We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windermere Manor Hotel

Traveller (269)
Room & Suite (59)
Pool & Beach (8)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
779Reviews
277Photos
15Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 305
  • 244
  • 127
  • 67
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Arrived 14/2/19 , After seeing members of cleaning staff spitting in the car park , then being told by a female member of staff , that she’d been sweating all day. Could this of got any worse ? . The room was very dated but greatly spacious for my family. The unfortunate dirty
Read more
Response from AndrewW6613, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel
Responded yesterday
Further to your review, I will be writing to you privately to rectify this situation and my fullest apologies
Read more
Beautiful hotel with fantastic views, picturesque and very serene location. Not so from from windermere town, the hotel facilities were good with full use of the heated pool and a cold&hot breakfast buffet. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from AndrewW6613, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours and it will be my pleasure to share this with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This Hotel is extremely tired and in need of renovation. Our bedroom window would not close and one of lamps not working but bed was clean. The bar and restaurant were unwelcoming and the staff unhelpful and terse. Breakfast could have been better. We will not be returning or
Read more
Response from AndrewW6613, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am sorry that there were aspects that you were not happy with. I would be obliged if you can contact me on windermere@wmanorhotel.com and mark for the attention of Andrew so as I can look into the situation and come back to you.
Read more
This has to be the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in, the room stunk of wet dogs there was dog hair in the bed and dog excrument in the carpet. The gentleman on reception had the biggest ego and attitude problem I have ever encountered. Wouldn’t stay here if it was only £15 a
Read more
Response from AndrewW6613, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review and I am truly sorry that it appears you had an issue. As far as I know, you did not speak with anyone here at the hotel ref the issues you encountered, but I would like to look into this if you care to contact us directly with the details of when you stayed and in what room. If you can e-mail us on windermere@wmanorhotel.com and mark it for the attention of Andrew
Read more
Booked for 2 nights in the superior double room which was an annexe on the hotel grounds, this worked out well as we had the dog. The room was nice on first sight but after settling in and showering etc realised it needs some tlc and cleaning was not very good. Shower blocked so
Read more
Response from AndrewW6613, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am truly sorry you did not have a good experience. I would be obliged if you can contact me at windermere@wmanorhotel.com and mark it for the attention of Andrew with the details of your stay so as I can look into this and come back to you.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Room 16
side veiw from garden
PreviousNext
12345612
Yes only those small ones good for children not for adults 😂👍
1 vote
Show all answers
We traveled by car from Scotland so didn’t need this facility.The hotel staff are very pleasant and I feel sure they will be able to help.
1 vote
Show all answers
We have just been to the Manor and we have two big Guide Dogs.We have had several other breeds while we were up there.Ask for the annex room 35 or 36.In the new refurbished bit slight quick walk up to main building.Rooms larger and less noise than being in main hotel.Have been going up to this hotel for 15 years.
0 votes
Show all answers
Due to the nature of our business, all bedrooms will have had dogs in them as at times we can have up to 20 guide dogs staying with us.
0 votes
Show all answers
yes
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"room 1 has a lovely view over the front and garden"
"Ground floor family room is good."
"I liked my room 22. if you have disabilities or want a huge walk in shower this room is perfect. also it was a wee bit larger"
"Dog friendly, but sadly this shows throughout the hotel and I say this as a dog owner."
"Has swimming pool, Rooms are very spacious"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
USD 68 - USD 197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLake DistrictWindermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing