We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Keswick

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Great hostel coping with floods and being refurbished so temporary kitchen etc and amenities GREAT bedroom overlooking the river and large too. Very welcoming staff . Great location in centre of town Family rooms as well as normal dorms and X4

Helpful?
Thank Joy A
Orla S, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the view from your bedroom and our great central location. We hope you’ll be back to check us out after our refurbishment has been completed. YHA Keswick Team More 

Eaglescliffe
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Left work late with the knowledge of Thursday off. Arranged our booking on the A^^ as we drove to the lake district. The hostel was warm and we had a great welcome from the staff. The rooms were good, clean & tidy but typically hostel rooms. We stayed for Breakfast which was also very good both in quality and price.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. We certainly agree with you on the tip about the balcony, just pop down to reception where we have a selection of drinks on offer and then relax on the balcony listening to the sound of the river. YHA Keswick Team More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

We were on a stag do stayed at YHA Keswick. Lovely location right next to the river. Only 5 minute into Keswick. Nice and tidy hostel with breakfast Also which was basic but all the same it was ok.staff were nice and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Paradiseash
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of you stay at YHA Keswick. We’re please to hear you enjoyed our fabulous riverside location and hope to see you back again soon! YHA Keswick Team More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Stayed here with friends whilst on a walk. It's in an excellent location, a short walk into town and set on the river opposite a park, a lovely spot. Accommodation is basic of course, we were in a 6 bunk room and there isn't much space but the view and sound from the river was great. Ate out in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelTidge
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of YHA Keswick. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our riverside location and breakfast for £5.25. We hope to see you back at YHA Keswick soon. YHA Keswick Team More 

Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Having been members for years, we hardly used the hostels because In Those days they didn't accept children. What a great holiday for families now. Even though we had no kids with us this time we had a great stay. Central, offering good value rooms, evening food, and wine! Breakfast was disappointing, 5.99 but a few grapefruit segments and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walker3467
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

It’s great to hear that you feel YHA offers a great holiday for families with good value rooms and evening meals. I’m sorry to hear that you felt breakfast was disappointing, we always ask that you let us know of any problems at the time to give us a chance to offer a solution. Our breakfast costs £5.52 for adults... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Stayed here with my brother for one night after walking "The Cumbria way"..I had reservations on booking this town centre hostel but could not obtain a guest house for one night only at weekend. The situation is adjacent to Fitz Park, town centre area. The river Greta flows by it's side. The book in was easy enough, the six bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank valuematters
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at YHA Keswick. As you mentioned we are a town hostel which means we accommodate both walkers and people who are here to spend time in the town of Keswick. The front door is locked from 11.30pm to 7am and accessible only by using a door code which we... More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Cracking location,5 mins into the centre of Ksewick. Just what the YHA is about, Clean and tidy and as normal great value for money and friendly staff. Will stay again without a doubt. If you wanta posh hotel or B&B then go and book one but for a vlaue stop its a cracking place.

Helpful?
2 Thank TomHill77
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of your stay at YHA Keswick. Hopefully it won’t be long until we see you again! YHA Keswick More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Nice central location, by the river. Staff were helpful and friendly. Place, bedding etc is clean. Showers were good (though too few). Unfortunately, hugely let down by the following: Was in a south-facing room, hit by the sun all afternoon (though only 15 degrees outside). The room was no bigger than ten feet by ten feet, but contained three pairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank plumjam15
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. I’m glad to hear your liked our central location, helpful staff and good showers. I’m sorry to hear you found the room to be stuffy. The reason the windows have a limited opening is a health and safety one. All of our bed rooms are on the first floor... More 

sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a mountain biking weekend! Being a hostel, we expected bunk beds and shared facilities! But they were clean and tidy! The breakfast was brilliant for the price, perfect start to the day as we went to Grizedale afterwards! The only thing that let's it down is the car parking! trying to park... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank myke12
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review of your stay at YHA Keswick. It’s great to hear our breakfast kept you going while biking around Grizedale. Unfortunately as you’ve mentioned we don’t have any onsite parking. There is road side parking availible around Keswick however due to recent road works this has been a little squeezed. At reception we are always more... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2015

This hostel is awesome, the staff are great, the rooms are warm and cosy, the self-catering kitchen is spotless, and the restaurant is brilliant. The hostel is right next to the river and has a balcony that extends over it, what a relaxing place, it was like a home from home. There were six beds in the room I shared,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a great review of YHA Keswick. We love it when guests say they found it to be a home away from home! Sorry you couldn't stay longer, there are some great deals to be had on beds over the winter months so we hope to see you back at YHA Keswick soon. YHA Keswick Team More 

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
464 reviews
9.4 km away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
316 reviews
17.1 km away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
11.2 km away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $30 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for top floor over looking the River Greta”
 of 5 bubbles joy211, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take a drink on the balcony overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles DGY-Eaglescliffe, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go to a B&B instead!”
 of 5 bubbles valuematters, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to share, get a separate room, the extra price is well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles R610TIstevenm, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Wi-fi only available down stairs. Code given on arrival.”
 of 5 bubbles JacquelineS913, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay