We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 617: English reviews
london
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I cannot heap enough praise for this place. We spent our third wedding anniversary here in 2013 August 2013. We stayed in in the top suite which was surprisingly comfortable. The Couple that run it are very polite and serve a great English breakfast. The couple suggested places for us to visit, and we took up their suggestions, We went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suvasishroy
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much - we're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle and doodling around the Lake District!

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the B&B for a weekend break. We found the location really good - walking distance to WIndermere and Bowness on Windermere town centres. The B&B is quirky and has lots of interesting things around. The owners were really welcoming and friendly offering lots of helpful advice on what to do and see during our stay. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank On O
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks, glad you enjoyed Rum Doodle! We don't usually have worries about portion sizes with our award-winning breakfasts. Most of our guests appreciate the quality and presentation of the food rather than having a plate piled high in order to privide the illusion of value. Of course, we are always happy to provide larger portions should our guests require...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is the perfect B&B for a trip to the Lake District. It's centrally located - a short walk to both Windermere town center and Bowness on Windermere - we didn't rent a car and were able to walk everywhere. The owners are lovely and make a fantastic breakfast that's included in your stay. They also have very thorough binders...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daphne K
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks - glad you loved Rum Doodle! It is possible to stand up in the attic rooms! However, if you are over 6ft tall the ground and first floor rooms might be more comfortable.

York
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay in the Burley room and were blown away by the b&b. Firstly most other hotels and b&b's of this quality in Windermere were double the price so a very reasonable price for a real luxury experience. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and the attention to detail is very impressive. The individual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foodlovers0310
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We're delighted you loved Rum Doodle and the Burley room!

Glasgow
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I first spotted Rum Doodle on Tripadvisor and having seen the reviews we booked in. We weren't disappointed. We were greeted by Emma with a cup of tea and a slice of home made cake which was lovely. There is a car park at the back which meant it was easy to get our things from the car and make...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bryony H
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you! We're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle's quiet, yet convenient location.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed in the Rum Doodle for 3 nights and it really was a pleasure to stay there. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly lady who worked there and she offered us tea and cake as we were early and it was very welcome after our journey.We were very impressed with the room,we were on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186605Anne
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

...you'll just have to come back to Rum Doodle again soon! Thank you so much!

Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Decided on a last minute trip to the Lakes and we spotted Rum Doodle on the website. We arrived and it was quite easy to find and a bonus is that there is parking available so no searching the area for a place to park after a long drive. Rum Doodle is well positioned between Windermere village and Bowness, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tartaras
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

...so glad you enjoyed your Rum Doodle stay guys - thanks indeed!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After reading all of the previous 5* reviews, I was intrigued to see what all of the fuss was about. On arrival, Emma opened the main door to welcome us into Rum Doodle before we had even stepped off the carpark. She took a few minutes to explain everything in her real-friendly tone, then left us to explore ourselves. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CBManchester
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle so much!. It's about 12 minutes walk downhill to the lake from our front door - and you are right, most of our guests really appreciate the peaceful location while still just minutes away from some terrific restuarants.

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This quirkily designed B&B is in a handsome detatched house, well positioned between Windermere village and Bowness, and it's a relatively easy walk into both from the front door if you don't want to take your car when you go out to eat (provided you're relatively fit!). We were warmly welcomed with cake and coffee. Comfy bed, home-made biscuits and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hopefulwood
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you - glad you enjoyed the quirky nature of Rum Doodle! We do recommend calling restaurants in advance, especially in high season, as they can be full or closed on certain days.

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Well, for us it was finally overall the best b&b in the uk. that said, every b&b has its individual charm and there is usually always some (minor) downside. that depends very much on the individual point of view. In this case it could be for some the location and lack of scenic view. just it is only a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chmannva
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you so much! We're delighted you loved the atmosphere of Rum Doodle and our wonderful food!

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (132)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,229 reviews
0.2 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#1 of 111 in Windermere
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#4 of 111 in Windermere
365 reviews
0.2 km away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
265 reviews
1.4 km away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 111 in Windermere
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $109 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Down stairs are easy access, quiet and comfortable and good for an early start (next to the breakfast room)”
 of 5 bubbles 49RussellC, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 - Shute good for romantic breaks, 4 poster bed and individual breakfasts served to room. Plenty of space and views into the town.”
 of 5 bubbles SOUTHWEST12, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor, at the front, big bay window, great bed, loads of light”
 of 5 bubbles Jackiehc, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go direct as you will get a better rate.”
 of 5 bubbles JamieBale, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not a hotel for people who have difficulty with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles petera455, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay