We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Portland House Bed and Breakfast

    19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
    011 44 17687 74230
    Hotel website
    Lowest prices for your stay
    03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in KeswickSee available hotels in Keswick
    Traveller (55)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (13)
    Grasmere Hotel
    805 reviews
    #1 of 14 hotels in Grasmere
    17.0 km
    Overwater Hall
    554 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Ireby
    11.6 km
    The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
    475 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Grange-in-Borrowdale
    5.9 km
    The Cottage in the Wood
    605 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Braithwaite
    5.9 km
    • Excellent97%
    • Very good2%
    • Average1%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “rod denise” (49 reviews)
    “short bread” (12 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Wheelchair Access
    Free Parking
    Airport Transportation
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Portland House Bed and Breakfast
    Offers & Announcements: Christmas Gift idea!
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (758)
    There are newer reviews for Portland House Bed and Breakfast
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    • More languages

    171 - 175 of 754 reviews

    Reviewed 24 May 2016

    Another great stay at Portland House. Rod and Denise are great hosts and it is very obvious they really enjoy running the B+B, nothing is too much trouble and you will be impressed with all the extras. The whole experience is one of staying in...More

    Thank JulieMichael2016
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 26 May 2016

    Thank you for another excellent review, it is very pleasing to know that you think Portland House is perfect! We do enjoy what we do and we particularly enjoy it when regular guests return time and again - it is always great to see you...More

    Reviewed 23 May 2016

    Stayed 2 nights in room 1 which is a ground floor accessable room. A well furnished room, beautiful fireplace, A well appointed shower with grab rails.. Bed, bedding and pillows very comfy! Shortbread/cakes and fresh milk in reception area. Lots of options for breakfast and...More

    Thank Magi M
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 26 May 2016

    We were pleased to hear that you found our ground floor room to be one of the best you have stayed in, particularly regarding the non slip flooring in the shower. We have tried to provide everything to make all our guests comfortable and we...More

    Reviewed 21 May 2016

    Three of us stayed at the Portland for 3 nights. Denise and Rod gave us a very warm welcome and looked after us very well. We had room 2 and room 4. Room 2 was very large, very clean and comfortable and although the bathroom...More

    Thank Goldilocks_11
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 22 May 2016

    Thank you for posting this review with your great comments which should be very helpful to potential visitors. One thing we must mention, room 2 is the single room and room 4 is the large Kingsize room. Full details of the rooms are on the...More

    Reviewed 21 May 2016

    We booked our stay at Portland House on the strength of the TripAdvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We were made welcome from the moment we arrived. We stayed for four nights in room 6 which had recently been upgraded with a very comfortable king-size...More

    Thank Jeff S
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 22 May 2016

    Thank you Jeff for this excellent review. We pride ourselves on the quality of our accommodation and our award winning breakfasts and it is always nice to receive such favourable comments. We are fortunate to live in this beautiful area and Keswick has so much...More

    Reviewed 21 May 2016

    I have just come back from a weekend stay with Rod and Denise and my only complaint is that my tummy has got bigger in spite of all the walking!! This is due to the amazing breakfasts, packed lunches, cakes on demand and fabulous shortbread,all...More

    Thank suzievjames
    Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 22 May 2016

    If the only complaint is that you have gained a few pounds after your stay, we are happy, you were on holiday so not a time to count the calories! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was fun to meet you and...More

    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Price range
    • USD 49 - USD 60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Lake District >
    • Keswick
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (55)
    Room & Suite (19)
    Dining (13)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (59)
    Bathroom (3)
    The Cottage in the Wood
    605 reviews
    5.85 km away
    The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
    475 reviews
    5.89 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    166 reviews
    .25 km away
    eS Bar
    369 reviews
    .26 km away
    The Square Orange Cafe Bar
    883 reviews
    .22 km away
    The Wainwright
    567 reviews
    .25 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    2,280 reviews
    .14 km away
    Walla Crag
    107 reviews
    .28 km away
    Fitz Park
    113 reviews
    .32 km away
    Moot Hall - Keswick Information Centre
    151 reviews
    .32 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Shantanu N
    26 July 2015|
    Response from Rodden10 | Property representative |
    Hi We have some limited parking but there is plenty of unrestricted on-road parking surrounding our house and guests do not have a problem. Hope that helps Denise
    Room Tips
    "Ours and Daughters rooms, modern, quiet and spacious. Will be visiting again early next year."
    Read review
    "Room #6 was on the second floor(third US) and had view of a hill."
    Read review
    "high standards at a very good value price."
    Read review
    "Downstairs room good for disabled"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing