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This was a real treat for us as we don't get the chance to go away very often owing to the fact we have a child with a disability.. we felt so rejuvenated at the end of our break. We would definitely return to this B&B. We were in the Victoria Suite which had the most comfortable bed we've ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. It was wonderful to read that you so enjoyed our Victorian four poster suite, and especially that you felt it was the most comfortable bed you had slept in! Lovely too to know that you were so happy with your breakfast and our hospitality and service....

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

we stayed in this hotel last year, it is very well located. a little expensive but it is the lakes I suppose. owners were really nice and helpful, staff were great and very accommodating to us on our stay. Breakfast was lovely and the stay was amazing thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us last year and that you were happy with our hospitality and our staff and breakfast. We have kept our prices static for three or four years now and feel we are favourably comparable with other five star establishments in the lakes, particularly those with suites. We hope...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

My wife and I stayed here for one night. The room was very beautiful , clean, comfortable and the mini bar reasonably priced. The four poster bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and a wide variety available. Although you are asked to specify your choice of breakfast the night before, it really isn't a problem. And should...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulConfused
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for awarding us full marks in your review of your recent overnight stay here – we were so pleased to read that you found our Victorian four poster suite so comfortable, and that you described it as beautiful. Great to hear you enjoyed breakfast and appreciated the variety and choice offered too. (We are always happy...

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We have just got back from a three day break in the Lakes and have really enjoyed our stay at Storrs Gate House. Such a homely venue; excellent value for money; fantastic hosts who we cannot thank enough for making us feel so welcome and so accommodating and helpful. So many amazing choices for breakfast...every taste was catered for and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
Shirley B, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Very many thanks for your wonderful review of your stay with us this week. It was lovely to read that you considered Storrs Gate to be a homely place and that you enjoyed our hospitality, breakfast and were so happy with your room too. We are always keen to help where we can and it's good to know you felt...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay and only have good things to say about Storrs Gate House. The owners were very friendly, the location is good & our room was lovely. We stayed in the Victorian Suite which was very spacious with a comfortable four poster bed & a decent sized bathroom with a powerful shower. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 83steph
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

We are delighted that you were so happy with your three nights here with us and that you enjoyed a comfortable bed and the facilities provided in your suite. Thank you for your comments about breakfast - we are so pleased you enjoyed it, and also that you had time to relax here. We do request main course order the...

Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We had a very warm welcome from Shirley and Vince. They know how to welcome and look after guests. They made our stay very comfortable. We had the room with the 4 poster and lounge overlooking a lovely garden with well looked after plants. I wish we had more time here. They catered for our requests and my breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davemug
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

What a wonderful review to read! Thank you so much for sharing your experience of your stay with us. We couldn't be happier to know that you enjoyed your breakfast so much and that you wished you had been able to stay for longer. It was good to read your impression of our location, and that you felt it was...

uk
Reviewed 8 August 2016

A lovely place to stay where we felt we were very well looked after! The room was great and a beautiful breakfast was a brilliant start to the day! Fabulous hosts who did everything to make your stay very very comfortable! We hope to return when we can!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg45
StorrsGateHouse, Owner at Storrs Gate House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast so much, and were happy with your room, and also that you were so comfortable here with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future!

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.8 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
581 reviews
1.0 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,299 reviews
1.2 km away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#3 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#10 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
277 reviews
3.4 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
355 reviews
0.9 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bed and Breakfast of the Year - Cumbria Tourism Awards 2009.Five Stars with Silver Award - luxury accommodation opposite Lake Windermere. 15 minutes walk from Bowness-on-Windermere, our family run guest house offers personal service by friendly owners. Breakfasts feature local and home-made produce. Four poster and king-size rooms, power showers, White Company toiletries. We aim to ensure you will want to return! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Storrs Gate House

Address: Longtail Hill, Windermere LA23 3JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $146 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storrs Gate House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Storrs Gate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Gate House Hotel Windermere
Storrs Gate House Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Storrs Gate House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Storrs Gate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 7 (Queen Anne's suite) was lovely and had a private outside space”
 of 5 bubbles price859, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is a beautiful 4 poster suite with a separate dressing room and bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulConfused, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There are plenty of other lovely places IN Bowness. If you stay here, get details in writing !!”
 of 5 bubbles alang184, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Looking over the back garden”
 of 5 bubbles Debby7140, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 7, the Queen Anne suite is lovely and has a small patio area in the gardens which would be beautiful in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles JessDan, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5