We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windermere Manor Hotel

Save
Share
Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
USD 162
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/09/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (405)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (13)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 03/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Windermere Manor Hotel
Updated 03/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 20 hotels in Windermere
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, Polish, Romanian
1,009Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 395
  • 307
  • 166
  • 91
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
hughmills2021 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed for work during lockdown. Rooms were quite big, nice and clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good and served promptly. Just what was needed for the day ahead when working away from home.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Stephen C wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Fantastic staff, fantasic location and superb hot breakfast. Will be back 100 per cent. I will be bringing my family back here for many years. The hotel is in such a quiet location right on the anks of windermere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Frank H wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Booked for dinner b/b but quality of food was very poor unless you like nothing but frozen food even the vegetables. Breakfast was no better although waiter called it a full english it was just scrambled eggs undercooked bacon sausage beans and deep fried hash brown. Bread did not taste fresh milk was terrible and spoilt whatever you put it on. no tomato or mushrooms better quality and choice at Greggs just up the road. We had prepaid for a three course dinner for four nights but after trying two different starters on the first night both flavourless and greasy, main course consisted of a burger and chips but unfortunately the burger had been smothered in a cheap tomato relish that made the bun all wet and although we asked for french fries it was served with normal chips and although we mentioned this the waiter felt obliged to bring the frozen chip packet into the restaurant to show us that it did state french fries on it. Strange marketing. Still we drank our wine and had a couple of drinks but next night was worse A frozen chicken pie that again had no flavour at all and it came with frozen veg and you could have the same chips as the previous night with gravy, After pushing it around the plate for a bit and having another drink we gave up. Next day I went to reception before breakfast and explained that we just could not take anymore of their food I asked if I could pay our drinks bill and that we would just right off the rest of the meals that we had paid for the man at reception looked at our drinks bill and said he would not charge us for the drinks as we still had four breakfasts and four three course meals that we were not going to have. To be fair I did not ask for a refund. It is such a shame as this is a difficult time for the hospitality industry as we all know especially as we are in it but this hotel needs to know where it is going it could be fantastic with some decorating some recovering of the chairs in the restaurant clean the carpets and get a chef in who can cook. We ate at the Queens head in Troutbeck and Hawkshead far superior food and not much more than we had paid at the Hotel. On a positive note the hotel is dog friendly and the room we had was ideal for us with its own doors to the outside and also the location was good for what we wanted its such a shame about the food and state of the Restaurant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Wilson, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2020
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you were not happy with food. The breakfast served is a fully english breakfast and aswell as the main course, there are multiple cereals, yogurts, fruit juices, fresh fruit, porridge etc to choose from. I can assure you that the milk is fresh and is semi skimmed and the bread is fresh. With regards the main courses and the dinners, we both know the conversation that took place and the real reason you did not wish to eat in the evening, but this is not a forum to discuss that. I can assure you that the "chips served were french fries" and the reason the packet was brought out to prove it to you was simply because the waiter was being accused of not telling the truth. Ref the redecoration, this is on going and the majority of the restaurant has been refurbished during the lockdown and the remaining will follow. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and sincerely hope we will be able to be of service to you again in the future
Read more
kazanddazmorris wrote a review Dec 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom11 contributions
Reception staff helpful and friendly! Clean room and a comfortable bed. We booked in for an evening meal at the hotel. I ordered a panini with sweet potato fries, I don’t know how they served this horrendous meal, twice! The waiter in the restaurant had a terrible attitude, I advised him that my panini was rock hard and they had given me potato fries, to which he replied “ we won’t have sweet potato “ I wouldn’t have known this because I wasn’t advised. Another panini came out in the same state, this time with dried out and done in old oil, sweet potato. I don’t know how a “chef” can bring food out like that. The waiter was loud, we heard him laughing and teasing us in the kitchen. He was condescending, definitely in the wrong job ,in my opinion. The breakfast wasn’t much better. The tv in our room did not work the entire time that we stayed. Definitely wouldn’t come back After complaining about my meal to reception, the “chef” reluctantly didn’t charge me for the horrendous meal.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Wilson, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thank you for your review. Firstly I am sorry about the one meal that was not to your liking, however you did state that the 2nd meal was "delicious". I am certainly unaware of any comments from the waiter and if so, I apologise. Ref the TV's, there had been a power surge in the area and the amplifier was blown, and as such an engineer was called to replace the equipment. I can only apologise for any inconvenience caused, however this was outside our control. I am sorry you did not totally enjoy your stay and I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to look after you again.
Read more
Tom Booth wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
Positive: Lovely building with plenty of charm Fantastic views of Windermere lake Big Room Very big and comfy bed Beautiful grounds Negative: Breakfast- Packaged eggs Cold room (radiator on full) No hot shower Service- Brilliant apart from the one lady on the night shift behind reception, she was rude and abrupbt in her tone. It's not what you say, it's how you say it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Wilson, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. I can assure you that we do not use packaged eggs and apologise if the quality was not quite right. Ref the heating/hot water. This was linked to a power surge in the area and the result was that 2 out of 3 boilers were knocked out and as such we had to await an engineer to attend the hotel. The one remaining boiler was trying to cope with the demand. I apologise unreservedly about this and assure you it is not normal, and I do hope you will give us the opportunity to look after you again in the future and please call us direct so as we can make sure you get the best rate available.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
USD 66 - USD 189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictWindermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Windermere Manor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Windermere Manor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Orrest Head (0.8 km), Lakeland (1.1 km), and High Street (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Windermere Manor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Windermere Manor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Windermere Manor Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Windermere Manor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Windermere Speakeasy, The Smith, and Afternoon Tea at Cedar Manor's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Windermere Manor Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Windermere Manor Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Windermere Manor Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Romanian, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Windermere Manor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (3.0 km), Blackwell, The Arts & Crafts House (4.7 km), and Bridge House (5.9 km).
Does Windermere Manor Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.